We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The atmosphere was great”
Review of Cuq en Terrasses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuq en Terrasses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuq Toulza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Everything was well thought through and prepared for the guests, hiking options, sightseeing, relaxation either by the pool or to your own choice of music in the salon or in your room. The rooms were nice and clean. The hotel is situated on the top of a hill with a great view. The food was amazing on the terrace facing the sunset, a lot of the produce was homegrown. Le Chef finished the meal by playing and singing and got all the guests involved.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank q10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Cuq is everything you could want if you are looking for comfort, calm and exclusivity. It is situated on a hill with marvellous views, the gardens and pool are beautiful and the rooms (there are only seven) are luxurious. Philippe, Andonis and their staff are welcoming, friendly and professional. The restaurant provides excellent food inside or on the terrace. Many of the ingredients are home grown or made, including vegetables, eggs, cereals and jams. Cuq is well placed for visiting Toulouse, Albi and many other places in the region. Most visitors to Cuq return, as I have for the last ten years. Don't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Discuss with Philippe or Andonis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeflloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We loved our all too short visit to Cuq en Terrasses with our friends who were also celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary. Philippe and Andonis are probably the best hotel hosts in the whole of France and the old house set into the side of a hill is simply charming. The weather was cool and slightly wet but then this is upland France and a beautiful and very green region; if you cannot enjoy yourself without baking sun every day, you would be better off in Las Vegas or Dubai! We had a lovely time exploring the local area with its interesting history and pretty villages (don't miss the chance to go into the local churches all of which have considerable appeal), and then coming back and sitting in the pretty sitting rooms reading and playing cards. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious evening meal chez Andonis and Philippe but had a perfectly good experience in the local nearby routiers restaurant on Tuesday night (when the restaurant is closed out of high season). The only trouble with going to this hotel is that every other hotel seems just a touch unfriendly!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerningpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This was to be our last trip to France, and we wanted a special experience, which Phillippe and Andonis provided--and then some. Phillippe greeted us warmly and helped us see the place and get settled. He's my definition of what an innkeeper should be. We are former B&B owners ourselves, so we know what goes into providing a great experience.

The hotel is small--eight rooms--and spills down the hillside in a tiny hamlet. Beautifully landscaped terraces were in full bloom when we arrived. Both owners speak excellent English, which is kind of a relief after I struggled along on my less-than-adequate French for most of the trip.

Our room was the Lauragais room, which was a great size with its own little terrace onto the garden, comfortable bed, well-appointed private bath. We didn't see the other rooms because it was pretty busy while we were there. The room was very quiet.

Andonis is a really fine chef. French cuisine is changing and becoming (in my opinion) overly fussy and kind of silly. Andonis gives you the wonderful old cuisine, but lighter and fresher, using ingredients from their own gardens. It was imaginative, delicious, and served by Phillippe with flair. Then--and I know this would not be for everybody--Andonis comes out of the kitchen, sits down at the player piano, and leads everyone in singing lots of old favorites--from Cole Porter to Les Miserables. He always begins with "Happy Birthday" for anyone who's having one, and there were lots while we were there. (He said he was getting sick of that song!). It was fun to see the French guests joining in (most of the songs were American).

Both Phillippe and Andonis love their region and are extremely helpful about what to see. Carcassonne of course (not worth it) Albi (very worth it), Toulouse, the Black Mountain, and lots of small towns and markets. They tell you how to go, when to go, what to avoid, and try to fit the holiday to you. I'd love to spend a whole week there, not just three days, but by all means consider making it your base of operations for that area.

What did we not like about Cuq en Terrasses? Nothing that I can think of . But given how expensive France is, it was the incredibly reasonable, and the best value of our trip. Absolutely the opposite of an impersonal hotel--welcoming, warm, and the kind of place only owners who love what they do can manage.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtnview26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The owner/chef partnership works very well here. Hotel is stunningly beautiful, grounds are perfectly groomed and invite walking tours. Pool area is private and inviting. They grow their own stuff and prepare their meals with care for the environment and attention to every culinary detail. (The breakfast eggs are from their own chickens). We stayed in the area for 4 days and were provided with excellent itineraries for local visits to Toulouse, Carcassonne, daily markets and the Midi Canal. We were sad to leave, and were provided with precise directions to our next destination that only locals could know. If you want to imerse yourself in French Culture while being pampered, go there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanandJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

If you want to discover the beautiful Toulouse-Albi-Carcassonne region and the Canal du Midi, the village of Cuq is a good choice, ideally situated in the middle of this triangle.

The chambre d'hôtes Cuq-en-terrasses is situated a bit outside of Cuq-Toulza village, perched on a hill with only the church and the castle as neighbours. From the rooms, the gardens and terrass you have a wonderful view over the valley and the snowy Pyrénées.

We stayed in april 2011 in the Lauragais room: very spacious and airy with tiled floor and tasteful antique furniture. Cannot think of a service or comfort we missed: queen size bed, walk-in shower and bath, seperate toilet, delicious toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, I-pod station, tv with DVD... From the room there is direct access to the gardens, built in terrassess with tables and lounge chairs on every level. We normally do a maximum of sightseeing and hiking when on holiday, but in a special place as this we were keen to retrun by 5-5:30 p.m. to enjoy some reading and tea in the gardens, whilst listening to the woodpecker drilling the trees or housecat Duchesse purring on our lap.

During our stay we dined three times at Cuq-en-terrasses and do not regret: everything, with no exception, was refined and savoury (e.g. home made foie gras, asparragus and morels with cod fish, confit de canard with gratin dauphinois and green beens, crème brûlée with raspberries). A lot of ingredients come from the kitchen garden. Dinner menu is fixed but you can communicate likes and dislikes on the forehand. Three courses preceeded by some amuse-bouches made we never tried the cheese. We also tasted some excellent red wines, reasonably priced around 20 euros.

Breakfast is also a treat with homemade bread, pudding, croissants and marmelade, fresh orange juice, fruit salad, locally made yoghurt, ham and cheese and good coffee.

As already said this is not a hotel but a chambre d'hôtes with a homey atmosphere. There is no such thing as a reception desk or a concierge but who cares if you have a cosy living room with a huge library full of novels, travel guides, strips, music, videos... Hikers and bikers will find maps with itineraries for excursions (all distances and levels): they come in a plastic pouch in order to take them with you for the day: very handy!

For the englishspeaking travellers it is nice to know that the hosts english is excellent, a rarity in France. They are very interesting gentlemen with broad cultural intrests and a rare talent for hosting in a laid-back style. Our stay with them was a "moment suprême": no downside we can think of. Hence, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annaxel087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

charming property that commands stunning views, tastefully decorated, very homely , great food and wine and also entertainment with a sing song after dinner. friendly hosts and a great dog and cat! what more can you ask for? je le recommande vivement!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuq Toulza
11.5 mi away
Hotel Abbaye Ecole de Soreze
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
6.3 mi away
Cap de Castel
Cap de Castel
#1 of 1 in Puylaurens
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Domaine de Rasigous
Domaine de Rasigous
#1 of 1 in Saint-Affrique-les-Montagnes
99 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
266 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#4 of 11 in Castres
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuq en Terrasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuq en Terrasses

Address: le Chateau de la Vernede, 81470 Cuq Toulza, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Cuq Toulza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuq Toulza
Price Range: £112 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuq en Terrasses 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century presbitary turned into charming accomodation with restaurant, pool and gardens. Set in a 6 acres park in peaceful surroundings, Cuq is ideally located between Carcassonne, Toulouse and Albi and is an great base to explore the region and enjoy gourmet dinners and breakfasts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cuq en Terrasses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuq En Terrasses Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing