We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ice cream and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mooney's Blue Moon Ice Cream - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mooney's Blue Moon Ice Cream
Price range: US$3 - US$5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I visited Mooney's on our trip last summer and loved it. It's a great little ice cream parlor, and she was excited to get the blue moon ice cream (her all-time favorite!). We will definitely be back next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Popcorn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Archbold, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Always save room for ice cream in New Buffalo and go to Mooney's! Cute place and excellent ice cream.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wasn't what we had expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Don't get me wrong, it was good ice cream, but we thought it was a chain of a Mooney's ice cream we have back home. When we walked in and saw it was "Hershey's" brand ice cream we were really confused. But we got ice cream anyway. Good, but the mooney's we have back in Saginaw is way better and the value is wayyyyyyyyyy better!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pineapple2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

There are a few ice cream stops in town but Mooney's is our favorite. It is the cutest spot to stop after an evening stroll down to the beach. They have not only the best ice cream and location but the staff is super friendly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy60004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Got to try this Blue Moon Ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Really liked this place more than Oinks. This place was clean and much roomier. THe staff was cheerful and the ice cream was great. My daughter LOVED the blue moon ice cream! This is also a cash only place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mooney's Blue Moon Ice Cream also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing