We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Longcol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Longcol
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Najac
Certificate of Excellence
Derbys Dales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Staying at Chateau Longcol is a delight. The accommodation is excellent and food superb. The HB rate is good value considering the quality. The views from the restaurant terrace over the Avyeron valley are exceptional.
The pool is a bit small (there was a chap measuring up to increase it for next year), however there is an excellent tennis court.
The location is totally tranquil and away from it all, but local sights like Najac and Villefranche are nearby.
Service is friendly and casual. The owners dog 'Humphrey' is very friendly and will show you a lovely walk down to the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caraxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    23
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
65
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Somewhat disappointing stay with a skeleton staff - the whole place lacked atmosphere.
The bedrooms are really lovely with lovely decor, gorgeous beds and bedding, and wonderful bathrooms. The wardrobes were a bit damp and smelly though.
The photo of the pool is very misleading indeed. The pool is indeed beautiful but very small. However, it does overlook a stunningly beautiful scene which would be hard to beat!
The food is really excellent - true gourmet and delicious. Was a shame that the atmosphere in the restaurant is lacking.
We were very surprised that the whole place seemed so quiet with so few staff - just 3 who seem to do everything and are professional and friendly, if not too organised on the breakfast front. And there was no-one there to serve a cup of tea in the afternoon. Also, having arrived and feeling hungry, we were sent into the village for lunch as their kitchen was closed, even for a light snack.
We wish the hotel success - it is somewhere with a lot of potential if a bit more life (and no doubt cash) were to be injected by the owners/investors!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

A friend from Australia had mentioned Longcol to us and, having looked at their website, booked an overnight stay with dinner in early April.

If you are looking to get away from it all (quite literally), love spectacular scenery and great food, this place is definitely for you!

Longcol's bedrooms are tastefully decorated with wonderfully comfortable beds. Staying in Room 1 we had a wonderful view over the infinity pool and the gorge beyond and being a perfect spring day we enjoyed drinks in the garden before dinner.

The restaurant, like the bedrooms, is bright and modern and the food is simply wonderful and excellent value for money too. We enjoyed a three course set menu and the presentation, portion size, flavours & service were all superb.

All of the team we met during our stay, including owner Anna, were cheerful, welcoming and helpful and we look forward to a return stay when we are next I the area.

If your travels bring you to the area and love spectacular scenery, Najac and its wonderful chateau is very close by as is the stunning Gorge du Averyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petercheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

after 3 years of closing down, there is a new team in place which is great news as this hotel is definitely the most charming hotel i n this area. the location is unique, quiet, lost in a "creux" over viewing the river.We were delighted to go back as they reopened last year. in 1 week, had 2 wonderful dinners, a romantic one during a warm evening sitting outside in the great terrace and a family dinner sitting inside. the food is simple but high quality and you can have great fish which is good news in a region where you can only find magret, confit and aligot. you definitely have to sleep there , you will not regret it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Recently opened hotel near Najac.
It has breathtaking views from the (very nice) pool area to the mountain forest.
The dinner was absolutely amazing. You cannot miss it!!!
Breakfast is very good too.
The staff was very very nice.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilipeMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We first visited Longcol over 10 years ago and it was looking a bit tired around the edges. The hotel closed for a few years and has been entirely made over and renovated to within an inch of its life. BUT - not at the cost of the period features and charm. You cannot fault one aspect of the architect or the interior designer's taste and style - I loved everything. Each room is individual in its size and shape, but the decor is identical in each. The lovely thing about Longcol is although it is incredibly stylish and glamorous, it still has a superbly friendly atmosphere. Anna Gomeni is the Director General and owner, and Phillipe is front of house. They both speak perfect English and were incredibly charming to us - making us feel like special - even though we only stayed the one night and dined there on one other occasion. The food deserves a totally separate mention, and I'll do that in a review of the restaurant, but to sum up - PERFECT! It's honest, without being boring, but it's not too fancy either. They do brilliant children's menus for 12Euros, and we had the Chef's Degustation for 52E. I won't be surprised if they get a Michelin star - the food is that good. Without a doubt the best we ate in our two weeks in the area. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this as a great hotel for children as it's so quiet and peaceful and refined. But we took our two little girls (6 and 8) and they were treated like Princesses (probably because they behave like them - in a good way, I hasten to add). The atmosphere is serene, so I wouldn't want to recommend it to families with babies or hordes of active, boisterous kids. But a tip for those of you with youngish children like ours - if you book rooms 4 and 5, they're adjoining at the top of the stairs on their own floor and overlook the pool and restaurant, so we felt quite comfortable feeding them early, putting them to bed and then enjoying a romantic meal by ourselves - the first we'd been able to manage in weeks! I can't speak highly enough of Longcol (in case you can't tell) - everything from start to finish was professional, stylish and welcoming - and very reasonably priced. Make a special trip to stay here if you are in the area, or at the very least, eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are adjoining and at the top of the stairs so feel very private and safe. Great if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susansthermomixup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Najac
7.0 mi away
Les Fleurines
Les Fleurines
#1 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Logis L'Oustal del Barry
2.7 mi away
Le Belle Rive
Le Belle Rive
#3 of 3 in Najac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Le Relais de Farrou
Le Relais de Farrou
#2 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
15.8 mi away
Le Senechal
Le Senechal
#1 of 1 in Sauveterre-de-Rouergue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Longcol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Longcol

Property: Chateau de Longcol
Address: Lieu dit Longcol, 12270 Najac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Najac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Najac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Longcol 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Aveyron region, the Chateau de Longcol, a surprising hamlet, stretches out in a 22 hectare tree-lined park in the hollow located alongside the River Aveyron. The Chateau de Longcol, with its seductive mix of charm and elegant facilities offer an exceptional venue for those who value distinction, privacy and excellent service above all else.Our Chef proposes a gourmet cuisine with authentic and refined tastes deliciously prepared with products selected for their quality, constantly looking for new taste experiences that, with the varying seasons, combine tradition and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Longcol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing