We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so grand”
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so grand”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Grand Harbor was a bit lacking for $169 for 2 queens and a whirlpool tub. The room was very small and short on character. They charge an unreasonable rate during early March and you get an outdated analogue tube type television in the room that was in disrepair and had a horrible orange tinge to every channel. It's no wonder they offer free DVD rentals to compensate for the quality of the television. We asked for a quiet room and were placed near the steps, front desk and elevator. The front desk did allow us to change rooms though without hesitation. However, in the new room, the people above us chose to pace the floor until 12:30 AM and with no sound barrier between floors, sleep was not an option. The staff did accommodate us with an in-room coffee maker when we asked for one prior to arriving, as they do not provide one. They encouraged us to dine in the on-sight restaurant when we checked in, but didn't recommend reservations. When we went down to dine, the hostess treated us like an inconvenience telling us we had an hour and fifteen minutes before the table we were at was taken by the customers that made a reservation, which I found very rude. The food was good, but expensive, but the service was good. The hotel was very clean and the sparse, but in-room delivered free breakfast was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the third floor so the poor construction between the floors won't keep you awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 660LisaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    99
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
184
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We love Harbor Country & typically rent a cottage from Blue Fish rentals when we visit. However, our favorite cottage was booked so we decided to try the Harbor Grand. It did not disappoint. What a wonderful experience. We rented a king harbor view room with a fireplace & whirlpool tub. Beautiful! (Past reviews are accurate, the fireplace does make the room quite warm) the rooms were cozy, inviting, very clean, & the view was lovely.

We had dinner in the Terrace Room & the food was very good. The atmosphere provided a cozy dinner by the fireplace. The food was excellent as was the service and the cocktails. There were locals as well as hotel guests giving it a relaxed elegance. We then bundled up & went out to the fire. The offering of s'mores was the perfect touch & quite romantic. Since we chose not to have s'mores but rather just enjoy the fire & the view, we opted for the in room ice cream delivery. A pint of Ben & Jerry's plus two spoons. So romantic & fun.

Breakfast arrived in a picnic basket just as we ordered. Great continual breakfast in bed complete with a fire to add to the romance. What a great experience.

Since we were there over the mlk holiday, many shops were closed for the season but still many were open & the low amount of traffic allowed for us to drive about seeing more of the beautiful properties, galleries, wineries, & more.

We highly recommend the Harbor Grand & will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmerritt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Each year my wife and I like to find a place for a romantic overnight holiday getaway during the week between Christmas and New Year’s Day, and, always enjoying the harbor country of the southwest corner of Michigan, this year we decided to try The Harbor Grand for the first time. It will not be our only time.

The building is designed after the manner of Frank Lloyd Wright (in fact our room had a litho of Falling Water on the wall), and the exterior is very much “prairie style”. Our king-bed room was very homey in its design, and didn’t have an institutional ambience. We were fortunate to get a corner room, which meant windows facing in two directions.

Ours was a “village view” room, as opposed to one facing the harbor. These rooms are cheaper, and in the middle of winter there is really nothing much to see on the harbor side, other than empty boat slips. (There are also railroad tracks just across the street, but they carry mostly passenger traffic, so there is not a steady stream of trains—and none noticed during the night.) There was a very tall evergreen tree outside our window, and the lights in it gave a nice holiday feeling.

The bathroom featured an oversized sink top, with an oversized mirror, affording ample space for personal items, and allowing more than one person to use the mirror. The “rainfall” showerhead is one of the best I’ve ever experienced, and the water flow and temperature are good. However, the room could use some better lighting, and a magnifying mirror for shaving and applying make-up.

A standard, but adequate, in-room continental breakfast is provided. What’s nifty about this is the presentation. A hang-card, with food preferences checked-off, is hung from the hallside doorknob the previous evening. The meal is hand-delivered to the room in a basket, and there are three delivery options, including setting the basket outside the door, knocking on the door, or phoning first, to verify delivery. There are also several delivery time options, which allow for guests being able to choose their own times to arise.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. There is a small round table in the room, with two chairs, and a hanging light. As we sat by our corner windows, we could watch a snow flurry lightly cover the bushes and the big evergreen tree. A very quiet and serene moment, that could only be experienced in the privacy of our room.

A nightly amenity is the s’mores-making on the patio behind the hotel’s restaurant. Guests get a s’mores “kit’, with marshmallows, a Hershey’s chocolate bar, and graham crackers. Double-pronged long forks are provided for roasting the marshmallows over an open flame in the patio’s fire pit. Even though the night was quite cold, the roasting was comfortable, due to the considerable heat from the fire, and the hotel-provided blankets on every chair. A lot of fun for all ages.

Other than the hotel’s Terrace Room restaurant, amenities include 24-hour on-demand room delivery of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, and a complimentary DVD lending library, neither of which we used. (Hey—we were there for romance, not to watch movies.) Coffee and tea are available at all times in the lobby. There are apparently other amenities available for people visiting the nearby beach, but those are, of course, for much warmer weather.

The harbor country is a great place to visit—and The Harbor Grand is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room (209) was at the end of a stub hall, in a corner, so there was nobody next to us, save the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKTravelerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We were there in mid-December to celebrate our anniversary. When we got to the room, there was complimentary champagne waiting for us with a lovely note. We were also given a complimentary pint of Ben & Jerrys! We were in a harbor view king room, which had a whirlpool tub and a fireplace. Like some of the other reviewers mentioned, that fireplace gives off alot of heat--we enjoyed it but did have to open the balcony door to let in some cooler air! We took advantage of the complementary outdoor firepit and smores--what a fun idea! And the picnic basket breakfast is great--its not big, but so nice to be able to eat breakfast in bed rather than running down to a lobby breakfast. Because we were there in the off-season, the price was very reasonable. The downside is that many of the other businesses in New Buffalo are either closed or have very limited hours. But it was perfect for us and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Late fall/early winter. Not too cold. Some lovely walks on the beach. Hotel welcoming and warm. Lovely views. Comfy bed. Great dining experience at the onsite restaurant. The pool and spa pool were great.

Room Tip: You really do want a lake view - well really a marina view - but really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed in November for a relaxing getaway with my husband. The lady at the front desk was nice and helpful. Our room was upgraded and she didn't tell us why but it was a nice surprise. We stayed in the harbor view king room. There was a gas fireplace in the room that definitely works well. We had to open the balcony door before we went to sleep because it was too hot in the room. The TV was old but this hotel isn't really about the latest electronic upgrades (even though a small flat screen would make it seem a little more modern). The bathroom was very nice. There was a Jacuzzi tub and a tiled, glass door shower. The bed and pillows weren't that comfortable but they could have been worse.

We ordered our breakfast for the next morning on a door hanger the night before and it was delivered to us at our room at our selected time in the morning. It was a typical hotel continental breakfast but it was nice that it was room service and it came wrapped in a cute little basket.

Overall it was a nice stay. I think it would be more fun to stay in the summer though, to take advantage of the hotel bike rental service and be able to enjoy the harbor view (the harbor was empty when we stayed...).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silentsnowkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Prices are $147 including tax for 2 Queens. A small breakfast is included that comes picnic style to your room in the morning with your pick of the time, and some items. The pool is the best! Nice and big and no people swimming when we wanted it. The Terrace restaurant is located on the bottom floor or you can drive a little ways to enjoy the Bentwood's grand food. Easy walking
distance to the beach.

Room Tip: There is an elevator for rooms upstairs or if you have a lot to carry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Country Inn
Lake Country Inn
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Property: The Harbor Grand
Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel
The Harbor Grand New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing