We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend”
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Nice quiet place to stay within walking distance of beach. Nice and friendly staff. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Get harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My best friend & I just stayed two days at the Harbor Grand to celebrate our birthdays. The service was excellent & the staff was very friendly! Kiesha was very attentive to our needs and very helpful. The hotel was clean & the beds are very comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the water from our room & enjoyed an amazing sunset as well. The Terrace restaurant (located in the inn's lower level) had wonderful food and amazing service (we had dinner two nights in a row)!! The eggplant parmigiana was the best I had ever eaten at a restaurant. The town is small & has several quaint little shops. We decided to check out the outlet in Indiana only 20 minutes away~which was fun! Kiesha gave us a coupon to turn in at the mall's service center to receive a booklet with stores discounts (which we usedi)! I wished it was a little warmer, so we could have enjoyed the beach! We will just have to return in warmer weather for our annual celebration! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 304, had a great view, fireplace & whirlpool tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gini211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I just love this hotel. We have stayed here often and enjoy it every time. It is a small boutique hotel located on the New Buffalo marina and within walking distance to Lake Michigan and the small town's shops and resturants. The hotel has a wonderful feel, peaceful, comfortable and very accomodating. The staff is the best! Helpful and ever so pleasant. The hotel is very nice, comfortably decorated wth a traditional look. They have two types of rooms. The rooms facing the city (very small town is a better discription) are two-room suites that are spacious and comfortable. The waterfront rooms are single bedrooms with fireplaces. If you want a good view of the harbor and Lake Mich, stay on the second or third floor on the south end of the building, otherwise there isn't much of a view of the lake, although the first floor rooms on the waterside have very nice patios overlooking the harbor. They have a very nice small resturant on the first floor with a limited menu, with a setting that is very nice and peaceful. It has seating inside and out, with a firepit on the outside. Just a heavenly place to sip a glass of wine and watch the sun go down. They also serve a continental breakfast which is brought to your door. They have bikes, DVDs, smores kits, blankets for use at the fire pit and other nice touches. Overall its a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a third floor waterfront, south end of building if you want a view, city view suites if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmbjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time a few weekends ago. While it was too cool to take advantage of the free bikes, etc., we still had lots of fun at this hotel. We checked in earlier than anticipated and there were no hick-ups. The woman behind the desk offered us a map of the area and gave us two vouchers to use at one of the local wineries. How's that for service?

Our room was a suite and it was modern and spacious. I thought we would be getting a room with a bathtub and was disappointed to see we only had a shower. Their showers have dual heads, one positioned on either end of the shower. It was remarkable! I was never cold!!! I quickly got over my dismay at not having a tub.

The rooms were tidy and the bathroom was nice. We had their complimentary breakfast in bed. I highly recommend the muffin bread...yum!

The pool was not that impressive so we did not dive in. The restaurant was packed when we stopped in. I believe there was an event going on. We did take advantage of the fire pit - equipped with blankets and a s'mores package. We sat by the fire (outside), toasted our marshmallows, sipped some wine and met the nicest people sitting opposite us. It was such a great way to spend the evening at the hotel.

When we checked out in the morning, the woman at the desk asked if there was anything they could have done to improve our stay. With complete confidence, we both said "it was perfect".

It was a simply lovely (quick) getaway. Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABulauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a nice boutique hotel adjacent to a marina. We stayed in a marina view room with a fireplace. The views were spectacular. The hotel was very clean and inviting. The staff was very friendly. Each room had a DVD player and the hotel has a nice selection of movies you can borrow. The complementary smores kits by the outdoor fire place and the complementary in-suite breakfast were also nice touches. The hotel has an Italian restaurant in the lower level, and the food was very good. Since they have limited seating, it is best to make a reservation early. This is a great hotel for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Many of the harbor view rooms have whirlpool tubs and fire places. Make a reservation early if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erie_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel while on business. Not wanting to stay at a chain, we opted for this beautiful place. The staff is more than accommodating and very pleasant. We had a king bed with fireplace and a view of the harbor. I'd highly recommend this room if visiting in the cooler months as we did, the fireplace kept us nice and warm! The bathroom has a whirlpool tub and separate large walk in shower-very nice! The biggest surprise was the breakfast delivered in a basket to our door, great start to the day and adorable! We asked for a late check out and due to the slow season could stay as late as 2pm, again, very accommodating. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDisneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visit Michigan often and this was our second stay to the Harbor Grand with two teenagers. You seriously couldn’t ask for anything more. The vicinity of the hotel is perfect. You’re within walking distance to the beach, the downtown, restaurants, etc.

The inn has plenty for kids/teens - a great pool and hottub, free bicycle rentals, free DVD’s and free smores in the evening. Breakfast delivered to your room is also included, as well as free coffee and/or tea 24/7 in the lobby.

If you’re traveling with kids, be sure to reserve a village view suite, as it has a separate bedroom and TV along with closet. The other room has a pullout bed and enough room for an inflatable bed and a second TV. The room does not overlook the harbor, but both the deck of the restaurant and pool has balconies which you can utilize anytime.

We ordered wine at their restaurant, but visited their sister hotel, Brenwood Tavern at the Marine Harbor, for dinner which was excellent. Brentwood Tavern has great outdoor seating, weather permitting.

Other area restaurants not to be missed include Brewster’s (great Italian food), Stray Dog (bar food and local hangout) and Redamak’s (famous burgers).

Wine tours and the Michigan City casino and outlet mall are all in close proximity.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
134 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
647 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 W Water St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: £63 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel
The Harbor Grand New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing