We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Was nice staying here while visiting an ill relative, the room was comfortable, somewhat overpriced for the area would have stayed a second night but was not willing to pay more for a Sunday stay then a Saturday. Staff was nice, would be nice to have small fridge in the rooms. Various restaurants withing walking distance is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grneyes131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We hope everything turned out ok for your ill relative. Not sure what you meant by paying more for a Sunday night as our rates are the same every day of the week. When making your reservation for your next stay with us feel free to request a room with the amenities you require. While we may not be able to accommodate all of them we will do our best to make you as comfortable as possible. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    64
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
64
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everything at this place was above average except for a couple of things.
One - there was a pesky fly in our room which was quite annoying.
Two - the microwave made a noise that eventually drove you nuts. I unplugged it finally.
So I 'dinged' the sleep quality.
Hot tub was great!! Just the right temperature....
Breakfast was hot and the offerings were more than adequate.

Room Tip: Stay where you don't have an ice machine nearby or an exit door. If possible, avoid rooms where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urkidding24689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are sorry to hear you had a problem with that pesky fly. I hope the fly swatter helped. Glad to hear the breakfast was satisfying. The next time you visit mention the problem with the refrigerator and we will try to find you a quieter room. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When we were looking for a hotel/motel in the UP, it seemed that there was not a big choice in the Newberry area. We chose Comfort Inn because it is a respected chain but did not expect anything special. While the hotel does seem over-priced for the area, it does give value for your money. It was a clean, nicely decorated hotel that is typical of Comfort Inns. But this one has charm too. Paintings and decor reflect the fact that Newberry is "the moose capital of Michigan."
The room was clean, furnishings and beds were in good repair, and we enjoyed a relaxing evening and refreshing night's sleep.

It is on the highway so that's very convenient. Also, it's right across from a couple of gas stations and restaurants/bars, so again...convenient. There was plenty of parking available onsite.
During check in, when I asked about whether our room had a fridge, the friendly woman at Reception said it did not but she would change our room to one that did. The room also had a microwave. The TV reception was not the best but we watched a movie on HBO anyway. WiFi worked well.
Breakfast was included and they offered boiled eggs, omelettes, sausage patties, waffles, and the usual fare. We left satisfied. When the dining room became rather full, a staff member opened a sliding panel to offer more seating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the charm we try to present. We want people to feel comfortable here. Not stiff and cold. The breakfast is meant to be filling and satisfying. After all we can't send you on your way on an empty stomach. We hope to have you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had the pleasure to stay here just the other night - The folks there made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and well appointed and the breakfast the next morning was really appreciated. My daughter left her favorite shirt in the room and we didn't realize until a day or so later. I called and the folks there sent it back to us.\very promptly. Great service, wonderful Northern hospitality all in all great experience! Thank you Comfort Inn Newberry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We are glad to hear you had a great stay and are very happy your daughter got her favorite shirt back. We look forward to seeing you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

First, I am impressed that the Guest Relations Manager pays attention and responds to Trip Advisor reviews. I look for that when deciding where to stay. There are limited options for motels on the Upper Peninsula and we were pleased with this one. The front desk staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The motel should consider keeping the breakfast area open with coffee, tea and possibly light snacks available throughout the day. We expect to return to the UP every year to visit friends and attend a charity event in Gould City, and we will certainly consider the Comfort Inn in Newberry again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifKidRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for reading the reviews as well as the responses. They do help us to see where we can improve so we can make your futures stays even better. Thank you also for taking the time to add your own comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Mt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Decent...clean...but, over priced for the middle of no where in the UP of MI. Seemed to be quite a bar crowd staying there with us, on the Thursday night. I know these places have to make their money during the summer, off of tourists; but, do they have to extract more than a pint?

Room Tip: Stay way to the back for any quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We are sorry that you believe you did not get your moneys worth. We would be interested in knowing what we could have offered that would have made the price more reasonable. We want our guests to go away with a good feeling about our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
219 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My room and bed were excellent. The hotel appears to be well-maintained. But for almost $100 you should get usable Wifi and no nonsense excuse that the exercise room is closed. In addition, the cable TV selections are fairly limited (no PBS or Canadian options). This hotel is located in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are glad your stay was a good one overall. We are sorry about the un availability of the exercise room at the time of your stay. Some times we lack needed space and some of the amenities get sacrificed. We do offer FREE passes to the wellness center which offers towels and showers and changing rooms on site, as well as a lot more equipment and air conditioning. Please feel free to inquire about this option if you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
14.8 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 13954 State Highway M28, Newberry, MI 49868-7971 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Comfort Inn. Now Quality Inn & Suites with the same friendly owners. Come in and check out our renovations. Stay with us and enjoy a deluxe breakfast and a relaxing soak in our large hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newberry
Newberry Comfort Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Newberry, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing