We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our wonderful wedding”
If you are looking for something out of the ordinary you have found your spot.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
If you are looking for something out of the ordinary you have found your spot.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
If you are looking for something out of the ordinary you have found your spot.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
10 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Saint-Maximin, Uzes, Gard, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
C9254UKpa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wonderful wedding”
Reviewed 5 November 2018 for a stay in September 2018
2
people found this review helpful

So we recently held our wedding at the Chateau. What an incredible weekend we had. It was all that we had first hoped for and imagined it could be. Darren, Sam, Theo and their respective teams were absolutely superb in helping us to realise our vision. However to be more helpful to anyone hoping to get hitched here, we thought we would break the review down a bit -

Accommodation.

The Chateau itself is simply spectacular. There really are no other words to describe it.

Each room was just as impressive as the next and was very well made up with fresh linen, towels and bath products. Each room, corridor and stairway retains it's medieval period roots, whilst adopting a stripped back contemporary feel - The entertainment space in particular is just "wow".

The grounds keep a South of France wild feel (Something to bare in mind when choosing your flowers), and the facilities are wonderful - the pool, the gym, the cinema...

The only downside was that the jacuzzi on the roof hadn’t been used for some time and was not fit for use, other than that, everything was incredibly luxurious. Why is there a jacuzzi on the roof? Go up to the top at sundown with a bottle of Champagne and find out. THAT Sunset!

We arrived on the Friday afternoon and departed on the Monday morning, with the wedding taking place on the Saturday. It would have been ideal if we could have arrived a little earlier on the Friday to prepare for the 20 odd guests that all descended on the Chateau at the same time (The Stanstead - Nimes flight arrives around mid-day) - but we understand that the team were turning it over from a previous stay, which is no mean feat.

Talking of the team - They were absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was possible. It was all done with a smile, which is exactly what you need when fretting.

Food.

The food was impeccable and very well thought through.

We were supplied breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday (in hindsight we should have specified this for the Monday too). The breakfast was sufficient for all the guests and delicious. The bride was even brought breakfast in bed the day after the wedding! (Thank you Theo!)

We were served delicious canapés at the wedding reception, followed by the BBQ style 'wedding breakfast' that we adopted for the wedding itself, enabling us to eat outside and live the true French Chateau al fresco feel. The butterflied lamb, the chicken thighs and the salmon were so flavoursome from the coals. The starters en papillote were a real showstopper too. Honestly the meat fish and salads to accompany could not have been beaten. Compliments flew around the tables, everyone loved the informality and freedom to dig in.

The Sunday French Ploughman’s was a sight to behold. Meats, cheese, bread all beautifully displayed for all to tuck into during the pool party. Unfortunately this was very quickly savaged by flies, so we’d recommend putting this inside by the bar, or to have a netting to cover, because it was all too good to waste. Theo also sporadically brought up some French sausage that he'd barbecued, all of them were fought over. Just a top top job by Theo.

Elsewhere team.

Whilst there were unsurprisingly some hiccups along the way as with all weddings, the team were great at ensuring that everything was resolved to our satisfaction.
By our own admission, we were potentially quite challenging clients in terms of how we wanted the weekend to run and how we wanted to utilise each space within the chateau. The guys really stepped up to the plate and delivered a truly epic weekend. Areas that needed discussion and alignment on were dealt with professionally, and we truly commend the approach that Darren took here.

You often hear people say 'wonderful wedding, best I've been to', however so many of our guests have said it to us, that we feel there must be some truth! We smashed it.

And for us, our dream when we first walked in pretty much came true. I don't think you can ask for more.

If anyone needs any advice on local suppliers, pictures, or Info, please feel free to contact us

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
Thank you both for choosing us and for going out of your way to write a lengthy review - it's really appreciated. We really enjoyed looking after you all and we're over the moon to hear that we delivered on your dream. It's why we do this - and I have shared the review around the team. Thanks once more, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidgehamm...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,211 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 25 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing weekend at this stunning chateau in Saint Maximin in the south of France. Our very good friends got married and we stayed for three nights.

The rooms are all very different and I saw at least four of them, all excellent in their own way. The beds are comfortable and our a/c worked well during a very hot weekend in September.

Saint Maximin is a sleepy village/town but Uzès nearby has many bars, restaurants and shops and the beautiful roman town of Nimes is a short drive. In addition you shouldn’t miss Pont du Gard nearby, in fact we drove through so many gorgeous villages I’d say get in your car and just look around.

For a wedding, birthday celebration or large family gathering/holiday, I cannot recommend the chateau highly enough, we had a magical weekend which will probably never be repeated.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2019
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Our guests really appreciate independent views ahead of booking and a stay. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

the stay was amazing, from the moment you cross the entrance doors it is amazing how beautiful the place is, you are transported to a place out of the ordinary with a lot of hospitality, cleanliness, i just dont have nothing bad to say. I definitely recommend it, it's a magical place! there is no picture that could show how beautiful this place is!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2018
Hi Daniela, thank you for the review. We love the chateau and lots of our guests have told us that the pictures on the website don't do the chateau justice. We couldn't agree more! Thanks again and hope we get to see you again. Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorjaBorj...
barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch chateau ”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

I enjoyed 3 amazing days at Chateau Provence as a guest at a friend birthday. The place is just perfect, very ample, well catered, fast WiFI and the chef Theo cooked very tasty meals, no question top cuisine. 5* review very well deserved. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2018
Fantastic. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you had a great time. Hope we get to see you again. Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissyan...
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
“Practically Perfect in Every way!”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I can't even begin to express how right out of a story book this place was. Beautiful location, beyond beautiful staff and beautiful grounds. My sister had her wedding here and literally everything was smooth sailing. Even though it was summer and warm, the Chateau was extremely comfortable! Plenty of space, privacy and in the most pleasant small French town with small shops and wonderful people! Sam is absolutely brilliant and was always available and the private Chef (Theo Michaels) who came to make breakfast and a few dinners for our party was beyond amazing! Totally unforgettable and worth every penny! Quite literally the best vacation/wedding I have ever had/seen in my life. WILL BE GOING BACK!

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Hi Chrissy,
Thank you so much for the review. WOW - thank you for these kind words. I've passed them around the team This is why we're doing this - we really want to bring something special. Thank you again. We're over the moon that you loved it.... Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisacN683...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breath taking location, wonderful mansion!”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The Chateau is an amazing mansion located in St Maximin in proximity of the beautiful village of Uzes. You can decide to just spend your day in the amazing pool, drop by the gym, spend the day in the game room or in the cinema room (provided with an 85" TV). The space is great, you will be amazed by the comfort of the Jacuzzi on the rooftop: have a glass of wine while watching the stars.
All this is not enough? Just grab the mountain bike and ride down to Uzes, Pont du Gard or drop by the Haribo museum. Enjoy the hills in Provence, surrounded by beautiful wineries and olive oil mills where you can spend hours listening the local stories and wine/oil tasting the beautiful local products.
Once you'll go here, you'll want to come back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Hi Lisa,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - they are so useful for future guests. We're so glad that you all had a productive stay and also had time to have some fun and be together. I have passed your comments around the team and we are delighted that we delivered for you. Best regards, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

What a superb location and team! We were welcomed with a drink at the pool, and all went up crescendo from there-on. Great rooms at a one of a kind - location with fabulous style and mystique, and a super-friendly and attentive hospitality team (including master-chef!).

In one word; heaven..

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Hi Mark, Thank you so much to you and the Amazon team for coming out. The team had a great time looking after you all. Hope we get to see you again one day. Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing