We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid. Walked in and rebooked elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains
Reviewed 23 September 2010

As part of our honeymoon, my wife and I did a walking tour of Normandy and Brittany along Mont-Saint-Michel Bay. We walked from town to town, staying in a different hotel each night. This hotel was seriously lacking. The rooms were probably last updated in the '70s, which in and of itself was not bad — there's a certain run-down charm in the retro nature of the place ... at least that's what you could tell yourself if you had to stay here.

We were all set to make the best of it and just enjoy our honeymoon and get some rest after hiking all day, but after doing our customary check-in inspection we found bed bugs.

We promptly grabbed our stuff and spoke to the owner and told her we'd be staying elsewhere. Her reaction was simply that "It's an old hotel. These things happen."

She did help us transfer to another hotel that her family runs closer to the beach. My advice would be to start at that hotel (which seemed bed-bug-free) or to just try another town altogether.

We ate at the restaurant there because our dinner there was included in our hiking-tour package. We wanted to go elsewhere after the experience but it was the only thing open for dinner in St. Jean Le Thomas. The menu was uninspired and the service slow and unattentive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PommeDeGuerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is just not the sort of hotel you'll want to spend any time in. It has obviously lacked any investment since the 1960's. Rooms are very basic. Our room was not clean. The windows wouldn't open and there was black mould growing on the walls. The restaurant menu was uninspiring, food mediocre and service poor. Such a shame as it could be beautiful. The location is idyllic, but sadly not the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuwW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2005

We stayed at Hotel des Bains for a few days mid week, having last stayed in the area some 25 years ago. It is clean, pleasant and reasonably priced but the rooms are very basic - not even a radio! The food is reasonably, if unexciting but the administration sometimes leaves a lot to be desired - keep all receipts to prevent unnecessary arguments! The village of St Jean le Thomas is small and pleasant with a few shops - an attractive Normandy backwater.

Stayed: September 2005
4  Thank DavidHTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2004

We have stayed in St. Jean Le Thomas for over 20 years. It is a lovely little village and very convenient for visiting Mont St. Michel without being in the middle of the touristy bit. We have stayed at Hotel des Bains and always love it. The rooms are small and quirky but the diningroom is lovely and has great food. It is very reasonably priced. It also has an outdoor swimming pool of which there are not very many in Normandy.

17  Thank Evangeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRestoDesBains50, Gérant at Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRestoDesBains50, réceptionniste at Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurence Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRestoDesBains50, Gérant at Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-le-Thomas
8.3 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,380 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel des Bains
Hotel des Bains
#4 of 7 in Granville
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa les Dunes
Villa les Dunes
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jean-le-Thomas
26 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel des Pins
Hotel des Pins
#1 of 1 in Jullouville
50 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
A l'Abri des Vents
#3 of 3 in Saint-Jean-le-Thomas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains

Address: 8 allee Clemenceau, 50530 Saint-Jean-le-Thomas, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Jean-le-Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Jean-le-Thomas
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hôtel des Bains is a traditionnal and convivial hotel in Saint Jean le Thomas close to the beach. For your comfort, the hotel have a free parking, a season heated pool, restaurant, ... Equipments : bathroom, WC, television, WI-FI. Gautier Restaurant has 2 dining rooms, one of 90 places for meetings and the other with 40 places. You will discover the traditional cuisine with the regional products and specialities of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Des Bains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Des Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing