We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boursaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Boursaie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We really loved our stay in La Boursaie (couple with 1 baby, staying in Les Fouines).
Very positive points: the rustic natural environment (flowers, cats playing, plenty of grass, lovely views), the friendliness of the owners (you can ask everything to Anja and Peter), and the spacious cottage (ground floor a little dark however, but that's completely forgiven :-). Go there for some zen.
Location is quite convenient as well: eg Honfleur is a 40 minutes drive.

Don't go there if you need high tech stuff or plenty of nearby restaurants (but Anja prepares great meals)!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

we stayed at la boursaie for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. we got a very warm welcome from owners Anja & Peter We found our accommodation warm, clean & cosy and filled with character that can only be found in 400yr old cider farm cottage. The views were spectacular and gardens beautifully maintained. Angie introduced us to her three boys who taught us to play football which made us feel young again, being 30++ We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are so looking forward to going back next year. Must see too appreciate!! will & claire scotland

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I spent an absolutely delightful 3 days at La Boursaie . After being in Europe for three weeks, including a two week tour, we were ready for a slow pace experience. This was exactly what we got at LaBoursaie. Anja was wonderful, and our accommodations were perfect for us. If you're looking for the Parisian upscale experience, this is not your place. However, if you want a bonfide French countryside experience, this is the place for you. We loved the peace, quiet, and homey experience. It will forever remain one of the highlights of our lives.

Room Tip: Rustic, real French Countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle,wa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Peter and Anja couldn't be nicer. Loved our 400 year old converted cider mill. It was spacious, but cozy with beautiful bucolic views of rolling hills all around. A great place to go for a run in the countryside. We took dinner two nights on our three night stay, and Anja's cooking was delicious. Was a perfect spot away from it all, but an easy drive to WW2 beaches and monuments and Honfleur.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephanieK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed in the 1 bedroom self catering cottage which is small but perfectly formed with everything you need for a few days away. Even though it was summer time we particularly enjoyed the open fire in the evening and our hosts Peter and Anja were kind enough to make sure that we had a fresh supply of fire wood each day. We thought the hospitality overall was great, with Anja giving us some great tips on things to see in the area and she even offered us some of her freshly baked cake.

If you're looking for a getaway from the city then this place is surely it as it based in a secluded spot in the French countryside, just make sure you stock up your food and wine as the nearest shop is a few miles drive away. Some of the other reviews were a little critical but I believe you've got to remember that you're staying in a well converted barn and not the Hilton and we thought the experience was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in the tiny but cosy Trou Normand. The owners could not have been more helpful and charming. The cottage and location were just what we were looking for. Relaxed peace and quiet. The weather could certainly have been better but that didn't matter in the slightest. What joy to be able to see the stars without light pollution and to be able to have a picnic in the orchard overlooking to valley accompanied only by the sound of birdsong. We enjoyed visiting local towns, farms and calvados distilleries in the daytime and had roaring log fires at night.

I am not sure what some of the other (negative) reviewers are talking about. Ok, it's true the front door sticks somewhat but otherwise we encountered none of things complained of. Nor did we have to pay for wood - the bucket was replenished each morning without demure. Yes there was a charge for breakfast but that is understandable as it is self catering rather than a B&B. Also the breakfast was of good quality and variety and at a time to suit us. If there is rooster, we didn't hear it. Despite it being the Easter hols, we didn't see or hear the owner's children. In conclusion, what I am trying to say is that it would have been great pity to miss out on such a place had we taken to heart such negativity as may be found in some of the below reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 88Fiona88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The owners are very helpful and make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. The accommodation is excellent with everything you need to hand and several places to sit outside with wonderful views whilst you are sampling some of the local cider and wine. The property is about a 5 minute drive from Livarot which has shops, bars and cares - remember to check their opening times!
Well worth a few nights stay just to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFFGORDONLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livarot
7.5 mi away
Le Prieure Saint-Michel
Le Prieure Saint-Michel
#1 of 1 in Crouttes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Ferme de l'Oudon
La Ferme de l'Oudon
#1 of 1 in L'Oudon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.5 mi away
Les Trois Cheminees
Les Trois Cheminees
#1 of 2 in Livarot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Haras de la Cour Fleury
Haras de la Cour Fleury
#1 of 1 in Livarot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Boursaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boursaie

Property: La Boursaie
Address: la Boursaie, 14140 Livarot, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Livarot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Livarot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Boursaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boursaie Livarot, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing