We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bistro & bar”
Review of Cafe de la Poste

Cafe de la Poste
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Goult
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great bistro & bar”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We came to the cafe de la Poste multiple times for drinks & food. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and the fact dat la Poste is where the locals come for their after work drinks as well.

The food was excellent - huge salads and Entrecôte was perfectly cooked and big as well. The place gets crowded during lunch and there is no dinner service so be on time or miss out.

If you bring a smaller child - there are no chaise hautte available here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    133
    33
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferguson Valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastically well run”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is the hub of this small hilltop town. Personalities of the owner husband and wife team and their great staff - especially Hun, make anyone's visit here an experience. We ate a lunch after the market on Thursday - a must make a reservation day - which is so busy and a real buzz. The cafe is clean and tidy and a slick team. A credit to all who work there. Huge thanks to Bernard for running such a great place for we Ozzie visitors to Goult. The coffee is great too:)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peppermintlanelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The heart of the community”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Café de la Poste seems to be the heart of the community in Goult, catering for locals and tourists alike. We went there once for lunch (the most enormous salad I've ever seen, with a fried egg on top!), once for a drink and once for breakfast. The food is great, but the people watching is fantastic. The staff are efficient, focused, but friendly, and somehow like a family and a well-oiled machine all at the same time. Its encouraging to see the staff spending time there on their days off too. The Café offers free wi-fi which is a good draw, and a large patio on the main town square. Just a great place to spend a few hours.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
948 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Good, simple food; great patio”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Such a nice find on this sunny and blustery March day. The outside tables are in the sun with a pretty view of the main square. The service was pleasant and welcoming. We were offered a 20Euro 3 course menu or a la carte dining. We both choose the 3 c menu and were not disappointed; it was simple but good. I had the brie salad with a pork 'curry' veg on rice. My husband had baked eggplant and confit beef with potatoes. For dessert we both had the apple crumble with ice cream. This was the first time while eating out in France that we were asked not once, but twice, how the food was. We enjoyed a nice wine and coffee later. The owner poured us a digestive on the house which was very nice, too. Not sure what it would be like to eat inside but the atmosphere outside cannot be beat. Goult is a nice village to walk around after a good lunch too - check out the view from the terraces and the windmill at the top of the village.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best Cafe in Luberon”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We love the cafe and the family who run it.The Cafe makes the whole experience of holidaying in a small village just wonderful.The food is great and a lot of care and thought goes into the preparation. The staff are attentive and very tolerant of those of us who have but rudimentary French language skills! We cannot recommend this cafe highly enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de la Poste also viewed

 

Been to Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing