We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab meal in Martel”
Review of Saveurs des Halles

Saveurs des Halles
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Martel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Fab meal in Martel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Totally enjoyed dinner at Saveurs des halles. We sat outside on a cool summer evening and chose the 37euro menu. Starting with a glass of champagne & amuse bouche, then scallop ravioli - delicious, light & delicate, main of pork stuffed with foie gras - taste sensation! cheese course and lastly dessert was a soft chocolate cake with vanilla yoghurt ice cream, yum! Every morsel was enjoyed & savoured. The service was friendly. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    95
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anguilla, British West Indies
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After a day of exploring this lush region we arrived in Martel in the late afternoon. We walked around this historic town with their unique hanging stained glass signs outside the shops and checked out two restaurants suggested by our Rocamadour B&B owners. We chose Saveurs, stepped inside to make a reservation and continued to explore. The weather had been lousy - cold, rainy, cloudy, and we were hungry! Close to opening time we hovered a bit near the entrance and the owners took pity on us, inviting us into their warm, cozy, intimate dining room.

What a GREAT meal. All 3 courses of regional foods were outstanding, beautifully presented, cooked to perfection. We fell in love with the Cahors Malbec! No doubt about it, we would have happily eaten dinner here again if we were staying longer.

We especially enjoyed our well behaved guest lying next to us as shown in one of our photos.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souillac, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and exceptional service,”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This little restaurant in the middle of the medieval village of Martel has a small but well prepared menu, the service is excellent and the wife of the chef, who does front of house service, gives an explanation of each dish as it is served.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Netanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious meal”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went to this restaurant with friends who own a Chambres d'hôte in the area. They had never eaten there, but were keen to try it to see whether they could recommend it to their guests. We all left the restaurant very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the excellent service. It was the best meal we had eaten in Martel. Our friends were vey pleased to find it was somewhere they could recommend without qualification.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susiekUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rignac, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Almost don't want to recommend this little gem”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My only criticism of our lunch here yesterday was the rather boisterous group of English diners seated in the middle of the room who made conversation difficult. But the husband/wife team who run this little establishment deserve all the accolades they have accrued so far, so what can I do. The restaurant overlooks the covered market place, so sitting outside or with the large windows open in summer must be really, really special. I intend to find out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thabodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Saveurs des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing