We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goult
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After reading other (earlier) reviews of this hotel, my husband and I were really looking forward to our stay at the place, which passed itself off as a converted monastery. Although it does retain exterior features, the rooms themselves retain no character or allusions to the hotel's heritage and feels like a slightly more up-market Butlins. We had read that the 'old' part of the hotel has a slightly better feel, however, although requesting to stay there when booking the room (a few months in advance) and having understood that this was not a problem, we were instead placed in what seemed to be an extension. This leads to the main problem we found with this hotel - the service was very poor. When we arrived at 4pm, the gentleman at the front desk did not know whether our room was ready. We agreed to go for a walk around the grounds while he checked. Arriving back 45 minutes later he still hadn't checked to see whether our room was ready and proceeded to check in another party before showing them to their rooms. When he finally returned (after a stop for a coffee) we were given a key to the room and shown to the elevators. The room turned out to be a twin when we requested a double. After lugging our suitcases back to the reception we were told to wait while he attended to other matters. Once finished, he then decided to actually look at our booking, noting that we had requested a double room in the old part of the hotel. He then gave us a key to our room and told us it was on the first floor. What he failed to tell us was that the room was on the first floor of the building across the courtyard from the reception. We encountered similar problems trying to grab breakfast the next day - the door to the restaurant was closed when we arrived and there was no one from the hotel to seat us etc. and after wandering around for a while looking for service, we eventually decided to go for a croissant and coffee in nearby Goult.

To summarise, our experience is that this is an average hotel with poor service and that you pay above what it is worth. Don't be charmed into thinking that it retains any character. The rooms are small and basic but clean and functional. The breakfast is not worth the 9.90 Euro price tag. All in all, there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter - they seem to be the same and the request to stay in the 'old' part fell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINOT S, Directeur général at Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Madam,
I sincerely regret that you didn't like our hotel. I am sorry that the receptionist kept you waiting for your room. I will take action to prevent it from happening again.
As regard the other remarks, i should tell you:
The rooms:
When you have made your reservation, in the internet site, there are some photos of the rooms, and all our rooms are similar and equipped identically . If you didn't like, why have you made your reservation?
As regard the swimming pool and the park, the gardener takes care of it every day, and your remark is to say the least surprising.
Concerning our breakfast, there is always a waiter or a waitress in the dining room. Maybe the waiter was busy with a guest or busy replenishing the buffet. However out of 35'000 breakfasts served every year, you are the only ones that didn't know that it was a buffet, and in a buffet, you take a tray and sit where you want, on the terrace or in the restaurant, and you act in very bad faith when you say that our buffet breakfast is poor and expensive. I should say it's a very good value for money.
Very sincerely.
The manager, S. Vinot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

we really enjoyed the stay here. the hotel is big, quite and nice. they are dog friendly and we were surprised by the size of the park - if you have a dog, this is the place to stay in Luberon. price is fine for Provence and staff is very nice, english speaking. we cannot comment the dinner, but the breakfast is typical standard....nothing amazing, but nothing bad either. we can fully recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kusabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have used the Hotellerie for a group trip to Provence for the last 6 years.
The facilities are excellent, especially the swimming pool. Everything is beautifully maintained. The food is very good and the prices very reasonable. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

10 minutes by car to La Siroque :-), 10 minutes to Bonnieux, 10 minutes to Gordes, 10 minutes to ... everywhere. Good rooms, a/c, clean wc and shower, excellent pool in hotel garden. Approx 10 wine shops in 5 km distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for one night while travelling though Provence. The hotel is located in a small village at the foot of mountain a minute away from the road. There is a very relaxing and tranquil atmosphere there. Spacious guest rooms are clean and well equipped. The hotel offers excellent breakfast and free parking. There are free WiFi access.
The hotel is located extremely handy. It is closed to the main Provence attraction. It is strongly recommended to check in the hotel before 8pm since they close the reception. It is difficult to find place for dinner after 7pm since everything is closed and dinner at the hotel should be reserved beforehand.

Room Tip: It is strongly recommended to check in the hotel before 8pm since they close the reception. It is di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very spacious and beautiful grounds with huge and elegant pool, courtyards, good facilities and space for kids. Very good food, both the delicious, wonderfully presented and generous set menu dinners and the buffet breakfast. Great location; you can walk directly up the hill into the lovely village of Goult. Everything was fresh, clean and well maintained and the staff were very helpful. The only downsides were an airconditioner that we couldn't get to work and decor that is rather ordinary. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room, in the wing above the reception was spacious (we comfotably fitted 2 adults and 2 kids) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Built into a still working convent this is a very unusual hotel, but the surroundings are lovely with a large inner courtyard. There is a very large stone pool and garden area which is well kept up. The rooms are modern and well appointed. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it looked a bit like a refectory, preferring the very nice Le Garage restaurant in the tiny village which also has a pizzeria and a really nice 'locals' bar. We are surprised at the negative reviews, we thought it was really nice and a good place to explore this stunning region.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goult
3.2 mi away
Mas de la Senancole
Mas de la Senancole
#11 of 24 in Gordes
262 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#10 of 24 in Gordes
252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#2 of 5 in Roussillon
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Maison des Ocres
La Maison des Ocres
#5 of 5 in Roussillon
80 reviews
9.3 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
295 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres

Address: Lumieres | 84220 Lumieres Goult, 84220 Goult, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Goult
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goult
Price Range: £107 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing