We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-So” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rancho Grande

El Rancho Grande
Ranked #28 of 46 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Food was OK, nothing spectacular. Margaritas tasted like they were made from powdered drink mix - yuck. A little pricy for mexican food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lannette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had the tamales and enchiladas. My husband had tacos. We had a couple Sols in ice cold frosty mugs as well. All for $30. Service was friendly and helpful. Food was authentic. Fun atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ole!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great authentic food. Try the chicken nachos, enough for 2 folks. Very cute and clean, great marquirettas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The place is decorated nice, food came out fast and margaritas were tasty. It was pricey but this is a Lake Michigan resort town. Service was speedy but it was also a Monday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I guess this review is a little one sided. I ate dinner here while visiting family. I live in Dallas Texas and this is not the TexMex food we eat there. The salsa tasted like watered down catsup. I ordered the shrimp tacos and there was one little shrimp in each taco. Refried beans were right out of the can and cold. The guacamole we ordered as a appetizer had no flavor at all. Like I said, this is probably one sided since I live in the TexMex food capital. If you are used to good m!exican food this is not your place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rancho Grande also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to El Rancho Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing