We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for light sleepers!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not for light sleepers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel itself is fine, in fact it may be one of the nicer Fairfield Inns I've stayed in. While on the low end of the Marriott chain and therefore missing a lot of the luxuries you'd get at a JW, this one has very nice staff, furnishings were updated, mostly okay breakfast (could have used better fruit and biscuits). They are convenient to Four Winds Casino and even provide shuttle service there. The problem I had is that the main job of a hotel, for me, is to provide good sleeping accommodations, and the hotel's proximity to I-94 made it impossible for me to get a good night's sleep. I was on the side of the hotel nearest the highway, and the noise from the trucks passing by kept me up most of the night despite using the white noise app on my iPad, earplugs, etc. Perhaps a room on the other side of the hotel would have been okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elanor_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your feedback about the staff and that we are one of the nicer Fairfields that you have stayed in. I apologize about you not getting a good night's rest while you were here. Sometimes the trucks can be a bit noisy. Please let me know when you are visiting the area again, I will make sure that you are on the opposite side of the hotel.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    107
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
90
102
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Fairfield Inn. My husband and I made a last minute decision to travel to Four Winds Casino. We did not have a reservation when we checked in at Fairfield, but that wasn't a problem. The check in experience was smooth and we were upgraded to a King suite. Our room faced the corn fields and was quiet and clean. There is a free shuttle that runs to the casino until 2 am on the weekends which is very convenient. The breakfast bar has a nice selection and hits the spot. We will be back!

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 floors. We find it the least noisy on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hello Kim,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad to see that your stay was enjoyable and that we were able to upgrade you to a suite. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the breakfast as well. We hope to have you here again soon.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeClaire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Booked a stay to New Buffalo Fairfield Inn- after an unexpected family tragedy I called and cancelled our reservations two days prior to stay. Much to my surprise I ran across a $248 charge on our credit card about two weeks later. When I called to question the charge stating that I had cancelled the reservation, I was treated extrememly rudely! From the front desk staff to the General manager Eric. Unfortunately I made the mistake of not getting a cancellation number, thus they would not refund my credit card stating that we had been a "no show". It is not our fault that the person who took the cancellation was not properly trained or somehow did not cancel it out. A very costly mistake for us! The way my husband and I were treated- even from managment staff tells me this company does not value its customers. Definitely will NEVER stay at a Marriott proerty again. Beware of giving out your credit card number- may very well be charged even though you don't stay!!!! Horrible customer service!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Kelli

Thank you for your review; all feedback, positive or negative is important as it helps us to serve our guests better. It is true that you were charged for your stay, as it states when you make your reservation that you will be charged unless you cancel your reservation. After reviewing your reservation again, you did not speak with my front desk; they are trained to relay all cacellation numbers immediately at the time of cancellation. When we spoke earlier you were informed that you made your reservations with another party, not the hotel. With Marriott Central Reservations they will always give out cancellation numbers as well.

I am sorry that you feel that you were treated rudely, that is never our goal at our hotel, we intend to give everyone a memorable stay for the right reasons...I apologize if we failed to do that for you. Again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

For this category of hotel, the Fairfield Inn in New Buffalo is very nice with a convenient location off of the highway and close to downtown. The lobby, breakfast area and room were clean and attractive; the bed comfortable. The breakfast is typical hotel continental fare, with the addition of a few hot selections; convenient but nothing more. Southwest Michigan doesn't have enough hotels to meet the demand by tourists and visitors during events, so you pay more for a room in this category than you would in other areas. Two minor problems I experienced were the towels and wash clothes were super skimpy and thin, and the hot tub was overflowing with foamy stuff, which kept me from using it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for the feedback..! I am happy that you had a nice stay and that you thought our hotel was clean. We try our best to provide "clean and friendly" for every guest. I apologize about the towels and the foam in the hot-tub; that happens on occasion when it is used frequently, it must have been between cleaning times.
Again, I appreciate your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation but had no trouble getting a beautiful room at an excellent rate. The front desk hostess was very helpful. We were very happy with our room. The bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was very nicely equipped with all supplies. Our room faced the highway, but we didn't hear much noise. We missed breakfast because we were so comfortable, we slept late. Will definitely stay there on all future trips.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! It is great to see that you enjoyed your room and that our Front Desk was helpful with your stay. Next time you are here I will keep breakfast open a little later so you can enjoy it, but still sleep in again.

Thank You,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very comfortable, new fitness room equipment, excellent service from front desk, great breakfast.. Stayed here on business and will definitely stay here the next time in the area. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello Phil,

Thank you for the kind words! We try to provide a home away from home; especially when you are away on business; I am happy to see we acheived that for you.

Sincerely,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Calhoun, Nebraska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed with the family 4 nights right after Labor day. Overall very good experience. We got a discounted rate on a 2 queen suite (all week stay, no weekend nights) which was fantastic. We checked in around 9pm and the guy running the desk was really good. The thing you have to remember about non-full service hotels is there is generally one, and only one, person to do everything at night. So every guest that needs something, every outside call, every guest that checks in, plus whatever administrative duties are needed are being done by one person. That's a coporate decision and is the same at Marriot, Hilton, HIE, etc so cut the night shift some slack.

Every employee I encountered greeted me and in general the employees take good care of the property and the guests. I normally travel for business so don't spend much time on hotel sites, but being on vacation I spent time in the morning with coffee and the newspaper. I talked to people like the Chief Engineer who was mortified that I saw cigarette butts on the patio ground (from some slob guests who couldn't be bothered to use the waste cans) and he grabbed a broom and swept it up while on his way to inspect equipment out back. We talked about the challenges of keeping a property looking good, especially near beaches, in today's lean staffing environment. These people get it.

We love the beaches here and this is a great property so we'll be back again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello Dave,

Thank you for the kind words! Our 2 queen suites are a great option for long term stays or when your with family. I really appreciate the comments about the staff, and that you were able to enjoy your stay here during your vacation. We hope to accomodate you next year as well and hopefully we can get you in the 2 queen suite again.

Sincerely,

Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
11.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
11.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Address: 11400 Holiday Dr, New Buffalo, MI 49117-8224
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
#5 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn New Buffalo
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing