We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Restful Country Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Chevalier

Pool and bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and bar
House Pool seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Pool and bar
House
Pool seating area
Pool Bar
Mazanine
Kitchen/diner
outdoor dining
Master bedroom
pool at night
twin bedroom
view from field
BBQ
OUTDOOR SPACE
shower room with loo and sink
en suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Fort sur Gironde, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Galahad_T...
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restful Country Stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There is an awful lot going for this property; in particular, it is right on the edge of town, surrounded by open fields so peace and quiet is guaranteed; the garden and the pool are delightful; the property has a quirky and rustic lay-out and is nicely decorated; and the owners are a pleasure to deal with - friendly and helpful and not at all intrusive.

The downside is that the stairs to the upstairs rooms are steep (and not for anybody with mobility issues - there were just the two of us and so we were more than content with the large downstairs bedroom).

Also there is hardly a huge amount to do in the surrounding area.

But if what you are looking for is a quiet stay in the French countryside enjoying a really nice garden and pool you could not do better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerdug
Bucks Uk
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional farmhouse in rural location, perfect for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The property is a traditional stone-built house, full of character and in a nice rural location, about 3 miles from St Fort. There were only two of us, plus our elderly dog - who loved the property - so we only used the downstairs rooms. The upstairs rooms have quite steep stairs which may be a challenge for elderly or disabled. The property is very well equipped with everything you might need, big kitchen and nice living room as well. There are plenty of restaurant options within a short drive and the local area has some lovely villages, Talmond being well worth a visit. It is also easy to venture further afield to Bordeaux, Ile d'Oleron, Cognac etc if you wish. As mentioned in other reviews, the pool is really lovely and we took full advantage of it in exceptionally warm September weather. Great base for visiting vineyards and cognac producers, would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dog friendly, lovely pool, plenty of space, pretty property
Liked least: Disabled, infirm or those with babies should be aware of steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
1 review
“Brilliant!!! I will definitely be back..”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I don't normally write reviews but I overwhelmed with the a amazing holiday, it was everything we dreamed and more and made so much better because of the owners hospitality, loved the property, pool and location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect base for a very relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Kim and Maggie welcomed us generously and ensured our stay in their lovely home was as enjoyable as could be. The cottage has been lovingly restored, not only with great character, but is also is very comfortable and well equipped. As there were only two of us we lived on the ground floor. The bedroom is huge and the ensuite is well designed and modern. The kitchen area is roomy and there are all the mod cons you need in the scullery. It was really nice to go somewhere that provided more than adequate supplies of useful things like salt and dishwasher tabs, to name but two. Outside there are extensive grounds with a fantastic pool and BBQ area. It was so quiet and calming to sit and soak up the late summer sun. The local area is very attractive. There are beaches about half an hour away, a fascinating zoo at La Palmyre, a wonderful Sunday Market at Royan and other markets too. La Rochelle is beautiful. So is Bordeaux, and the wine country. Apologies to whoever's wedding we inadvertently crashed at Chateau Pichon Longueville, but in our defence we say there were no signs saying we couldn't drive in! There are lovely restaurants in the nearby villages and very pretty it is sitting in Mortagne Port or Meschers too. We found Pizza Ria (a km or so up the road) only on our last night and would have happily ventured back if we'd had enough time. That was the thing - just not enough time to get to everything once we been seduced by the quiet and the calm of the garden. May we add Kim and Maggie couldn't have done more to welcome us. From looking after us when we arrived late the first evening, they provided a ready supply of home grown herbs, tomatoes and eggs and tons of useful information about the locality. They and the house itself are a delight. We hope to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calmfulness of the place and the helpfulness of the owners
Liked least: The Mosquitoes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksarah...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We absolutely love this place. Not only are the barn and surroundings beautiful Kim and Maggie the owners are fantastic. The barn is beautifully rustic with character but also has all the mod cons that you could need. We have a 16 year old disabled son that the barn more than adequately caters for. There is both a lovely shower room and bathroom located on the ground floor that worked perfect for the whole family. The pool is large and stands alone in fantastic character. What really made our holiday so special was not only the beautiful barn, house, pool and surroundings but the hospitality if both Kim and Maggie. Both Kim and Maggie took the time to show us the local markets, vin yards, cognac distillery and many other interesting places. This place stands alone as one of our special places not only because of the fantastic dwelling, pool and surroundings but because of Kim and Maggie. My only complaint is that we can't go back next year because it's already booked (gutted) but that is no surprise as it is a very special place. Worth every penny and we all can't wait to get back to this very special place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not What I was Expecting...Unfortunately”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

After seeing this property on the internet and reading the reviews, we were fully expecting to find a top class property for our holiday, but unfortunately it did not meet our expectations!

On the plus side, I agree with all previous contributors that the pool area was very good and indeed the whole downstairs of the house was what you would expect of a property that promotes itself as a premium rental.

The master bedroom and en-suite are excellent, as are the lounge, kitchen and utility / downstairs shower room.

On the minus side, I can't believe none of the previous contributors never mentioned the staircases, which are at opposite ends of the property!! The main staircase from the kitchen to the upstairs bedrooms, is extremely steep and has headroom clearance issues. One of our party has a slight disability , which meant that the upstairs was out of bounds and he had to sleep in the downstairs bedroom. The fact that there is no upstairs bathroom, meant that if you had to pay a visit to the downstairs loo in the night, you had to negotiate this steep staircase whist half asleep...not something I would recommend!!

The main bedroom upstairs was accessed through a restricted height doorway (4' to 4' 6" ?) which you should be aware of. Once in the bedroom, there is a main beam which was about chest high on me (I'm 5' 7") which runs through the middle of the double bed!!.

The other bedroom was ok, but if daylight wakes you up, there is a velux window directly above the bed with no blind, which let's in daylight as soon as it gets light in the morning.

The staircase from the main bedroom to the mezzanine is equally as steep as the other one, with a ridiculously high step at the top; if you have young children you should take care!

We had other problems like a leaking roof and mice eating our food.

As for the owners; we didn't see that much of them. When we arrived tired after a 10 hour drive they met us to show us around the house and had clearly been enjoying some of the local produce..not a great start in my book!

I wasn't sure if I should write this report, but as TripAdvisor is about giving an honest appraisal of how you found your holiday, I think it is only fair that I should do so. If I had read about the staircases or the restricted height bedroom, then that information would have probably steered me elswhere

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool Area
Liked least: The extremely steep staircases and small doorway to the upstairs bedroom.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
We were sorry to hear that this guest was not entirely happy with his stay at Chez Chevalier, we do try to describe the house as accurately as possible,and we were not made aware that one of the children had a disability. When these guests arrived we had the feeling that they wanted to be left in private and we always respect guests privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare C
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Chez Chavalier is a wonderful house - full of character, well equipped and very comfortable. Its location is perfect for peace and quiet - at the end of a lane in the middle of open fields and vineyards. The grounds, pool and house are extremely well looked after, and the owners Kim and Maggie are lovely. The surrounding countryside is great for cycling, and there are lots of circular walks near to the estuary although we couldn't drag ourselves away from the pool to try them out! Thank you Kim and Maggie - we had a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing