We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY AWESOME”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halfway Lake Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SIMPLY AWESOME”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

What a great location...We cant say enough. The cottage was ready & warm when we arrived. Walk way shoveled. The hosts were very gratious. Loved the hottub after a long day of snowmobiling. Plenty of parking. We road right up to our front door. Trails just a quick trip up the road. Gas, just a quick. SIMPLY AWESOME. They really know how to take care of you and to do the right thing. We will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GONZO411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    46
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
102
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lapeer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This is the best ! Wonderful, clean, comfortable, beautiful surroundings. A great place to visit any time of year because of all the great places to explore in the area. The lake is absolutely georgeous and most cabins are located right on the lake with the best view! You will not be disappointed staying here. The only thing you need to bring are your coffee filters! Enjoy...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracieLapeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed in Cabin #1, closest to the Main Office and facing the lake with a good view of the water. 2 bedrooms, each with one large and one small bed, all comfortable; 4 down pillows, 2 non-down. Dining table, 4 chairs, couch. Complete kitchen (gas stove/oven), although cookware and other items will have moved around if a large group had multiple units. If anything is lacking, just ask and your host will do his/her best to get it for you (e.g., alarm clock, extra towels). Heater works well, but be prepared for it to peter out, emitting gasps of warm air at the end of a cycle. Bathroom was nice; taller persons will need to duck under the decorative curtains to get into the shower. Hat/coat pegs near door; a dresser/closet in which to put clothes would have been nice as we stayed multiple nights. Dining area worked well, but as evening approached we realized that if you wanted to look out at the lake as you ate, your food was in shadow because the closest lights were either in the kitchen to your left or behind you in the form of 2 lamps. (Minor complaints, to be sure.)

Enjoyed viewing the chickens, flower and vegetable gardens. Did not use the land rec areas, hot tub. Canoed for a while around the lake; kayaks, rowboats were also available along with paddles, life vests.

Resort is at the north end of CR505; best way to get there is to look for the large sign on M37, turn right onto CR505 and you’ll be there in a jiffy. We had turned onto the south end of CR505 (hard to spot if you are going northbound) and took the bumpy dirt road until we arrived at the resort. 4-wheel drive vehicles would enjoy the dirt roads out here.

Marina, Merle, Nicole and Josh are excellent hosts. After driving through town and seeing where we could have stayed, we knew we made the right choice. (Visit the website and read other reviews for more info not included here.)

http://www.halfwaylake.com/

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffbeerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgis, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Thank you for such an awesome vacation. I hope we can come back again & again!!
Halfway Lake is beautiful and peaceful. (I cannot put into words the true beauty of the lake and it’s surroundings.) The cabins were excellent!!
Central location near many UP attractions, but could enjoy a week at the lake without going anywhere else!!
Saw a Moose near the cabin the first day!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The reviews on Tripadvisor sold us on a cabin here as a one-day stopover on our road trip from Massachusetts to Minneapolis. First impressions weren't so good with the directions they sent us (don't trust Google to get you here, they told us) At two points they told us  to go right rather than left. Fortunately I had a paper map and went with reconciling the map and their directions with priority given to the map, so we got there fine. It's not really that hard if you have a map. There were only a few other guests when we were there and they were pretty quiet. My wife tried the hot tub and said it was excellent after a  swim in the lake. The cabin was basic but the sofa and chairs were comfortable and the cooking area basically but adequately stocked. The staff were helpful in getting us towels for the lake. The lake was really beautiful, particularly in the early morning, but I note that they are trying to sell off lakeside home lots and it may not be so quiet and wild then. Kayaks and canoes had PFDs in both adult and child sizes, a good touch. 

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceratopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My family and I very much enjoyed our stay at Halfway Lake (cabin 1), and we would definitely recommend your resort to others! The cabin was very well kept and had a great view. I'm not one who is comfortable staying away from home, but I have to say...I was very comfortable there! Beds were comfortable, cabin was a nice size, everything was very clean, neighbors were great, wonderful view of the lake and the price was right! And I especially like the fact that you offer your water toys at no extra charge. My family and I really enjoyed the boats and kayaks. I especially loved touring the lake in the kayak! That was my first experience with a kayak, and I absolutely LOVED it!

We didn't see any bear or moose this trip, but that just means we have to come back...hopefully in the fall! And I know exactly where we will be staying! Its a great place and I'm glad we had the opportunity to experience it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferbrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stumbled upon these lovely little cabins north of Newberry and what a find it was. We spent three nights and it was total relaxation and satisfaction. The cabins are the only structures on this pristine little lake. They are well equipped, maintained and clean. The owner of the resort was freindly, accomodating and very intested in making our stay enjoyable. They are centrally located to many major attactions in the U.P. such as Pictured Rocks, Seney Wildlife refuge and much more. We had a wonderful pancake breakfast at the Logging Museum in Newberry all organized by local volunteers.
Although the trip was short, we returned home calm and rested. Halfway Lake Resort will be a regular destination for us for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overbridgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
12.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
22.0 mi away
Hilltop cabins
Hilltop cabins
#1 of 3 in Grand Marais
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
183 reviews
10.1 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Cottages

Property: Halfway Lake Cottages
Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868-7643
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halfway Lake Cottages Newberry, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing