We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

The Stray Dog Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were part of a larger group that selected this location, but overall we were happy with the result. The Buffalo/Asian wing combo appetizer was the highlight of the meal. The burgers we ordered tasted good but were overcooked. We ended up sending them back. The kids' meals are plentiful. Our server was very attentive, filling drinks and checking in on us regularly even though the dining room was busy. The back area contains high windows that would be beautiful on a bright, sunny day. The upper deck (21+) area looks like it would be fun on a summer night as well. The bar has a wide variety of on-tap beers, local microbrews, and mixed drinks. It's very close to the local beach/boat launch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrKent0780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    321
    80
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, IN
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we visited with a party of 4 adults. We shared the nachos and they were very good and plentiful. I had the fish tacos and they were also very good. Everyone liked their food and the service was great. If we are in town again, we will definitely come back here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank peyton0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paris, IN
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Casual Food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As always Stray Dog delivers very well prepared casual food. The service is good and food delivered quickly. All ways satisfied when we eat there

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank debkay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice casual restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was a fun place to have our dinner. My wife ordered the fish tacos and I had their special, fish and chips. The portions were big for the price and everything was fresh. The dining room was very clean and had a modern feel. The service was prompt and polite, and our server Joel was very attentive without being annoying.

On a Friday night, it was very busy and loud. We had to wait about 20 minutes for a table, but it was worth it. There are two separate dining areas: one around the bar and another room to the back. There were a lot of families but also many couples.

The price was worth the food and atmosphere. They also have a rooftop dining area but being mid-April it was pretty chilly (40 degrees) to eat outside. We would definitely come back and will go up for the rooftop dining in the summer!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popcorn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best guacamole ever!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I love to visit New Buffalo, Michigan. One of our favorite places to hang out for cold beer and AWESOME GUACAMOLE is The Stray Dog. The atmosphere is great. Lots of windows so you can see Lake Michigan - they open them on beautiful days so you get the lake breeze. They also have an open rooftop balcony so you can really take in the views. But the guacamole...yum, yum, yum! It's a must try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stray Dog Bar & Grill also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to The Stray Dog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing