We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Buffalo Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I've divided this review into two parts. The hotel and the spa as they were separate experiences.

Hotel review:
My wife & I went there for a 3 night getaway. We stayed there because we wanted a place with a full kitchen so we could eat breakfast & lunch there. I'm vegan so when we go on vacation especially to small towns there is not a lot of places to eat. So this place was perfect! We stayed in the SS Post boy room. The room included a full kitchen (refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher, utensils, pots, pans, knives, blender, coffee machine, etc), beautiful outdoor space, bedroom with a queen size bed, huge jacuzzi, big bathroom, a lot of storage space, flat screen tv, and a nice couch. It was very good size room, almost like a mini house and only 5 blocks from the beach. I also loved the rooms used a key pad for locks, I wish every hotel was like that. The service was very accommodating and overall it was a great stay. If we go back I'd would stay there again. On the table was a book so people could discuss there stay and there were many people in there that stayed there multiple times, that's a great sign!

Spa review:
I would give 3.5 stars for the spa. The actual massage was pretty good but it was a bit weird. First off they started 7 minutes late and ended 5 minutes early. It's a 72 massage for 60 minutes. So if we do the math I got cheated out of $14.40 of massaging, that's a lot of time! The actual massage she focused 30-40 minutes on my back. Then the last 10 minutes she rushed through everywhere else. I could literally hear her rushing through everything, she made a lot of noise scrambling, it was just weird. The massage on my back was great but everywhere else just got teased. I just wish she spent less time on my back and more time everywhere else. Also I wish she made less noise as she kept moving around a lot. Good massage, not the best but I would probably go back but just give better instruction of what I want massaged.

Overall it was a great stay, only 75 minutes from Chicago, friendly people, good food, great weather and great experience!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JeffK024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in the Snug Harbor room recently. The inn is just ok. The grounds are nothing special, and the rooms are dated. There is no elevator for the 2nd floor, which was not an issue for us, but could be for some. In the bedroom the vent on the ceiling blows right on your head. An air deflector could solve that issue easily. It is a good walk to the beach if hauling beach gear. It is close to some restaurants and shops on the main street. I felt it is pricey for what you get. Also, when leaving the parking area, the signs are placed in such a way that it is really difficult to see the road safely. Hopefully that can be fixed. The free Wi Fi is nice. Also, I like a pool and this property does not have one. It is quiet, so I guess it depends what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoppergirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Buffalo_Inn_Spa, Owner at New Buffalo Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your input, we have placed an air deflector above the bed register as suggested.
Our building was built in the 1950's so we had to work with the existing architecture which did not allow for an elevator to the two rooms upstairs. We also have 4 ground level rooms for those who have difficulty navigating stairs. We do have an outdoor hot tub in our backyard that is professionally maintained by a spa company. The size of our property is not conducive to having an outdoor pool, Lake Michigan is about 4 blocks away and an easy walk or short drive too.
We appreciate all of our guests comments and make changes based on their feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed at this inn numerous times. Lisa and her staff are very accommodating. The property is very convenient to downtown and the beach. A lot of places advertise 2-person hot tubs, but all they are is a bigger bathtub. All of the tubs will fit 2 adults comfortably. We plan to return many times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gfdrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Buffalo_Inn_Spa, Owner at New Buffalo Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are so happy to have you back with us! The Bain Ultra tub is our largest tub and has heated back rests and air is injected into the water thru tiny air holes in the bottom of the tub. It is definitely the Ultimate Experience! Looking forward to having you with us again....and again.... and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I have stayed in a few B&B type places. This is by far the best! Location is minutes away from the shore and many restaurants. Whirlpool tub easily accommodates two. Staff is friendly and happily attends to anything you need. Great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeadSopAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Back in the fall we styaed in the Red Bud cottage and ended up loving it so we knew we would be back! For my husbands birthday we decided that a restful getaway was in order and we booked the Evergreen Cottage as it was now completed from the construction that was going on with it. The cost for the cottage was excellent and since it was off season it was even better! The Evergreen is pet friendly so we certainly brought our puppy along with us for the extra cost which we saved by booking the Evergreen specifically.

The cottage layout was different it had two big bedrooms and one small one in the front so there was plenty of space for lots of people. The kitchen had everything we needed, we would have liked more paper towels as there was only half a roll but not a deal breaker. I have to say as someone who looks at cleanliness as an important factor the vents/ducts in the Evergreen were superbly clean (far better than the Red Bud where there was a lot of dust). The rest of the cottage was very clean and hygenic as well. Our favorite part of the house had to be the newly redone bathroom, with the stone floors, duel headed shower, and not to mention how much brighter it was with the new fixtures.

As it was winter it did snow quite a bit but our driveway for the cottage was shoveled which was amazing! We did not explore out too much just for breakfast and other needs at the grocery store. Overall great experience provided again from the New Buffalo Inn & Spa! We cant wait for our third trip back!

Room Tip: The Evergreen is great for a party of 2 or a party of 5 especially for the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arsine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We frequent this inn as a quiet getaway in the off season. Not much to do in winter, but that's what makes it so wonderful. The suites are winderful. we have stayed in 4 different.Summers are very busy in this town.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmnorris5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wonderful getaway for the weekend. Our hotel room had a large living space, kitchen, two bedrooms and large bathroom. Our January stay included a snow storm, but no worries we were content staying in by the fireplace. We will definitely come back again soon! The staff and owners were amazing and helped make our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaDH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
134 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Country Inn
Lake Country Inn
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Buffalo Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Buffalo Inn & Spa

Address: 231 E Buffalo St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range: £115 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Buffalo Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful inn has been enthusiastically recommended by our many repeat guests. Located in the heart of the resort town, New Buffalo, six blocks from our picturesque Snug Harbor and broad Lake Michigan beach, our Harbor Country inn offers gracious sized rooms and suites, as well as several cottages suitable for small groups. Our large cottages are great for your summer vacation near the beach! Each of our accommodations is unique and comfortable. Some are pet friendly, too! Our Spa is a peaceful retreat offering therapeutic massage, facials, hydrotherapy and a full menu of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your New Buffalo Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
New Buffalo Inn And Spa
New Buffalo Inn & Spa Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing