We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Orangeries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Orangeries
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Probably the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing property with enormous rooms, beautiful gardens and a wonderful pool. The smell of the open fire combined with the amazing aroma of huge baskets of oranges at the base of the grand staircase was the perfect introduction to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkentw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    61
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
57
81
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Superb old building, we paid for an upgrade to the garden/pool view room as the room designated was too basic and very noisy due to traffic passing, the double glazing did not even touch it! The upgraded room was lovely but oh dear, the billiard games room was above us, the floor was wood so we could hear the players walking back and forth, back and forth, back and... we had to phone down to reception as we could not sleep.

The menu was very limited and very expensive although the quality of the food was superb and great attention was paid to detail. The choice was risotto, fish or pigeon, this was very expensive and we have eaten in a Michelin restaurant for less than this. We wouldn't eat there again, just due to limited choice and cost.

The breakfast was absolutely superb, not to be missed, brioche, breads, cakes, you name it, it was there, fresh fruit, bio yoghurt which was delicious, boiled eggs, cheese and freshly squeezed orange juice, it was delicious and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Don't choose a road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judith9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Beautiful rustic hotel - great for a overnight stop. We all took advantage of the lovely weather and used the beautiful swimming pool. My husband and son ventured up stairs to play pool in the evening. We had a room right on the road, but the traffic did not wake any of us, and the family room was very well laid out, with a double bed downstairs and 2 singles up a set of rustic, old world stairs which my children loved. We did not have dinner there, but the menu looked good. Would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBlatch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Super decor............but EXTREMELY limited menu. Tonight`s choice was risotto or lemon sole, and that was it, apart from pigeon for a considerable supplement. From previous visits we know the quality is super, but I want a bigger CHOICE. We left after drinks only , and ate in Montmorillon instead.
Worrying as a trend, as we usually eat here 4 or 5 times a year, and usually recommend it to friends who visit us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer1983187159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked a table here for lunch as it is 20 mins from us by car and has a good reputation for food.
Unprepossessing from the main road (and easily missed as on a busy main road) as a hotel, yet behind the discreet facade lies a gem.

There was a choice of menu priced differently for weekdays and weekends (as is normal for France). We chose the 28€ menu.

I had Carpaccio de Melon Charentais et Magret de Canard séché, gelee de Porto, my husband chose Gaspacho aux Premières Tomates de chez Lecash, Tartine de Chèvre &herbes du jardin des possibles.
Both entrees were fabulous and beautifully presented, it was a shame to eat them. They tasted as good as they looked.

For our main course we both chose Magret de Canard de Chez Mitteault, Mousseline de Pois chiche â la Pistache, legumes aux épices douces. Again, beautifully presented and very tasty.

The service was efficient and discreet and we felt well looked after.

Looking forward to taking friends there and more visits in the future. A fantastic find so close to home.

Room Tip: We didn't stay (would love to, but so close to home we'd have to have money to burn). There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyGower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chjeltenham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have stayed at Les Orangeries about five times over the last 15 years on our way down to the Perigord region. It is an ideal stopping off point from St Malo and offers real peace and convenience.

For some reason we always seem to get the same room on the ground floor with french windows overlooking the garden (much quieter than the ones overlooking the road). The hotel provides secure parking round the back with electronic access and there is an enormous swimming pool that is kept immaculate.

The grounds are filled with fruit trees and the grounds have that French lived in look.

We ate in the restaurant whch is a converted barn attached to the hotel and is a real find. We had a superb meal which was both delicate and immaginative. With the help of the waiter we enjoyed a fine local wine. The service is both attentive and friendly.

We will cerainly continue to stay there on our way down to the south of France

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Garden are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is a nice place to stay overnight on your way to the south west of France. The hotel has a nice atmosphere and when nice sunny weather one can enjoy a nice out-dour pool.. Breakfast was rather poor for the rate they charged. The hotel has a nice restaurant with an 'organic' menu. They have a very nice cuisine combined with excellent local organic wines. Delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanMoerbekeWaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lussac les Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montespan
Hotel Le Montespan
#2 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
16.6 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Val de Vienne
Hotel Val de Vienne
#1 of 1 in Le Vigeant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel le Lion d'Or
Hotel le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Chauvigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
18.7 mi away
ACE Hotel Poitiers
ACE Hotel Poitiers
#3 of 36 in Poitiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Orangeries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Orangeries

Property: Les Orangeries
Address: 12 avenue du Docteur Dupont, 86320 Lussac les Chateaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Lussac les Chateaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lussac les Chateaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Orangeries 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the 20 best European hotels for its charm, its commitment to the environment and its unique setting at the heart of the touristic Poitou, the Orangeries offers a new art of country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Orangeries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Orangeries Hotel
Les Orangeries Lussac Les Chateaux, France - Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing