We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Trois Fontaines
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marconne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We were looking for somewhere that had 2 twin bedded rooms, which is always a problem, and found Les Trois Fontaines via TripAdvisor. Many of the previous guests' comments I would agree with. Yes, the walls are a bit thin and you can hear other guests. Yes, the front is unprepossessing but the garden and terrace are a pleasure at the end of a long day's driving. The room prices seemed reasonable.

And the food is really good. We had the 19 and 27 Euro menus at dinner which were both varied and interesting. The breakfast was the best continental breakfast that I have had in years. Oh, the croissants! Good service at both meals and the hosts are genial.

I'd happily go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Les Trois Fontaines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

This place doesn't look much from the front but comprises a row of ground floor rooms all opening out onto a delightful garden. Table and chairs are provided on the verandah and loungers in the garden. Twin and double rooms are failry small but clean ahd well equipped. Large bathroom with powerful shower. Good food and great breakfast. The staff are very helpful but unobtrusive. Hesdin is quiet but pretty and there are some great places to explore nearby. Takes just over an hour from the tunnel to get here so good for a short break but give yourself time to relax and enjoy the garden

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We have just booked our 3rd visit to Les Trois Fontaines, so they must be doing something right. The accommodation is comfortable and basic, but it's the food and the service that make Les Trois Fontaines outstanding. You would expect to pay triple the price for their set menu in any other city. The dishes are beautiful to look and sensational to consume. The wine list is superb and staff anticipate your every need!

Do yourself a favour and get along to this remarkable establishment now.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tittch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Hadn't visited for over 20 years so not sure what to expect. The rooms though on the small side were big enough and the welcome/ service was excellent. Dinner menu though a little limited was very good ineed. Overall a very good overnight stay with very good food and service. Very popular with Brits. and rightly so.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digbyl177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed here over valentines's day, three nights in total. A late booking meant there were only "superior" rooms available.

This hotel is in a suburban location but the arrangement of the rooms around a central garden gives it a much more peaceful atmosphere than the location would suggest. It was very cold during our stay, but the garden would most likely be wonderful in summer.

When we first arrived, the reception was all locked up, and there was a notice saying "Opening at 1500." We didn't quite expect this, but we went into the local town and found a decent cafe to sit with a drink until then, and when we went back, there was indeed someone at reception. He gave us a really friendly welcome and showed us to our room.

I got a glimpse into one of the "non-superior" rooms while they were being cleaned, and I think the difference is that the superior rooms are in the more recently built Scandinavian-style extension, which is constructed entirely out of pine. I don't think there is any more space or anything more in terms of facilities.

The room was simply furnished and not large, but small rooms seem to be rather common in France. In any case we certainly didn't find it cramped in any way. Everything was very clean and well-maintained, and the bathroom (shower only-but a really good shower) was also excellent. There were plenty of spare pillows and blankets, but the heating was so effective, despite the cold weather, that we didn't need to use them. Indeed the heating was so good that we could have turned the room into a sauna.

All the rooms are off a single corridor, and all (I think) have pair of large glass-panelled and double-glazed doors opening onto a path at the edge of the garden.

Breakfast was simple: only one croissant each but possibly the best French bread I've ever had together with the usual French things like jam, cheese and as much coffee as you want.

We ate in the hotel restaurant every night. It seems to be open every night of the week including Sunday and Monday. One night we chose the special Valentine's menu. The quality of the food belies its two-star rating, and it seems to be used by local people as well, which must be a good sign. Also, you need to make sure you're hungry before eating there, because the portions are not small.

The only negative point is that the walls between the rooms, at least in the "superior" rooms, are very thin. You really can hear almost everything going on in the neighbouring rooms. If the hotel is busy, this is likely to be a problem. It is only this which prevents me giving this hotel 5 out of 5.

There is a small parking area, which wasn't a problem for us as it wasn't so busy. Also the hotel has free wireless Internet, which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Freindly welcome - spotless room and bathroon for 53 euro. Was concerned about eating on a Sunday night but restaurant was open. Good value excellant meal for 19 euros. No complaints.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank MikeR852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We have just spent 2 night here and feel that this is one of the true gems of logis hotels. The rooms are clean and comfotable and the bathrooms have been updated since our last visit. The 2 evening meals we had here were the best by far of our 2 week holiday. The chef does wonders with a 19 euro menu.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marconne
0.4 mi away
Hypnos Hotel
Hypnos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hesdin
12 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
#1 of 1 in Gouy-Saint-Andre
149 reviews
14.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Auberge du Gros Tilleul
Auberge du Gros Tilleul
#1 of 2 in Argoules
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Le Trianon
#2 of 2 in Hesdin
12 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Clos du Moulin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Trois Fontaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Fontaines

Address: 16 rue d Abbeville, 62140 Marconne, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Marconne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marconne
Price Range: £59 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Trois Fontaines 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Trois Fontaines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Trois Fontaines Marconne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing