We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Karina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarnac
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Difficult to review”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Agree most of the comments below, both good and bad. This makes it difficult to reiew. The most disturbing thing was opening the back window of the room onto a road where a gang of road menders were laying maoins drainage. Perhaps these rooms should not be in use while the work is in progress

The hotel is an old cognac distillery converted over the years by the owners. It has been really well done but touches of DIY appear, like the shower spraying over the step outside the cubicle. The food is excellent, the wine better by the pitcher and the owners and their dogs make excellent company.

We enjoyed our stay, but as we wanted to be in a village we moved on after one (enjoyable) night

Room Tip: Check on the road works
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    6
    16
    6
See reviews for
24
37
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markinch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I love this place. Why? Because it delivers on all counts. Only a couple of minutes drive from Jarnac and you are in this peaceful haven. It's a place where, when you step out of the car, you feel yourself start to relax. It's old - quaint - beautiful - rambling. The rooms are so comfortable and tastefully homely, and en suites very high standard.

Yet, what makes this place very special is the genuine warmth of owners who understand that high quality cuisine and service are what really counts. They do this with a style that is quietly, unobtrusively brilliant.

I have stayed here on three separate occasions in the last three months and this is my first tripadvisor review. Don't normally bother about follow up - but hey, some guys deserve one.

Lindsey King, Markinch, Scotland

Room Tip: All rooms I've stayed in have been good, but their best rooms are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We are wondering whether we actually stayed at the same hotel as the other recent reviewers! Or maybe it's because we stayed a full week (as we'd pre-booked) and they only stayed a couple of nights? So here goes:
The pros - Close to Jarnac which is beautiful, in a lovely rural setting. The property is a tasteful conversion with original features around a lovely courtyard with shady areas to sit and a good sized swimming pool with a couple of lilos for the children to enjoy. Also Louise with her lovely attitude and continual helpfulness was a delight.
But now, the longer list of cons - On arrival, our room was full of spiders and cobwebs and overall signs of poor cleaning. Room maintenance was poor, one of the lights had a plug with bare wires exposed and the showerhead was broken (both corrected when reported) and the plug in the sink did not work (not corrected when reported). What scrummy food? 25 Euros set menu including a pre-packed microwaved pastie for a starter! Worryingly, a lack of basic food hygiene - after three days we had to complain that the milk jug at breakfast had not been washed since our arrival and there was mould growing on the bottle of apple juice. Also their dogs are allowed everywhere including into the kitchen. The swimming pool was not cleaned out daily meaning my husband had to, so the children weren't swimming in a pool of dead flies and on the final day with the dead shrew which had unfortunately drowned overnight. Finally, the dreariness of the expensive breakfast. There was no variety from day to day, not even in the cold meat or cheese served - the same single ham, hard cheese and soft cheese every day. No fresh fruit apart from plums picked from their own tree on one day. Only variety was the day they served raw eggs instead of boiled!
So all in all, as the title says really disappointing when it could have been fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

A group of us made up of family and friends stayed here for 3 nights after a wedding. We all absolutely loved staying at Hotel Karina, we had no complaints during our stay. The rooms were absolutely fine and were very clean. The owner Nikki and her staff Louise were very friendly and hospitable, whenever we needed something they were always very helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask. The food was top quality, we ate like kings. The creme brûlée is a must.

The hotel is located just out of Jarnac and Cognac is just a little further both which is a great places to visit for the day. There are plenty of cognac distilleries to visit, you will get hooked on the pineau.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RobsNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Only stayed 1 night but fabulous place. Dinner was absolutely scrummy served in a beautiful courtyard setting. Our room was really lovely with a brilliant bathroom and decor overall. Comfy bed. What more could you ask for. The owners were charming. Would stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pierre which was great, roomy, clean and nicely decorated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BambiandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Well there are hotels and there are hotels, one has to say that this is the very best for customer service. Situated just outside of Jarnac in the Charente, we found the beautiful Karina Hotel. Owners Nikki and Austin make you feel that you are much more than a hotel guest.
The rooms are great with everything that you could need, and now the restaurant.
Absolutely fabulous meal, with a super menu, in a lovely dining room.
This comes with a great recommendation from us, and by sure we will be back soon!
Many thanks to all the staff who made us so welcome

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magicgrden13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Karina during the last week of June 2013. Lovely clean hotel that is fabulously situated in the middle of the country but near to Cognag and Jarnac. An oasis with a cool pool and shaded courtyard to have a quiet meal. Everything had a quality feel about it. Excellent food. Didn't want to leave. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Room Tip: Room on the left with the wet room shower was cool and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarnac
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ligaro
Hotel Ligaro
#1 of 2 in Jarnac
69 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
86 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Essille
6.6 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
210 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cognac
Ibis Styles Cognac
#2 of 4 in Chateaubernard
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Karina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Karina

Property: Hotel Restaurant Karina
Address: Les Metairies, 16200 Jarnac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Jarnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Karina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing