We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop!”
Review of Hit The Road Joe

Hit The Road Joe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Newaygo
Restaurant details
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must stop!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Went there on recommendations from others who visited the area. Had eggs Benedict with the café mocha. They were both fabulous, service is also really nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Been driving by this neat little place for years and never stopped. Finally popped my head in for coffee and discovered an amazing place. Only had a frozen coffee and a muffin, but I really loved the menu. Can't wait to eat here. Totally cool hippie vibe in the place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An unexpected go-to restaurant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Although it is a little out of the way, it's worth finding. The outside is misleading. Don't let it fool you. Walk in the door and prepare to be enchanted. You will be heartily welcomed, invited to your choice of seats and then learn the days special specials while giving your drink order. From the menu or the menu board, you can't go wrong. The service is great and fast the food is exceptional. You will find layers of subtle flavors in even the coleslaw...best I've ever had. The plating us excellent, down to the drizzle of sweet cream on the nicely ride can't elope that accompanied my Rueben. My Rueben was made if the freshest rye bread I've ever had topped with real corned beef and what tasted like freshly made sauerkraut. I will be back even if it is about forty five minutes away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast hideaway 😄”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Not many area breakfast stops in this area. But this one, off the beaten path, is worth searching out.
The stuffed French toast is amazing. Served with fresh berries and a lemon curd, it is my favorite, and I have ordered it several times. Another tasty option is the breakfast sandwich. Thinking McDonalds variety? Think again. This is large and oh so delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We went here for breakfast at the recommendation of friends. It was really fun. Mainly serving locals, this cafe (only open till 3) has a fine menu and a few upscale offerings (such as the baked french toast). Great coffee and a splendid patio. Let the kids use the playground out back and don't miss the ponies! This place is run by two women who deserve real credit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hit The Road Joe also viewed

Newaygo, Newaygo County
Newaygo, Newaygo County
 
Newaygo, Newaygo County
Newaygo, Newaygo County
 
Newaygo, Newaygo County
 

Been to Hit The Road Joe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing