We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Tour Normandy - HOSPITALITY Bar None” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir de la Riviere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir de la Riviere
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Tour Normandy - HOSPITALITY Bar None”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Its not really a fair comparison to have this in the hotel section of Trip Advisor. It felt much more like going to a good friend's house and having them prepare wonderful meals and make sure you are comfortable. Iain and Maureen made our family feel at home in an unassuming and unforced way and were a wealth of knowledge regarding sight seeing. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food is well beyond expectation. I highly recommend this as a wonderful place to stay when seeing all there is to see in Normandy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfzup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is everything you hope for in an inn in the French countryside. The home, the 40 some acres of surrounding farmland, the interior decorations, furniture, bouquets of fresh flowers, the fabulously talented hosts, Maureen and Iain, made our stay in Normandie unforgettable. Maureen is as discreet as you would ever wish but should you hanker for a tour of the grounds she will gladly share her charmingly curated world with you. Iain, who greeted us at the door as if we were family who had arrived after a long trip, fed us brilliantly for two days. He is truly an incredible chef and his many course dinners rate at the top of our culinary experience in France including our many Michelin star meals in Paris the week before. Even our 12 and 13 year olds were raving. He saw to our every need with grace, generosity and good humor and we all wished he could take care of us forever. Don't miss breakfast which was also as lovely as could be. Perfect location for tours to the Dday beaches and Mt St Michel- we were so glad to return in the evenings to the quiet and beauty of Manoir de la Rivière. We will be back!

Room Tip: The family room 1 was ideal for our family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingenfamillle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just returned from Le Manoir de la Riviere and for once I was not ready to return home. The hosts Maureen and Iain are wonderful, very attentive and discreet in the same time. They make you feel welcomed and ensure that your stay is the perfect one.
The food is simply exquisite, the best we had in France for a long time, a little ironic when it is prepared by British... but I would not change anything in this idyllic place.
The room was spacious and confortable, the bed really comfy (I slept like a log), the manoir is stunning and has been renovated with much taste. The grounds are impeccable and the house full of magnificent and fragrant flowers.
And the food! the food! from breakfast to dinner it is a symphony of carefully locally sourced quality ingredients. I even took a piece of dessert home with me (well, I was offered it!).
I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent a couple nights a year ago…we were lucky and were the only guests for the few night there. The owners are awesome! Best eggs I have ever eaten in my life!! Felt so spoiled every morning with fresh to made breakfast and farm to table ingredients. Taking pictures was so much fun here! It was straight out of movie scene and SO relaxing did not want to leave BUT…we wanted to see Normandy beaches and St. Michele so we had a rental car and were able to easily get around. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back! I'm dreaming of those croissants from the local bakery!! Could be for a family but so romantic for couples!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Chapins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The owners Maureen and Iain - Probably two of the most charming, friendly, fun and generous people you could wish to meet. As a family we needed to get away from the Christmas build up and spend some quality family time together - away from the hustle ans bustle. This had been planned for some months and it seemed our children (16, 14 and 11) talked of nothing else. High expectations and previous "wow factor" when staying before really set the bar high. Oh how they exceeded it , beyond anything we could have hoped for. When you are welcomed with such genuine warmth and made to feel relaxed from the word go, you know you've made the right decision. The food is exceptional (salmon & asparagus tart a real favourite). To prepare, cook and serve up four courses of excellence that are truly loved by all of us is a special skill. Our trip to Caen market with Maureen was a real highlight but please never ask her to navigate .. unless you're a Tram spotter !!! Our little joke. Rooms are perfect, setting is perfect, pool and suana perfect, breakfast perfect, cats and Moses the dog perfect, BUT please don't tell anyone as we'd love to keep this our secret and enjoy Manoir de la Riviere all by ourselves !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

As you drive down the tree lined driveway of this beautiful 1580's manor house, one is awed by the peace, quiet and serenity of this wonderful retreat. One is greeted at the door by Iain's wonderful smile and welcoming manner. He was happy to assist us with carrying our baggage up the beautiful old wooden creaking staircase to our splendid large room #3 on the third floor. The old very comfortable four poster bed was made up with luxurious linens that begged you to lie there and read. Along with this there was a lovely sofa to sit and relax.
The bathroom is large with a tub and separate shower along with double sinks. There are bathrobes in the hanging closet in the bathroom.
After settling in, Iain took us on a grand tour of the breakfast/bar room, the lovely dining room in which he serves fabulous dinners for guests only. Previously he and Maureen owned a one-star Michelin restaurant and inn near Oxford, U.K. He will cook upon request although he does take a couple of days off a week. We would have been delighted if he had cooked for us every one of the five nights of our stay but were more than happy with three out of five! He is very accommodating with special requests.
Breakfasts were served from 8 a.m. onwards which is wonderful for those of us who are early risers. Breakfast consisted of fresh baguettes, croissants, pastries, Maureen's wonderful home made jams, fresh fruit salad, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit juices, and perfect eggs to order! One did not need to have lunch after this feast!
Maureen is happy to come and chat during cocktail time, which you serve yourself, in front of a beautiful roaring fireplace. She will share the very interesting history of the Manoir.
There is a lovely spa area adjacent to the main dining room which houses an indoor pool consisting of a whirlpool section at one end and resistance swimming area at the other end. There is also a large sauna.
You will see Moses, one of their sweet terriers roaming about along with a number of beautiful cats.
The Manoir sits on about 40 acres of rolling hillsides and farmland, with a stream going through it. It is just a few minutes from the nearest town but so peaceful you would not know you are that close to a town which has all the amenities you may require including a great laundromat!
On the nights that Iain does not cook, he is happy to recommend restaurants in the area.
The Manoir is centrally located so that one can visit Mont St. Michel as well and the beaches and cemeteries in Normandy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martletwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here one night (Sunday) and we were the only guests. Despite this Ian laid on an excellent evening meal which was worthy of any food you would expect in a Michelin star restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble and our only regret was that the weather prevented us from exploring the grounds the next morning. This was an excellent start to our mini break in the Charente area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chauffeurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
7.6 mi away
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
#1 of 1 in Audrieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
16.3 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Riviere

Property: Manoir de la Riviere
Address: Lieu Dit la Riviere | Saint Louet Sur Seulles, Villers-Bocage Normandy, 14310 Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 37 acres of formal gardens and woodland the Manoir is a tranquil and relaxing setting to get away from it all yet only 25minutes from the centre of Caen. The House has welcoming log fires in the winter a heated indoor pool and sauna and a very nice dining room.There is a warm and friendly atmosphere with both French and English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manoir de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De La Riviere Hotel Saint-Louet-Sur-Seulles
Manoir De La Riviere Normandy/Saint-Louet-Sur-Seulles, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing