We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great romantic getaway”
Review of The Harbor Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were looking for a quick get away, and found this gem. From Chicago, it was about an hour and a half drive. Great service, and about 15 minutes from anything you would want to do. We were late on booking vineyard tours and they were all booked, but still had an amazing time on our own self guided tour of 4 vineyards. The hotel has massage therapists that are on call and come in for your appointments. The couples massage was great!!! The hotel has free bike rentals, which was nice. We rode our bikes into town for dinner and drinks at Casey's. You full out the breakfast order sheet, and your selections are delivered to your site in the morning in a picnic basket. This made for a very sweet breakfast in bed. The restaurant in the hotel had great food and service. The outside patio offered great views for cocktails and dining. We went to a movie one night, and the casino another. Both were so close which was great. Other nearby activities were apple orchards for apple picking, vineyards, whiskey distillery, antique malls, Pumpkin patch. The hotel also gives you a list of the nearby activities and their locations. The room was a huge two room suite. Very clean, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel in November to celebrate an important birthday. The location is super, with view of the harbor. The service was good. The beds are excellent, but for the price, the room was quite cramped. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast. We had no idea that during the off-season the hotel serves no cooked breakfast. All breakfasts are delivered to your room and consist of a choice of muffins, yoghurt, a cold boiled egg etc. This hotel is great for a summer vacation, but not in the off-season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This small hotel impresses me. The front desk personnel were very helpful. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a King Harbor view with a fireplace. The bedding and beds were just right. Our stay included complimentary wine and cheese delivered to our room. The hotel is very comfortable and cozy.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank j o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have stayed at the Harbor Grand several times and have always enjoyed it. We like the rooms with the marina view and the fireplace. It is close to many restaurants in New Buffalo. The breakfast that is delivered to your room is good. The price is high, but we enjoy the convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Harbor Grand for 2 nights after the town's busy week end Fall Festival. We were loved the hospitality and our comfortable fireplace room overlooking the harbor. We enjoyed the in-room breakfast, pool and dinner at The Terrace. The massage room (extra charge) was a special treat for both of us to enjoy together. Living north of Chicago, we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing overlooking both the harbor and the restaurant fire pit for outdoor dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosey98_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is an old hotel, but updated and well maintained--very clean. The shower has 2 shower heads and is spectacular! Very nice continental breakfast delivered to the room. You can walk a block to a public beach on Lake Michigan. New Buffalo is a very cute town with nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suechucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel. In room complimentary breakfast very nice touch. Right across from Amtrak station proved to be no problem and very convenient. Indoor pool with outdoor deck. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine66-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
134 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 W Water St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: £98 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel
The Harbor Grand New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing