We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special hotel”
Review of Cuq en Terrasses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cuq en Terrasses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuq Toulza
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned after 10 wonderful days at Cuq en Terrasses. The views from the hotel are stunning as are the gardens. It is a wonderful place to relax. Our rooms were very comfortable and of a high standard. We looked forward to dinner every evening, where the food was delicious, lovingly cooked by Andonais. The staff were so friendly and efficient and we did enjoy the musical entertainment after our meal. It is just a very special place to stay. Phillipe and Andonis were so helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
180
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is quite simply the best hotel I have ever had the good fortune to stay in. Beautifully situated in the countryside east of Toulouse, the welcome made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The gardens which run down from the old house to the swimming pool are quite stunning with lots of nooks and crannies where you can sit and relax and therefore you never feel that you are tripping over the other guests. Dinners in the evening were a joy off a fixed menu with a beautiful view over the countryside and having noted my wife's pregnancy, we didn't need to worry about what she was eating while we there as they took that all into account. Advice on places to explore in the area was spot on and all added up to a fabulous few days to unwind and relax. Would definitely come back and would strongly recommend it to anyone who is looking for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location of this perfect hotel is fantastic with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside which the owners have made the most of with a glazed dining room extension. We stayed with our ten year old son and had a converted barn oposite the main hotel which had a lounge/kitchen area as well as a bedroom and bathroom which worked out perfectly for us. We dined in the restaurant on three nights of our four night stay (its closed on a Wednesday) and the food was superb as were the wines we chose with Philippes help. The owners have a great team to help them run the place with everyone obviously going out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. We were slightly unlucky with the weather at the end of May but this gives us a good excuse to visit again as it would be a different holiday with good weather. It has got to be said that the food was the real highlight for us and although we didn't have a bad meal while we were out and about in the day we wouldn't eat anywhere else in the evenings. The set menu approach just made it a bit more exciting and we were asked before our visit if there was anything that we really didn't like or were allergic to. I guess it also helps them too deliver food to a very high standard everyday. It was obvious that all of the ingredients were fresh and good quality - Andonis told us that supermarkets have a big red cross on the door as far as he is concerned as he prefers to use local independent suppliers. As I have said already we travelled as a family and, although this might not be the owners target market, it has to be said they made a real effort to make sure he felt comfortable and enjoyed his stay - he loved the food too! We have already recommended this place to friends and family and I am sure we will visit again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I am very lucky to be to able stay here on business and it is always a pleasure and it never feels like a business trip when you relax in the gardens with a glass of wine and admire the views and take in the peace and quiet.

Rooms are all different and quirky and lovely and dinner is always excellent
Every one always seems to be asleep when I come down for breakfast but it is nice to sit quietly enjoying the lovely bread and homemade jams (my favourite is the fig)

The welcome is always warm and nothing is too much trouble.
On my last visit my taxi cancelled so Philippe drove me to the office and when I checked out I forgot the olive oil I had bought and they drove over to the office and delivered it for me

Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 4 nights/days here as we traveled about the Languedoc region with a small tour group. Hands down, the best hotel experience we've ever had, with exquisite food preparation/service. The owners, Philippe and Andonis, clearly love what they do and it shows in all aspects of the guest experience. The rooms and hotel are spotless, the service is unobtrusive, yet available, and the grounds are breathtaking.

Did we mention the food? Wonderful recipes, local ingredients, professional preparation and presentation, and easy-going, competent service. Great recommendations for wine pairings and wine from local domaines across the region are available.

Finally, prices for the rooms and meals are truly an exceptional value! What else could a traveler ask for? We happily give our highest recommendations to Cuq en Terasses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Philippe & Andonis have been running this amazing hotel for over a decade now and it is hard to imagine how it could get any better. But it does. Over the years, investments have been made in the hotel, both large (the conservatory dining room) and not so large. The garden has been developed and extended, thanks to Armelle, and is now heavenly and a joy to walk in. The culinary experience is superb, thanks to Andonis and Mallory, and many of the vegetables and herbs come from the garden. The rooms (including the sitting room) and all comfortable and very attractively furnished and the view from the terrace is wonderful. Philippe & Andonis care greatly for the welfare of their staff, with the result (and this is something that has never changed) that you are welcomed and cared for as if you were part of a family. Peace and tranquillity reign in this wonderful oasis. It doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: Ask Philippe, as the rooms all have individual characters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeflloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I love staying at Cuq en Terrasses. The hospitality is excellent and the food is the best food I have tasted in France. There is a personal touch to the hospitality which is missing in regular hotels.The ambiance is very relaxing.
I have been there three times already and look forward to my future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alka Abbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuq Toulza
Cap de Castel
#1 of 1 in Puylaurens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel l'Occitan
#3 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuq en Terrasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuq en Terrasses

Property: Cuq en Terrasses
Address: le Chateau de la Vernede, 81470 Cuq Toulza, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Cuq Toulza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cuq Toulza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuq en Terrasses 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Cuq en Terrasses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuq En Terrasses Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing