We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Restful!”
Review of Lake Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Restful!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I like trying new things, but most times, trying new things involves risk. Is it safer to do what you've always done simply because you already know you're going to like it? Sure. However, living this way means you may never get to experience the unexpected, the surprising, or the uncommon. The recent stay my wife and I enjoyed at the Lake Country Inn in New Buffalo definately fits all those descriptors.

As far as hotels go, LCI isn't one of your typical run-of-the-mill inns. From the outside, it looks like a large, well-kept lake house. The flower beds and landscaping were well tended and the curb appeal was great. Our hostess greated us warlmy when we arrived and fully explained the in's and out's of the facility. We were given our room key (An actual key! When's the last time you've used one of those?), and personally led us to our room. Having a key and not a card for room access lends a more homey feel to your vacation experience. We liked that. The key also unlocked and locked the front door. After 8 pm, there is no hotel staff on site, so guests are asked to lock up the front door if they return after hours. Is that unusual? Yes, but again, it made our experience feel more like home. There was no room identifier on the key or the fob, and since it also opened the front door of the inn, we had to assume any key works on any room. That was a bit unsettling, but we just decided to trust the other guests to be on their best behavior. Obviously, we had no problems in this regard during our stay.

The room itself (we stayed in the Saffron room) was spacious and immaculate. The linens were fresh, clean, and perfect for the decor. All the expected ammenities were present, save for an iron and board and in-room coffee maker (there was one downstairs that was always kept fresh). I loved the bathroom with it's walk-in shower. There was plenty of hot water and good pressure, something a lot of establishments can't seem to master. What we liked the best was the private balcony facing off the front of the inn. The balcony itself was about a third the size of our room, which is to say, quite large. It was outfitted with two Adirondack chairs and a side table. Fully blooming flower boxes surrounded the deck and a stand of birch trees (mostly) screened the balcony from the street and buildings nearby. If I could've slept out there I would have. The inn itself is within a leisurely 10 minute walk of the beach and situated right in the middle of all the shops, restaurants, and bars located up and down North Whitaker Street.

The only dowsides I noticed were these: The TV in the room was a little too small. It was HD, had access to Comcast cable and Netflix, but 32" is just not big enough to fully enjoy. Also, you'll need to have a good memory when it comes to recalling where your room is located. Since most hotels have room numbers, I've become accostomed to looking for my room number when returning to my room. Oddly, there are no numbers or identifiers on any of the room doors. All the doors in the inn look exactly the same. You may think this is no big deal, but when you're not expecting it and you can't remember which door is yours, it can be quite unnerving to consider that you might just be unlocking (remeber, all the keys open all the doors) and walking into the wrong room. Each room had it's own color scheme and name. Why not put that on the door to each room? Weird.

Other than those few things, my wife and Ioved the experience. We would definatly be happy to return any other time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. We liked the Saffron room with it's spacious balcony and corner lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeWhazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We really appreciate your review, and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to make our property fell like " your place" during a visit. A room key only opens the front door and your room. You can not access any other rooms with your key. The balcony off the saffron room does offer a great place to enjoy a beautiful summer day. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Seven of us participated in a staff retreat here, staying one night. The meeting area, a separate building just behind the main house, was quite nice. Patios doors you could open for a breeze, AC or heat available if needed. The inn offers a tasty continental-style breakfast, and coffee, tea, water and snacks were set up in the meeting facility throughout the day.
No beautiful view here, but comfortable rooms, great staff and nearby restaurants and shopping all made it a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clsbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks so much for the review. We typically host several work related retreats each year. As you mentioned, the separate community room at the rear of the property offers an excellent meeting space. The adjoining patio can also be used if the weather allows. Food can be catered in from one of the nearby restaurants. Hopefully we can host your group again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay.Very nice and very clean. Close to everything shopping,dinning and the beach.great price! Good breakfast to start your day. Just can't say enough good things. Been here three times can't wait to come back. Very relaxing:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spice3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Really appreciate your review and really, really appreciate your return visits. I have been able to talk with several guests this year who have stayed with us multiple times. It is great to connect a name with a smiling face and get their take on the property. Hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I traveled to New Buffalo for a short break and stayed at the Lake Country Inn. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the place brought a charm with it that is not common to a hotel stay. Also, this is not a typical Bed and Breakfast as it has been extremely well-done and has a bit of luxury to the charm. The place is in a sunny spot that is very convenient to walking around New Buffalo, and enjoying the Marina and the beach. There are many nice places to stay in town, but I would definitely go back to the Lake Country Inn.

Room Tip: The Blue Room had an adjoining suite with a couch that makes for a good place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thanks so much for the review, and for traveling all the way from London to spend some time with us in New Buffalo. This month we have also had guests from Ireland, Scotland, Belgium, Germany, and Denmark. The beautiful interior design was one big reason we became interested in buying the property in 2010. Really glad you enjoyed the stay and safe travels ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We would highly recommend this facility. The owners, employees, and atmosphere were superior. The inn is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants, and beach. Looking for a relaxing experience give this place a try!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We very much appreciate your review. The atmosphere at LCI also has a lot to do with all of the fantastic guests that we have staying with us. We are very grateful for all of the interesting, fun, happy, and polite guests that stay with us while enjoying one of the best beach areas in the country. Hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lake Country Inn. It was just a block from the train and the beach., so it was very convenient to everything. The room was colorful; ample size, comfortable with Ralph Lauren linens and a great shower. The other guests were very friendly and the staff was as helpful as could be. Breakfast was casual and leisurely and gave us a great start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mira_mira14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Our location is also only one block from the marina area where you can rent a boat or jet ski. There is also a new sailboat charter in town that offers a sunset cruise. Also, we typically have great guests and they contribute a lot to an upbeat and fun atmosphere at our property. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The place was beautiful and perhaps the cleanliness place I have ever stayed. Great location and great price. Beware of the bottom floor units because if you get an inconsiderate couple above you then you will hear everything. Unfortunately the only bar in town burned to the ground and if you were looking for a nice bar overlooking the beautiful scenery then your out of luck.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the top floor excellent but all rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully in the next several weeks, both Stray Dog and Casey's will reopen. Both of these local bars are very popular and offer live music during the summer. Stray Dog will be in a brand new building that includes a roof top area that is really great on summer nights. Hope you can make it back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
127 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Buffalo Inn & Spa
New Buffalo Inn & Spa
#2 of 7 in New Buffalo
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Property: Lake Country Inn
Address: 18 W Merchant St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1836
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. Adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn
Lake Country Inn New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing