We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Harbor Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I visit New Buffalo at least once every summer, but usually rent a house. This time my boyfriend and I stayed at the Harbor Grand. We arrived early and did get early check in which was great. Although, we opened up our door to find an old small outdated room. We stayed in the king harbor view on the 2nd floor. There are NO balconies which was so disappointing only a sliding door. The view was very poor a huge tree took up most of the harbor view. The tv was old and you could tell the room and hotel need updating. For almost $400/night I expect more.

The only positive was the location- walking distance to the lake and downtown area. The staff was also very courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor harbor may have a better view but still no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for a couple of days to celebrate the return of our kids to college--and peace!. The rooms are well appointed and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent---you can walk to fun shops and bars and restaurants. The hotel restaurant is excellent, with both inside and outside seating. They have adirondack chairs on the lawn looking over the harbor--great place for a martini! Breakfast is delivered in a picnic basket---a fun change! Not inexpensive, but worth it. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DGS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nice weekend get away. Great location to the beach and other areas in the
Harbor Country. Breakfast in your room is included daily with an ok selection of yogurt, muffins and coffee/juice. Our room was located next to the pool deck and workout facilities; we didn't have a problem with carryover sound. As a matter of the pool deck felt like our private area to our room. My only compliant was that the plumbing is noisy; you can hear the toilets flushing and our bathroom fan was extremely loud. Also the room had a stale smell to it, but once the window was open it went away. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean upon arrival (sans stale smell) and cleaned by the time we would come back by 2 pm.

Room Tip: Go with a harbor side view. Otherwise, you may get the sound of Amtrak coming through town. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolas1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Fantastic weekend stay in new buffalo!

We normally stay at the sister property, marina grand, but wanted to try something different.
We arrived early (around 1:00) and as luck would have it were able to check in. Note the normal check in time is 4:00.

The rooms are starting to show their age and the corridors are quite dark but all in all the hotel is lovely. I do wish that upper floors had balconies since part of the joy of going to a beach town is enjoying the view, but I did like the comfortable bed and separate tub and shower! Note if you book a suite your view is of the parking lot and train tracks!

The harbor grand is an easy walk to the beach and they provide beach chairs and towels. They also have a small pool and hot tub that gets quite crowded busy season. We loved the continental breakfast delivered in a basket to our door and the restaurant downstairs was terrific for dinner.

I think we will return to marina grand next time because of the balconies, the lobby shop and the liveliness of bentwood tavern. But, harbor grand is a nice hotel in the heart of new buffalo and the friendly staff and lovely views made the stay worthwhile!

Room Tip: Third floor has best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a wonderful, romantic getaway spot! Very relaxing and the staff was top-rate! Our room overlooked the harbor and was perfect. Loved the beautiful bathroom with double shower and Jacuzzi tub with thick, luxorius towels. The breakfast basket delivered to our room was delightful and so nice to be able to relax in our robes and eat. We hope to return soon to enjoy the fall color. Lots of activities in the area with the beach close by.The staff surprised us with a complimentary bottle of chilled wine in our room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdr3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The man at check-in was very nice and helped us several times with suggestions and directions.
Our room was large, a bedroom and living area. The air vent was in the bedroom and it cooled down nicely, but the living area was very stuffy. Thank goodness we brought our own fan and placed it in the hall so the cool air could come into the living space.
There was a two-headed shower and we got a little excited about it, but it really wasn't all that special. The water leaked around the bottom. You felt like you were drowning when you tried to shave your legs because there was no little niche to place your toes in. Men have to stop designing showers.
The bed was comfortable but we could hear voices from the adjoining room.
Breakfast came in a little basket at our door. Granola and bagels, yogurt and milk...it held us till lunch.
I am not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kcheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great overnight getaway from the Chicago crush. Great beds, breakfast basket, and a fireplace make for great therapy. Harbor view is a must any time of year. The Bentwood Tavern has a great creative chef in their sister hotel next door. Short walk to the beach but the beach is better in South Haven.

Room Tip: Higher the better on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
135 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 W Water St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: £37 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel
The Harbor Grand New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing