We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to recharge your batteries...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Buffalo Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to recharge your batteries...”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

After several summers of staying in smaller chain motel/hotels in the area, my boyfriend and I decided to treat ourselves for our anniversary! The New Buffalo Inn and Spa website shows last-minute specials etc so we booked the Captain's Quarters. It is on the first floor of the inn and has a sitting room, kitchen, bedroom with a whirlpool, and bathroom with an awesome shower. I was a little concerned we would be able to hear the other guests above us walking around etc. but there was never any disturbance. They offer massages and treatments at their spa next door so I took advantage of a chair massage...I nearly melted right there :) It's within walking distance from the downtown area and beach so that was nice. My only complaint was that I had to struggle to get the wifi to work in the bedroom but once it did there were no problems. Lisa (the owner) was very helpful when we asked for recommendations for dinner too (Casey's has a mean chicken sandwich!). All in all, we had a lovely time escaping the craziness that is Chicago to take a few days to veg out!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGuzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We visited New Buffalo for the first time. We chose a cottage so we could vacation with our dogs. We were greeted by a very nice and welcoming women named Monica who gave us tips on the area and made us feel welcome. The cottage is located in the villiage and had an old fashioned feel to it. Very sweet, quiet and and comfortable. We loved it very much and will be back. We have one small negative comment and that was that we wish the shower, tub and kitchen had been a bit cleaner. There was a little left over sand from the last group. Not a messy cottage by any means, but for the price, we thought these details should be looked at before check in. No biggie, we cleaned ourselves and are recommending the cottage and inn to our friends!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed in the SS Post Boy suite with a 20% last-minute booking discount. For $124, we basically had a small apartment! It was like staying at someone's house rather than in a sterile hotel room, with many small touches and amenities (like Dixie cups and plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom, comfy couches and DVD player in the living room, and a well-equipped kitchen), as well as lovely decor. The only thing I would improve upon is the mattress; a pillow-top would be much better! The living room has a deck that faces the inn's beautiful landscaped backyard. The yard has a hot tub that can be used any time of the day or night, perfect for relaxing after a long day of fun. The beach is walking distance--less than a mile--and there are many restaurants within a short walk of the inn. A supermarket and pharmacy are also nearby. The inn far exceeded our expectations, and we will definitely return there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I echo all the others accolades of the New Buffalo Inn and Spa. Clean, peaceful, close to downtown. All the amenities to spark a romantic getaway. The grounds are beautifully maintained as a cozy garden. The couples massage was excellent. More than all of the above, the people are great ! We had some vehicle problems and they were a fantastic help. Even the resident cat was friendly. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

WOW!!! What a gem. I was skeptical when we drove up. It's right on the main crosstown highway (4 lanes) and didn't seem that "upscale". The lobby is really just an entryway with a phone for you to call someone to check you in. Checkin was painless, in no time we were given keyless directions to our room (which I love). Out room was just to the left of the "lobby". We walked up the stairs of the little porch to the Galien Room and opened the door. It has a little "cottage" smell but it was charming. Great living room with a couch, chair, desk, fireplace and TV. Our only complaint was not having a remote that worked the TV, super annoying, but hey, we were celebrating our 20th anniversary, so TV wasn't a priority. I wish we had been more prepared...it was a little bit of a last minute trip so we didn't plan to stay in a room with a full kitchen for the weekend. I wish I'd have brought along more than beverages, it would have been nice to stay in and have dinner one of the nights. The bedroom was large with a two person jetted tub, FABULOUS!!! The bed was super comfy. The shower in the bath room was "car wash" style. I loved it. There is a great backyard area with a private hot tub and lots of little areas to sit and relax. We had a table and chairs on our own deck, which would have been great, but it rained most of the weekend. We will be back again. Thanks for a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icanflossu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I stay at the New Buffalo Inn and Spa every year, and it continues to be the BEST place for rest and relaxation. It's one of those places that you can't wait to get back to. The rooms are amazing, fire place, hot tub and the gardens really take your breath away. We often travel with one of our Aussies and love that they can accomadate us there. The staff is so wonderful and treat you like royalty while you are there. We wont be waiting a whole year to go back we already have it booked for a week in August....and are counting the days!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had rented the cottage a couple months out and had rented it a year prior when we originally stayed there twice before but last year we had tried to cancel due to my mother in law was beig very ill and passing away (she paid for a portion of the rental), the owner would not refund our money back nor my mother in laws, nor would she accomodate us for the housee we rented. She originally tried to hold our reservation for the following year but sold the renatl house and wanted to rent us the cottages that are by the main free way and no where near the house we rented and liked and paid for.She made several people very dissapointed last year and we have yet to hear a formal apology from the owner Lisa werner nor her husband xmayor of new buffalo. We contacted BBB and have filed a formal complaint however we felt the need to tell everyone whoi is interested in staying at the Inn or wanting to rent anything from them that you should really be cautious. I would not recommned you do buisness with someone so heartless and who dedicates its website on spirituality and wellness but doesn't really care for the customer just the $.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travealot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New_Buffalo_Inn_Spa, Owner at New Buffalo Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Please note that we do have a cancellation policy that requires advance notification. Whole week stays are difficult to rebook and require 30 days to cancel in order for us to attempt to rebook your reservation. All efforts are made to rebook once we are aware of the cancellation. In this circumstance we did not charge the guest the remaining balance on the stay and made all efforts to arrange a stay even one year after the original reservation. The home they reserved prior was no longer available for rent. We offered the same size home in a different location. We are sorry that we could not work out a remedy for them.
If you have any questions regarding our policies please visit our website or give us a call.
We have been in business for 15 years, and we do care about our guests.
We also have policies that we follow for our business. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Buffalo Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Buffalo Inn & Spa

Property: New Buffalo Inn & Spa
Address: 231 E Buffalo St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — New Buffalo Inn & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful inn has been enthusiastically recommended by our many repeat guests. Located in the heart of the resort town, New Buffalo, six blocks from our picturesque Snug Harbor and broad Lake Michigan beach, our Harbor Country inn offers gracious sized rooms and suites, as well as several cottages suitable for small groups. Our large cottages are great for your summer vacation near the beach! Each of our accommodations is unique and comfortable. Some are pet friendly, too! Our Spa is a peaceful retreat offering therapeutic massage, facials, hydrotherapy and a full menu of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Buffalo Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
New Buffalo Inn And Spa
New Buffalo Inn & Spa Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing