We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive stay, good value, and easy drive to/from Notre Dame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Niles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Niles
LosAngeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Positive stay, good value, and easy drive to/from Notre Dame”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I booked this hotel 9 months in advance of Notre Dame Graduation as it was the best value I could find short of staying in the dorms. The front desk staff, maids, and manager were incredibly warm and even inquired about our day when they saw us the next morning. We were on the second floor, away from the elevator, but the other posts are true - the walls are quite thin so we could hear our neighbors tv as I'm sure they could hear ours. Also, the floors "boom" as you walk over them. It seemed as though the room above us were marching as they walked over our heads, but then I listened to how our floor sounded as we walked and I suspect the first floor room below us thought we were marching.

We drove to/from Notre Dame twice a day and it was a straight shot and no more than a 15 minute drive. I would recommend this hotel for parents attending Notre Dame events.

The breakfast was above average. The cinnamon rolls are outstanding, the pancake machine intriguing and each morning a different set of hot items were on the buffet. The only improvement would be some type of fruit. Coffee and hot water were available all day which was nice.

Last of all, the soap that is provided is such a welcome change from other hotels as it is creamier than regular soap. More like Caress or Dove. I know this is minor, but very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator on the top floor (3). That way you won't hear anyone walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USTraveler0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niles, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. We equally would like to thank you for your stay with us. My staff and I work very hard to deliver a great experience. We have noted your concerns about the noise factor, we do work at trying to keep it at a minimum. We look forward to having you back in the future! Stay SMART!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    37
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
12
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel and found it to be clean and seemed fairly new. Close to South Bend. Easy commute to St. Joe, MI for great restaurants. Would definitely stay there again. Turning left out of this hotel can be a challenge!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niles, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff here is dedicated to serving our guests to the best of our abilities. I completely understand about turning out onto the highway...it is all about the timing and using the middle lane. Hope to see you again! Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The walls in these rooms are thin as velum paper, you can hear everything outside the door and even in the next rooms. The first night I stayed I was constantly awakened to what sounded like stomping. It turned out I had the room outside of the stairwell. I asked to move my room the following night and again heard quite a bit of noise outside the room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, but the hotel was terrible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillyflower97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niles, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
We are terribly sorry you had this experience at the hotel. We do try everything in our power to deliver the highest level of comfort to all of our guests. We have reviewed your comments with the entire staff and are working hard to rectify this experience from happening again. We are thankful for your feedback as it is used to help us improve the service our guests come to expect. We do look forward to having you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A fellow student/friend and I stayed here as we are assigned to a clinical site in the area. Since we both live over 60 miles away and need to be at our clinics very early in the morning, we chose to stay in the area overnight. We stopped in and requested a room and were greeted by the general manager at the front desk. The general manager was very gracious! We were appreciative of the clean comfortable rooms. We will definitely be back every week throughout our clinical rotation.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and did not have any problems with noise as previous reviewers have. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmforfuninnthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niles, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for your review. We are dedicated to delivering a Great Hotel that guests like you Love. We look forward to having you back to our hotel. Safe Travels on your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked this hotel as we had a youth tennis tournament during the weekend. Unfortunately, a rowdy crowd of youth hockey players also booked this same hotel. Even though we were on the 3rd floor, we could hear lots of noise and racket in the hallway as well as through the walls. Previous posts indicated the walls were thin and they were'nt kidding. The staff warned us and tried to do their best which we did appreciate. The hotel is 18-24 months old and still looks nice. The rooms were adequate for our purposes. Just a few miles south there are lots of places to stay closer to South Bend and Notre Dame. Next time, I'll priceline a room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierDady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niles, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Hoosierdad,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased you appreciated the condition of our hotel as well as your room accommodation and our convenience location. We apologize for the inconvenience the noise has caused you. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Don't stay at this hotel. The hotel staff is rude, unprofessional and bent on making it feel like you are staying at a prison rather than a hotel. Slow to check people in. Didn't service the rooms in a timely manner. Left a 40 year old mom standing in the lobby in her swim suit because they lock the pool to keep the kids out - which also keeps the adults out. Wouldn't allow us to gather in the common area for a quick bite prior to leaving for our function without paying an additional fee. Since the hotel is individually owned, the corporate guest service rep told me that there was nothing they would do to improve the experience at this property. Disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbk316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Niles, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Unfortunately, during this time period we had three Hockey Teams in the hotel. Check in was slower than usually due to two buses of Hockey Players coming to check in back to back. The hotels policy while there are groups of children in the hotel is to keep the pool blocked with only admission by Front Desk to keep all children safe and supervised during their pool time. It is never our intention to be unaccommodating to any of our guests; however when the hotel is full of children we do have to be tighter with our hotel policies. As management we have to consider all guests staying at the hotel and the safety of our guests is always our top priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A co-worker and I stayed here on a business trip and it was a nice stay! The property is newer, probably no more than a couple years old and still has a new hotel smell to it. We didn't get in until later in the evening, around 8pm and the employee at the desk, Nicholas, was very friendly! The room was on the larger side and very nicely appointed and clean. We went downstairs to see if there was a vending machine and found a drink one but no food one. We asked Nicholas and he said they didn't have a food machine but offered us danishes, muffins or anything else that they had on hand for breakfasts....and then offered us fresh-baked cookies he had just made (which were really good)! We didn't get to partake in the breakfast as we had to be out the door before breakfast time started. The only reason I didn't give this hotel five stars is because the walls and floors seem kind of thin. We could hear the guests in the room above us walking around and heard numerous people talking through the walls. Thankfully they were mostly quiet by the time we needed to go to sleep but if we had to go to sleep much earlier, it might have been harder. Otherwise, we had a great stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niles
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Niles
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
21.4 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
4.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
5.8 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Niles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Niles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Niles
Address: 1000 Moore St, Niles, MI 49120-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Niles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Niles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Niles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Niles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Niles Hotel Niles
Holiday Inn Express Niles Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing