We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amenities, service”
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Harbor Grand is the best of all possible worlds. It is located at the north edge of the New Buffalo business district, within walking distance of Lake Michigan and the public beach (and two marinas for the sailors out there). It has been renovated so that the suites provide as much square footage as any chain hotel - my "economy" suite had a sitting room containing a couch and two armchairs and a bedroom - king size bed - both areas had big screen televisions. I thoroughly enjoyed having breakfast in bed - the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate - and because this was a working vacation, the coffee available 24 hours in the lobby and WiFi were excellent amenities. Yes, the furnishings appeared a little worn and in my room, the doors to one of the closets were out of kilter, but I spent so little time in the room these things didn't really matter.

Dining was also not a problem, as the hotel has a restaurant on site and there are more than enough restaurants within 8 blocks of the hotel. Many local places also offer delivery.

The Harbor Grand is located just behind the Amtrak rail platform, and the line is surprisingly busy (6 trains stop during the business week). If you are a light sleeper and go to bed early, the train noise might be problematic, as the last passenger line stops around 11 at night. This feature (which I actually consider a benefit for anyone who enjoys rail travel) is the only drawback to staying here.

Overall, my stay was very pleasant. I got the work done that I needed to, enjoyed two sunny days at the beach and ate way too much to discuss.

Room Tip: The "village view" rooms face the Amtrak line and are noisier because of this. Also, my vi...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for The Harbor Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This small hotel in New Buffalo, MI is delightful for a weekend or longer stay. The staff is the friendliest and most helpful I've ever met. The room comes with a complimentary breakfast basket delivered to your room at whatever time you choose. There is a restaurant on the property as well as an indoor pool with outdoor sun deck with a view of the marina. They have complimentary bicycles for those who like to explore the surrounding area. They are walking distance to the town and the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the marina side would be quieter as there is a commuter train on the city side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay and breakfast. It started with a room mix-up that took a while to straighten out. The TVs are old and rooms showing wear and tear. The rooms we ended up with was nicer than the first, and the front desk sent wonderful chocolate and handwritten apology regarding the mix-up. A pile driver was banging on the other side of the boat slips but the heavy sliding glass shut out the sound easily. We'll return.

Room Tip: Call to ensure the room you booked is the one you get.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The Harbor Grand is the best small hotel. From the yummy breakfast delivered to your door, the free bikes, the soft sheets and comfy beds you can't ask for more. The location is great for either a stroll tot the beach or to shopping in town. A must stay if you in New Buffalo.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank clvrly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

"Seriously...am I really in Michigan?" That's what I asked myself upon arriving in New Buffalo after a 1.75 hour drive from downtown Chicago. New Buffalo is a Lake Michigan shoreline escape that literally transports you to the likes of a mini-New England or -Tidewater or -Annapolis. The beach is large and lined with white, soft sand. If I didn't know the town was on a lake, I would have assumed it to be the ocean due to the waves. If you blink when driving into New Buffalo you'll miss downtown -- it is reminiscent of Mayberry USA. Some cute shops and casual local joints line the street and offer good food and wares.

All of that said, The Harbor Grand hotel sits as close to the water as you can get. It has three stories served by a single elevator and has a lower level where the small fireside bar/cafe is located with a walkout to the patio. The hotel is done in a craftsman style; it is very comfortable and looks as though it is not too old or was recently renovated from top to bottom. Having visited during the middle of the summer it was great to enjoy the warm weather. But I can see the heartiness of the hotel being a benefit during the arctic chills of the wintertime if that's your choice for a getaway. This is a family friendly hotel -- because of its location to the beach (a quick walk over an arched bridge) and to town (just across the train tracks), everyone has freedom to go their separate ways on foot yet not be too far away.

My room was pleasantly comfortable and faced the water and marina. The bed was huge and soft. The bathroom was a good size with nice tile and granite. If you're into baths, you'll love the bathtub because it's oversized. And the shower is in the new style of granite with a glass door. For those of you who are tall, you'll love the placement of the shower head because it is very high up. My all-time favorite feature of the room was the gas fireplace on the wall next to the bed. Oh my goodness...talk about comfy with a flip of a switch! And although this isn't a high-end hotel, they don't skimp on the important things. The towels are plush and the toiletries are more luxurious than I would expect.

Service at The Harbor Grand was personal and thorough. While my business colleagues and I didn't eat there (except for a catered working lunch of sandwiches), we did all order breakfast room service. Breakfast is ordered by 9pm using the door hanger menu. The selections are limited to continental items but the cool thing is it comes in a green picnic basket with matching checked linen.

Overall, I would recommend this as a great place to vacation if you are in the market for a US staycation or if you're visiting from another country and are looking for ideas off the beaten path. The hotel is conveniently located just steps away from the New Buffalo stop on the Amtrak line, so all the more reason to put this little gem on your list.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water and make sure yours has a wall fireplace.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed at the Harbor grand several times. With and without kids, peak season and off season. It has always been a pleasing experience for us. We love this boutique hotel ! The rooms are lovely and clean. The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor deck and chairs for sunning and lounging. The location is also a plus for us. Close to the beach and close to several wonderful restaurants ! As well as the restaurant in the hotel. We love the "breakfast in bed " that is offered with our room! This is where we stay when we need a getaway to play or just relax ! I highly recommend it. !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great rooms very clean pleasant people walking distance to restaurants and pubs any time of year is fun. Also four winds casino very close with complimentary shuttle service to and from hotel
You are also close enough to visit Michigan city Indiana with lots of museums and restaurants go and enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
131 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
634 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: £97 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel
The Harbor Grand New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing