We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Lake Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The Inn provides many, if not most of the features you get from large hotel chains but with a great B&B feel. The rooms are nicely set up and decorated and the location is nicely set back from the main drag in town. if you want to stay in a place that is a little different from your run of the mill hotels this is a great choice. A wonderful stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review and for staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. One advantage of being a small property is that guests feel more like they are staying at a nice home and that usually makes it easier to relax. Also, you never feel overwhelmed by things being too busy or crowed. Plus, it is easier to communicate with the staff and the owners directly.
Thank you again. Hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great visit here for our wedding anniversary. Stayed in the saffron room with a private balcony, room was beautifully decorated and clean. Staff was super friendly too. Much better value on a weeknight. Easy walk to everything in town.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mccoolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Very happy your stay went well and thank you for the review. The Saffron room with balcony is a favorite especially during the summer. We also have a large rear deck area, patio area, and free standing community room for all guests to use. Rates are lower midweek and off season. Specific rates can be found on our home page. There is a 6% Michigan tax, but we have no additional fees otherwise.
Hope you can make it back soon--- thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lake Country Inn exceeded our expectations! My husband & I travel each summer to spend time with his brother and sister in law. Our experience this summer was certainly enhanced by the staff and very at home feeling we felt during our stay. The rooms are spotless and decorated beautifully. We arrived before check in time, and were welcomed without hesitation.Love all the areas available to just sit and visit. The charming restaurants, downtown and beautiful beach is within walking distance of the inn. We will surely make a repeat visit to this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed meeting some of the other guest during your visit. We have certainly enjoyed talking with a lot of wonderful people over the summer and our guests play a very large role in helping create a relaxing and fun atmosphere at the property. The coffee is Starbucks and I try to stop by myself for some in the am. We also appreciate your mention of our Ralph Lauren linens.
Hope to see your group back again very soon. We are very happy your visit went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We just returned from a memorable 2 night stay at the Lake Country Inn. It is worthy
of the excellent reviews! Its location is ideal for walking to restaurants, shops, and the harbor and beaches. The rooms are extraordinarily clean and beautifully painted and furnished. Our bed (and bedding) was by Ralph Lauren, and I appreciated that luxury. The morning coffee was freshly brewed, and our balcony (or porch or patio or the lovely "gathering room") are ideal places to enjoy a cup each morning. I felt remarkably comfortable, and enjoyed talking to the friendly guests and the welcoming staff each day as we left and returned. What a gem to find in harbor country!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank linjo112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We very much appreciate your review – – really enjoyed the very clever title. Our goal is that guests feel like they are staying at a friend's home when they visit New Buffalo. Actually, the whole idea of owning the property evolved from the fact that we have been hosting family and friends at our private house in the area for decades and really enjoy seeing them happy and relaxed during their visits. One asset that our property also has that I like to mention is that we typically have really awesome guests staying with us. Atmosphere is very important and in a large part related to our guests and how much they are enjoying their stay.

We are grateful and thanks – – hope you can make it back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our 1st. wedding anniversary at the Lake Country Inn. We spent two nights in the Saffron room, it was very clean and the bed was amazing. Loved the balcony and the shower also. Could use a little bit bigger tv in the room but that is my only suggestion. The staff was AMAZING! Great location. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jneal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that we were able to help you enjoy your First Anniversary. Our staff really enjoys hearing about positive feedback from a guest and I'll be sure they are aware of your kind comments. The TVs in the Saffron and Orange room are currently the smallest on the property. We anticipate some bigger sets in these rooms by the fall. Our Tower room currently has the largest LED Smart TV at 42 inches.

Again, thank you so much for choosing us. Hope to see you back for more anniversaries in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great times at the Lake Country Inn! We arrived on a Friday and stayed in the Saffron room (SW corner of the property, 2nd floor, treetop view). The staff was courteous, the breakfast food was nice (continental breakfast) and the neighborhood is wonderful. My wife --the birthday girl-- loved it as well. We both loved sitting on the porch, drinking our wine and relaxing.

What's pretty cool about it as well--- if you take the Amtrak to New Buffalo, the stop is a few blocks away. Super convenient. It's also very walkable to the beach, downtown, restaurants, the harbor, Oinks (a must-visit) and many other places.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

So happy the birthday celebration went well. We really appreciate your review also. Thanks for mentioning the nearby Amtrak platform. There are multiple inbound and outbound trains every day connecting New Buffalo to Chicago. So if you're from the city you can get to Buffalo in a little over an hour. While you are staying with us you don't need a car as you can walk to pretty much everything you need. Winery tours, cabs, and casino shuttles are also available. Also, if you're not from Chicago but want to visit you can take the train and avoid all the traffic and parking challenges. The link to the Amtrak schedule can be found on our homepage. Having the train platform so close is pretty cool.

Looking forward to your turn; thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were impressed with the cleanliness and overall ambience of the Lake Country Inn. We had 2 rooms, the Orange Room and the Blue Room, both on the first floor. Very comfortable beds. They had made the detached garage into a family/gathering room that made a great place to play board games. The covered porches were a nice place to enjoy a cup of coffee. Good parking, good location. I would recommend the Lake Country Inn wholeheartedly. One thing they might want to think about is providing a full length mirror and a docking station for music.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmer1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We very much appreciate your review and thank you for choosing us. Visiting the local vineyards and wineries is by far one of the most popular activities with our guests. There are multiple excellent wineries within a 20 to 30 minute drive from our property. Our favorites include Tabor Hill, Lemon Creek, Gravity, and Round Barn. Many of the vineyards host events and have live music on the weekends during the summer. Tabor Hill has an outstanding restaurant. Also, there are multiple tours available so you don't need to worry about driving. Cab service is also available to the vineyards during the summer.

We anticipate installing some full-length mirrors in the near future. Hope we see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
131 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
643 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W Merchant St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1836
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range: £103 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. Adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn
Lake Country Inn New Buffalo, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing