We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views, comfy gite, lovely people”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering you will be delighted with the terrific charatcter of the gite There is plenty of comfortable seating and natural light in the salon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Entering you will be delighted with the terrific charatcter of the gite
There is plenty of comfortable seating and natural light in the salon
Dining inside the gite is a real pleasure
The master bedroom offers comfort and space with the most spectacular view of Najac
This is the viuew from all the main rooms of the gite, its terraces and garden
The medieval Najac, one of the 'Plus Beaux Villages de France' & 'Grande Site Midi-pyranees
Visit the Sunday market from spring to autumn and discover terrific local produce and crafts
The lively weekly night markets in the centre of Najac offer regional food, wine and music
Kayaking on the river aveyron is just minutes away - also bike hire, acrobranch and horse riding
Vanille & Bamboo - always pleased to see you, especially if you have a treat
There are always new characters to meet on the farm
Experience animals raised in the organic way - their well being is our priority
The ballon flight in early summer heads from Najac and directly over La Singlarie
The beautiful Aveyron gauges
Visit local festivals where traditional crafts and demonstrations offer a unique experience
Enjoy a picnic by the river Aveyron or Viar or at La Fouillade lake nearby
Get involved ithe the annual autumn apple pressing in the centre of Najac
Take it easy as Gorgon, the very friendly pig, has certainly learnt to do!
Step back, relax and enjoy a different world in a very special holiday location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Najac, Aveyron, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DavidWEdi...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, comfy gite, lovely people”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

First of all, the views from La Singlarie are just beautiful. Our bedroom window faced the rising sun and most mornings we just pulled back the curtains to watch the sun coming up over the chateau with the gorge full of mist. We stayed here in late October and early November 2014, and the second week of our stay was rainier and foggy in the mornings. The gite is well equipped and spacious and the log stove kept us warm even in early November. Ali and Jamie and their (adult) children went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Donkeys, pigs (various), chickens, ducks, sheep, cattle all around (also rabbits, deer, wild boar, kestrel living in the eaves...above all really peaceful place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne T
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing friendly farm in the Aveyron valley”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautifully quite but friendly and welcoming organic farm in the hills above the Aveyron valley with stunning panoramic views over Najac and its castle. We had a brilliant two week stay here. The house was well appointed and comfortable. Jamie and Ali were very welcoming and helpful with the optional home cooked meals being very good and exceptional value. The farm meat and eggs were also superb! The farm provided excellent opportunity for exploring and a great base for the whole area. Wildlife is on the doorstep (literally) with rabbits, buzzards, kites, bats, deer, lizards, hares and butterflies. The evening chorus of frogs, toads and crickets will be missed.
Najac is a beautiful medieval bastide and along with all the surrounding towns and villages such as Cordes Sur Ciel and Albi are well worth a visit.
In summary - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendliness
Liked least: Couple of cold days
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn A
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay for our family”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Views of the countryside & Najac were spectacular. Thanks so much Jamie & Ali for your great hospitality. Singlarie was very roomy with a large kitchen, living and dining areas as well as 3 roomy bedrooms - all with great views. Also enjoyed the fire and wonderful meals prepared by Ali and served in style by Jamie. One of our favourite places in France. Thanks again Robyn, Rob and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location with wonderful views and the countryside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
2 reviews
“Awesome Place, hosts, farm 10/10”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a wonderful time here in March 2014. Jamie and his wife were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The kids (9,13) loved the farm animals, feed them and cuddling the donkeys! My parents loved the 3rd floor retreat. The home (converted barn) was truly unique, we were just happy to hang out there! But the view from the window and country side were beckoning and we walked and climbed to the Najac township (nice 1.5hr walk). Beds were comfy, showers hot, kitchen space huge, fire place fantastic. Of all the rural places we stayed in France (6 in all), this was our favourite. Thank you for helping 'make' our holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglo-aus...
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed & friendly Gite with a great view of Najac”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My family stayed for a week in La Singlarie 1 in late July 2013 with my Aunt & Uncle.
We drove down from northern France in a approximately 11 hours with plenty of stops on the way to give us & our 2 young children a break. My Auntie travelled down from Paris by TGV to Toulouse and caught the local train to Najac where she was collected by the owner Ali. The train is definitely faster as we all left about the same time and she was there by 14:00 and we finally crossed the finishing line at 19:30.
We had requested dinner as we hadn't time to get to the shops that evening and Ali and Jamie served us a lovely dinner with wine on the balcony overlooking the beautiful bastide town of Najac.
They followed this up with a good breakfast on Sunday morning. We then stocked up on groceries and meat at the Najac farmers market and the small local shop in the town.
Jamie & Ali are organic farmers and we also bought some great home made sausages etc from them.
The Gite comfortably sleeps 6 and is very well appointed, it is a converted farm building on 3 levels with a decked balcony on the bottom floor with further outdoor seating area by the veggie plot down by the terrace.
The Gite is semi-detached with La Singlarie 2, with the outdoor areas separated by a very large hedging plant which maintains privacy. The other gite was occupied during our stay, the dividing walls are thick stone so you are unaware of the other guests except when you are outdoors are and even then it is unobtrusive.
Our hosts were great, they work really hard and at no stage was anything too much trouble. They showed us around the farm, took the kids to feed the animals, the pigs, chickens and donkeys. The kids loved the farm and so did we, it was safe and great playing hide and seek around the hay bales etc and you could go walking in the woods and along the lanes.
The area is nice & quiet but with a lot of great sightseeing, we did trips to Villefranche de Rouerge, Albi, Cordes sur Ciel, St Antonin Noble Val as well as just wandering around Najac.
It was hot during stay and Jamie recommended driving to the Le Viaur river at St Andre de Najac for a swim which was fantastic. There is a small cafe where you can sit and have a drink or meal afterwards at the end of the day.
All in all it was a fantastic holiday and have already recommended it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the farm and the relaxed feel of the property.
Liked least: There wasn't anything really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maire H
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
“Idillic setting, helpful hosts and wonderful home produced organic food”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed in La Singlarie last July and would thoroughly recommend this property to anybody looking for a relaxing getaway in a wonderful farm setting with stunning scenery as far as the eye can see. The house is charming, well equipped and at every opportunity takes advantage of the landscape surrounding it, especially the master bedroom on the top floor with its floor to ceiling windows. The hosts are unobtrusive but friendly and helpful particularly when recommending places of interest to visit in local region. One of the facilities the hosts offer is to serve food in the property cooked by themselves. We availed of this and really enjoyed the meals provided which included meats and other products from their own organic farm. This property will appeal to people who want to stay in an organic setting with organic meals and products available from the owner’s farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The environmentally friendly setting and the peace and tranquility of the whole reigon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzeruthe...
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
“Spectacluar l'Aveyron Getaway”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

The comfort, hospitality, food, and spectacular natural beauty of this gite and farm getaway was the highlight of my trip to France. Waking up each morning to a breath-taking sunrise and view of the the hills and castle ruins near Najac, one of France's "most beautiful villages"; hiking on the many nature trails nearby, watching the workings of this real organic farm, eating gourmet food; settling into the restful rhythms of life in the country and being within driving distance to many places of interest nearby; the warmth and genuineness of the owners; all these and more made this place a wonderful respite and a difficult place to leave at the end of a rejuvenatingly restful week. I am hoping to bring family and friends back here again with me soon. I heartily recommend La Singlarie to anyone wanting to experience the exquisite beauty and warm hospitality of the Aveyron countryside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and warmth of the owners and the natural beauty of the setting.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing