We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here instead of Rosie's”

David's Delicatessen
Ranked #16 of 47 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go here instead of Rosie's”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing sandwiches and Intelligentsia coffee. Vegan options. We had the Geoegia Rueben and Madusa (lentil loaf with crunchy, pickled vegetables). Will return for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frocomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Delicious coffee and food. Very cute cafe right downtown New Buffalo. Reminds me of a Chicago cafe. I will definitely be back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Fun little place, though it was not very clean. Great coffee and unique food choices. I would go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbey612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed David's”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We went to David's Delicatessen in New Bourbon for the first time today. One of the reasons for giving them a try was there use of local ingredients. They had an inventive menu. I had trouble deciding! The sweet jalapeno chicken salad with blueberry BBQ sauce looked very intriguing! Three of us loved our big sandwiches: we got the Soylent Green (green garlic hummus, cilantro and pickled veg), David's Ruben, and the Georgia Ruben. The breads were delicious and firm! I don't normally like rye, but theirs is mild and tasty and doesn't assault you with caraway. Fillings were extremely tasty, although, I would have liked more hummus on my sandwich, and none of us could discern the cilantro that was supposed to be on it. The other sandwiches were thoroughly enjoyed and had good amounts turkey or corned beef, cheese, sauce and hand-pickled veg.. We were not so thrilled with the sides. They were small and limited. The choices were broccoli salad, mixed potato salad, and cole slaw. Two of us got the potato salad. While it certainly tasted good, I returned mine as the potatoes didn't get done and were crunchy. The young lady at the counter was extremely gracious, apologetic and quick to offer the broccoli salad I requested in exchange. It was served up in a small portion cup and was good...but, just good. The staff was friendly. The décor was eclectic and welcoming. My brother gave a thumbs up to their iced mocha as they also have various coffees. The bagels certainly looked delicious! The only other suggestion might be to have a little more regular height seating vs. the high backed stools and tables. The deli has limited space, I know; but if the short tables are full, the tall ones can be a little hard on folks with disabilities. Overall, it was a great experience! A little tweak to the sides, and we'd call it an excellent one! We'll look forward to visiting again when we come back to town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oklahomasoonergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice little coffee shop”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stopped in for coffee and to grab a quick breakfast – cinnamon rolls were still warm and huge and oh so yummy. They had excellent scones and coffee as well. A nice little coffee shop or somewhere to grab some meat/cheese or baked goods.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Delicatessen also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to David's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing