We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in beautiful setting”

La Ferme de la Huppe
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Goult
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The restaurant is on the grounds of a beautiful small hotel right outside of Gordes in a lovely countryside setting. It was a little warm on the shaded terrace but with those lovely views it would have been a sin to eat inside. The food was delightful and beautifully presented. We each had a glass of champagne, I had stuffed vegetables, followed by fish with amazing stuffed zucchini flowers and a caramel pot de crème with a cake that was somewhere between an ice cream cake and a cheese cake. DH had a glass of red wine, warm goat cheese in a filo “beggars purse” (that’s not what they called it but that’s what this dish was called at Le Cirque), followed by the most wonderful and sophisticated “Sheppard’s pie” (that’s not what they called it but it was braised pork mixed with cream and chunky cooked potatoes baked in a mold) and a trio of ice creams.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb From Start to Finish”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Every course, including the two complimentary mini courses, was excellent. The service was very good, and the dining room is pleasant. Had there not been a threat of a storm, we would have eaten outdoors, near the pool (this is a restaurant and hotel), and that would have put the whole evening over the top.

We were in France for 18 days, including four in Paris, and this was our best meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paraisodemonteverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Lovely ambience and wonderful chef! Not only is the food delicious, but the menu is revised frequently so you can return and find exciting new courses. Memorable dinners.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgarrettBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice, but not memorable”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A cozy dining room and a very engaging maitre d' (the owner?). We began with a entree of shrimp in a sauce with shallots served over courgettes and aubergine. Good but not great. The other entree was a very nice foie gras pâté. For mains, a steamed loup de mer over fresh vegetables with a light butter sauce with lemon was perfect, and a stew of beef cheeks and chuck that was savory but not really inspired. The accompanying potato gratin was delicious. The pear tart for dessert was wonderful. The sorbets were not. At 42 euros each, it was a fairly priced meal in a warm, pleasant setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wbf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Although we have been staying in the area for some 7 years, we had never eaten at La Huppe, having looked at a very restricted menu back in the early days.
This time we were meeting friends there for dinner, and were pleasantly surprised. The welcome was warm and the service was charming and attentive, unlike that experienced by one of your recent reviewers. Our friends were half an hour late, but we were quickly given our chosen bottle of wine, nibbles and a carafe of iced water whilst we waited. The menu was varied and the food good, albeit the desserts were probably the least successful.
The decor was not great - plain and rather ordinary against the quality of the food.
We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carefreevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ferme de la Huppe also viewed

 

Been to La Ferme de la Huppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing