We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Campground, Needs Some Love and Care”

Stony Haven Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Era
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stony Haven Campground
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Campground, Needs Some Love and Care”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed here with my family over the summer and half the reason we booked here was because we were told by the campground that it was located on a lake. It wasn't, it was across the street from it and the campground had NO beach access. Overall the campground was okay, they claimed to have a stocked fishing pond, but we we tired to fish, noting was biting. There is a playground which is nice for kids, but it needs a little more upkeep, as does the whole place. We were also told there was WIFI, which there was, but it didn't reach our cabin which was very inconvenient. Also, the owners live on the property but never had set "open" hours, so often we would have a question and no one would be home (they were nice and friendly when we did see them). We stayed in a cabin which was fantastic and met all our needs with a small kitchen, bathroom with shower, and slept 3 adults, 2 teenagers, and 2 children comfortably. The campground had tubes available to rent to float down a nearby canal to Lake MI which worked out very nicely. One of the kids favorite things to do was ride the bikes and peddle go-karts around the campground that were for rent. Next time we would book somewhere else on a lake or closer to Lake MI because it was about a 10 minute drive to the shore from the campground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in cabin 19 July 17 and 18. The cabin was clean and very nice. The campground itself needs attention. The leaves are raked but left in piles, the bathrooms are cleaned but need a good deep cleaning. My daughter rented bikes there. My grandson got the only 3 wheeler that actually worked well. My daughter tried several before settling on a regular bicycle. There was a lot of nice, shaded playground equipment that my grandson, age 9, really enjoyed. It would be nicer if they actually had on-site swimming, but the lake is only a mile drive and just over a mile to Lake Michigan. The tube rental is very nice. Yes, I would stay here again. They did mention they had bed bugs in the cabin behind our, but not in our cabin.

Room Tip: If you go Mon-Wed it is discounted 25%, which is what we did. The cabins that sleep 8 are fully equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, Owner at Stony Haven Campground, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
The Lord has blessed us with an abundance of shade trees. Leaves and mulch provide cushioning in the playground and protection from erosion on hillsides. Fallen leaves build up a rich soil that is helpful in leveling cabin sites. Standard and premium sites are raked clean. We provide rakes for campers in the rustic area.

Fun Cycles are very popular - especially on Sundays when rentals are free. After hard use, we pull cycles off the line for service and return them to the fleet when repaired.

Feel free to inspect our facilites for cleanliness anytime. We spot clean the bathouse as needed and deep clean weekly while campers are away on day trips. In His Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We went to Stony Haven Campgrounds on July 12-16 2012. Three families stayed in cabins 15 and 17. Our daughter was sleeping in cabin 17 when her husband turned the lights on only to find her covered with thousands of bed bugs....ick!!! The place looked like it had been infested for a long time. Our sister-in-law was on the top bunk and when the light when on the entire ceiling above the bed was covered with thousands of them...The owners have them in their home and were covered with bites. The blankets were covered. The bathrooms were dirty. The grounds had years of composted leaves laying around. We all have bites all over us and don't know what they were from.We traveled with 9 young grandkids and toddlers,.It was a nightmare at midnight. We will never stay their again. The pictures and description are deceptive. Our family time was ruined.They should be reported to the health department. Dr. and Mrs. Lewis

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrandmrsdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy K, Owner at Stony Haven Campground, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We thank Dr. and Mrs. Lewis and their families for helping us identify the bed bug infestation in one of our cabins and offering their suggestions. We relocated their family members into another cabin for the remainder of their weekend stay and gave them full refund. We contacted our insurance agent who compensated them for their personal belongings.

Liberty Pest Control has joined us in eradicating the insects. To draw the bugs out, we sleep in the cabin, then monitor their activity and re-spray as needed. We will continue to do so until the infestation is gone; only then will the cabin be available for rent. The local Health Department is satisfied with our response to the situation and the measures we have take to protect our guests.

Our Good Lord has graciously spared the other 5 cabins and our home. In His Wisdom, He keeps us humble. In His Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Excellent Family atmosphere. We stayed 4 days, loved it. Clean, quiet, beautiful property. the owners were very helpful and nice. The cabin (we rented the basic) was great. The owner let us peek into the top of the line cabin when she cleaned it and it was amazing. The one we'll pick next year. It's like having a very small apartment in the woods. Also very affordable. Again, the grounds were awesome. We could have spent the entire trip at the campgrounds and kept our 6 year old entertained with the wildlife and pond and bikes and playground. Also only 25 minutes to michigan adventure. We went to a petting zoo and a dairy farm that were close. 20 minutes from the dunes. The whole experience was awesome, I highly reccommend them and we will stay again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie117too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Era
11.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
24.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.5 mi away
Double JJ Resort
Double JJ Resort
#1 of 1 in Rothbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
14.1 mi away
Michillinda Lodge
Michillinda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whitehall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Haven Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Haven Campground

Property: Stony Haven Campground
Address: 8079 W Stony Lake Rd, New Era, MI 49446-8069
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > New Era
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New Era
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christian, Alcohol Free, Family Camping. Cabin Rentals. Shaded Full Hook-up & Rustic Sites. Tubing Parties. Fun Cycle & Boat Rentals. 2 Miles from Lake Michigan. Groups Welcome. Local Attractions: Silver Lake Sand Dunes, Michigan's Adventure, Rainbow Ranch, Country Dairy, Farm Markets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing