We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Newaygo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here recently for a family reunion. My wife's cousin owns a lake house nearby, but its not big enough for the entire extended family, so about 10 of us stayed here in 4 rooms. The inn is very nice. We've stayed in many B&B's around the world, and while it wasn't as good as some, considering the price and the other options nearby, we were very pleased.

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The innkeepers/owners were friendly and accomodating, especially of the in-laws who had some children who weren't always calm and quiet.

Would suggest staying in one of the upstairs rooms, which I think cost a bit more but have ensuite facilities. The rooms downstairs are quite a bit smaller, and aren't really good for anything other than sleeping, since the furniture takes up about 90% of the space. Also, I think there are 4 bedrooms downstairs that all share one bathroom. This can be a little frustrating, since 8 adults to one shower can prove problematic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astaplet82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug C, Innkeeper at La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We value your comments. I would like to address one comment you made. The downstairs bedrooms actually share two bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

me and my boyfriend peter had a really great time. it was for new years weekend and it was the best weekend i have ever had. the house itself was very warm and comfortable. we had the queens suite and it was really beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. the innkeepers were very nice and the breakfast the next morning was really good. i highly recommend this place. and we will be coming back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We had a lovely, fresh and clean room. Breakfast was delicious. We loved sitting on the veranda. looking at the beautiful cherry blossoms. Our linens were top of the line and the bed was extremely comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. They seem to have a bit of a problem deciding on a decorating theme, but some might find it charming or "eclectic".

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyWalkEatSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This was the only Bed and Breakfast that I ever stayed at and I would definately go back in a heartbeat. La Belle de la Riviere was absolutely beautiful and in a great location as it is in walking distance from some shopping and restaurants. It also within walking distance from the Muskegon River which we decided to do a tubing trip down the river which was quite an adventure.

I would highly recommend anyone visiting this quaint town to stay at La Belle de la Riviere. The owner is super friendly and I have never had such a great breakfast. I will definately go back in a couple of years when we plan our next trip to Michigan.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimcheer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Well...this place had its pros and cons. First of all, I didn't expect it to be on a busy highway (M37), which can be disappointing if you're expecting a peaceful experience. The traffic noise can be annoying. It does die down late at night.
Second, don't expect the 'innkeeper' to be the owner. It seems to be a case of 'innkeeper of the day/weekend'. In our case, it was a young woman who really wasn't a very good cook - although we'd been promised a gourmet breakfast during phone conversations to book the room.
Some things that would be easy to solve: 1) a small fridge in each room upstairs (or at least on the landing) so that folks wouldn't have to traipse downstairs for ice 2) a small bar of soap for the tub rather than making guests rely on the bottle of hand soap in the bathroom
On the up side, there is some great live entertainment 4 pm until 8 pm on the veranda.
Also, check out the 'River Stop Cafe' that's a few doors down for great coffee and creative sandwiches!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biscuitgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 State Rd, Newaygo, MI 49337-8134
Region: United States > Michigan > Newaygo County > Newaygo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newaygo
Price Range: £60 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle de la Riviere Bed & Breakfast has amenities tailored to give you the best value and make your stay a memorable event. River sports, snowmobiling, hiking, guided fishing/hunting, golfing, and horseback riding are just a few of the outdoor enthusiasts activities. There are indoor activities as well including antique & thrift shopping, clay art studio, a wool and quilting shop for crafters, and quaint coffee shops and restaurants. We have an ideal setting & location for formal events, outdoor adventure, or a relaxing escape from the worries of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing