We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newberry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Motel(Newberry)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyline Motel(Naubinway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
24
21
9
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
21
9
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood carvingsstayed hereone nightmom and popclean roomstahquamenon fallsbed was comfortabledesktowelsofficetidyqueenchaincabinaccommodationsmichigan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very nice older facility in superb condition, hospital clean, nice people and reasonable price.
What else is there to say. We were lucky to find this place and Tripadvisor helped. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This place is clean, however it really needs some basic updating. Pretty thin walls, which cannot be helped. Drain in sink in need of plunging or drano or something. A coffee maker would be so nice, instead of having to get dressed to go to office, and hope there is some coffee left. The price of the room is pretty average for the UP, around $58.00. Lady said beds were queen size, but I am not so sure about that, looking a LOT like a full .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We found this motel on trip advisor. The reviews looked good and we decided to make the Gateway Motel a stop over on our trip. I loved all the vintage knotty pine paneling and there are wood carvings on the exterior between each unit. It was clean and quiet and the beds were quite comfortable. An excellent value for your money.

Room Tip: We stayed across from the office. It's a fairly busy highway but with the positioning of our room, we heard absolutely nothing
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiggerthehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This could be a 3+ as it was clean but small. Maybe a 4 if everyone's expectations for Upper Michigan are like mine and I don't mean that in a bad way. I love it up there. Gateway is also very dog friendly. Remember we are in Upper Michigan where large cities are not the norm, hence big hotels may not be where you want them. Your are here to get away from things. Many places are rustic. I like rustic. This one is old but well kept. If you keep this in mind while staying at these "mom and pop" motels you will be fine. We had reservations made a few weeks earlier as July 4 was this week. We were taking a chance but the reviews were for the most part OK. We found the owners very nice and helpful. The room although small was a good place to spend the night as Tahquamenon Falls is near by and we had it on our list to visit. We were traveling with my special needs daughter and an 8 year old granddaughter and had been away from home for over a week so far. Yes, it was crowded but we were only here for the night.

Room Tip: Keep in mind the area you are staying. In this case we knew a 5 star hotel with Olympic pool, weight room, hot tub, and room service would not be the norm. Also, we wanted and expected the older but clean "mom and pop" type of hotel. If you keep this in mind and read reviews with this in mind you will do OK.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leroys73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We checked out the reviews and stayed here one night in June 2013. While dated, the motel is clean, affordable and quiet. If we had wanted the latest decor, we could have stayed at the Comfort Inn where the price was $50 more. We appreciated the cable channels, the desk and high speed Wi-Fi that worked flawlessly. Nearby is Tahquahmenon State Park and Falls, the Shipwreck Museum in Paradise and Oswald's Bear Ranch, so this area is well worth a visit. We too are skeptical of the person who said they got bitten - we had no problems like this. I think people should be really, really careful before making a claim such as this on the Internet. It can be very damaging to a small business such as this one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingal63126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews