We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halfway Lake Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Halfway Lake Resort for a 3 day weekend in May. It is the perfect location for visiting Tahquamenon Falls and Whitefish Point. We enjoyed the on site kayaks and rowboats and had a great time paddling around Halfway Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08Nicole_2009, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

I am happy that you found our resort to be the perfect place to stay while enjoying the Tahquamenon Falls. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed using the lake activities. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We could not have asked for a better location to stay while snowmobiling in the UP. I went on this trip with a friend and neither of us had a lot of experience with snowmobiling. Nicole and Josh were awesome. Not only did they provide a great place to stay, they were willing to take the time and answer any questions we had. They helped us map out the entire day.

In addition to the lodging we rented the snowmobiles directly from the resort. This was very handy. We were able to come and go as we wanted. It's a lot of fun taking the snowmobiles on the amazing trail system in the UP. We had a blast stopping at local places and checking out the scenery.

This was definitely one of the best weekend trips we have ever taken. It's likely to turn into an annual trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hootiekjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

*Four day getaway R&R 10/20/13
*Doesn't track on GPS so a little adventurous to find
*Greeted and welcomed amicably by Dalaine (sp?)
*Accommodating in moving us to a "better view" cabin(#6)
*Checked with us after an unexpected 3-4 inches of snow
*Well located for all "tourist stuff"...falls, rocks, museums, etc
*Cabins clean and comfortable and well thought out (reading lights in bedrooms would be helpful),
*Most restaurants/diners 10-15 miles......two full service food markets 12 miles
* Didn't see Bullwinkle but did spot two doe & a squirrel!!!
*Surprisingly, colors were spectacular for late Oct
*Setting is special....6 of the cabins with great lake view
*No "how was your stay or thanks for staying with us" at the office on departure. from Nicole... Just instructed on where to put our trash before we left.
*Chamberlain's a good choice for a nice dinner with an upscale menu, friendly staff in a great turn of the century B&B....15, or so, miles from cabins
.

Room Tip: #6 furniture faces nice large window looking out to lake and scenery with a new screened in porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank downriverdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Spent a few days in the U.P. for the fall season color tour and we were pleasantly surprised with staying at Halfway Lake Resort. Clean cabin, nicely furnished, peaceful and a lovely lake. The woman who checked us in was very nice, gave us info as to places to visit that we not on all the tourist maps. No one bothered us so we had a relaxing stay. I'd like to visit again in the summer to take advantage of boating on the lake.

Room Tip: These cabins are located away from town so buy your groceries before you arrive. Quiet location wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Resort is out of town a ways, but well worth the drive. Beautiful setting, peaceful lake. Older facility but very well maintained, wonderful friendly owners. Very comfortable and we were happy to find this gem!

Room Tip: Grocery shop before you go to avoid a return trip to town. (Coffee was provided.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westley41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

On our first trip to the Upper Peninsula we wanted to find a place that was somewhat centrally located in the eastern half of the U.P. We stayed at Halfway Lake Resort for three nights, and really enjoyed it. The cabin we stayed in was very clean, updated, and well equipped in the kitchen area. The whole family had a great time on the kayaks and canoes, and the lake was beautiful. We mostly toured the U.P. area by day, and came back in the evening. Wished we had stayed for a week, but had to get on the road. We loved the Falls, the Bear Slide, Pictured Rocks, the Shipwreck Museum, and the whitefish at Browns. Josh and Nicole were very helpful, and we hope to come back in the future!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Boilerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We made a reservation for this place in April. They called the day before we were arriving and stated they would not be able to honor the reservation. They told us we could go to a flea bag motel up the road instead. Then it took several calls and even stopping by the place in order to get our deposit back. We asked for an explanation, but we were just told something came up with the room that we reserved. It seemed very easy for these people to just cancel a reservation the day before we arrive and so difficult to get our money back. I would not recommend since you can't count on staying there and there are no other suitable last minute options in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08Nicole_2009, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We are truly sorry that your mother’s stay at our resort was cancelled on short notice. When I spoke with her I assured her that I would find her a place to stay and I would personally investigate the quality of the establishment. I chose a very clean and beautiful privately owned cottage that sits directly on Muskellonge Lake; less than a mile from where you were camping. You would have had lake access and a motorboat to use.

We also offered to pay the difference between the deposit you paid and the total amount due. This offer was declined. When I asked where the refund should be mailed, your mother replied that you would stop and pick up the refund on your way to Muskellonge State Park. The refund check was written, but nobody stopped by the day you arrived. My husband and I were out of town the next day. When I received a message you had stopped by, I returned your message with directions on how to obtain your refund, which you did within two days of your cancellation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
12.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
22.0 mi away
Hilltop cabins
Hilltop cabins
#1 of 3 in Grand Marais
113 reviews
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
69 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Cottages

Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868-7643
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halfway Lake Cottages Newberry, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing