We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

The Stray Dog Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had to stop and see the infamous Stray Dog. Love the fact that the deck is over 21! nice respite from the hordes of children in the restaurant. Food was good. View was excellent!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyham54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    302
    78
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, food and servers.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved our food. It was fresh, hot and delicious. Our server was great. We would definitely seek out this restaurant again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Drinks on the roof deck”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fun to have a few drinks and buy a shirt. Almost average food. The roof deck is really nice . They did a great job on the remodel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good fun”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Good food, average booze selection. I you want a fun atmosphere and a place to throw a few back you have your spot. Not gourmet or special but the atmosphere and location are primo.

Helpful?
Thank BigEater50265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Sunshine and happiness on deck!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The newly rebuilt Stray Dog is fun, beachy and nicely decorated. Parking is free. We have always sat on the upper deck, your choice of umbrella for shade or sun. Nice craft beer selections as well as wine, all about $6 each.

Macy, our server, was so personable and kind, something rarely witnessed these days when customer service is so important. Per Macy's suggestion, I decided on the chicken sandwich with teriyaki sauce, grilled pineapple and swiss cheese. It was FABULOUS!! Served with a perfect amount of fries and my IPA...heaven!

I believe we all love great food at restaurants, however, we return because of kind customer service! Thanks again, Macy :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandria920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stray Dog Bar & Grill also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to The Stray Dog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing