We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Express!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Shepherd, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The Best Express!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I am a single female traveler. I frequently travel to the greater Detroit area for work and have stayed at a number of hotels. I decided to check out this HI Express for one night back in February. I will return. It is a newer hotel and I was impressed by some of the more "green" elements noticable during my stay. For instance, once in my room I had to put my room key card into a holder in order to activate the lights. No chance to leave your room with all the lights burning. I like that kind of thing. Though most HI Exp breakfast bars are pretty standard, this one appeared to also have some different varieties of food (rice, omelets with salsa) than the usual. My only "inconvenience" (minor) was having to request my receipt at check out. Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Now that I know exactly where this place is as well as the fact that there are plenty of food choices nearby; I will return.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We strive to be the best express! Thank you for your wonderful support and comments! Guest safety, and satisfaction are our number one goals. We want to make you feel like you're at your home away from home! Pleasing our guests is what we love to do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    45
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
35
12
2
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Wow! What a great staff here at the Holiday Inn Express outside of Detroit on Twelve Mile Road in Novi, Michigan. I was here from Monday to Friday and it was a wonderful stay. When I checked in, my room had a King Size bed instead of the 2 Queen beds. I called down to the Front Desk and they quickly changed my room to one a few doors down with 2 Queen Beds. They delivered the new key to me at my room and saved me the normal trip back down to the front desk to exchange keys. When I looked in the new room, I noticed there was not a refridgerator in it. Within 10 minutes there was a knock on my door and a refridgerator was brought in.
The first night it was snowing, so I decided to walk to dinner, which was all of 100 feet to the Ruby Tuesday's next door. There are a ton of Restaurants within 2 miles of this hotel.
Being an early riser, I called the front desk at 4:45am and asked when I can get Freshly brewed coffee. Robert at the Front desk said "I will make it for you right now". Another WOW!
Tina is the General Manager at this Hotel and works hard at doing a Fantastic job in every aspect needed to make a hotel run smoothly. The hotel is clean, safe and in a great location for Business. I will constantly stay here on my return trips to the Detroit area. The food staff does a great job of giving you a nice variety of food in addition to keeping the area clean and replenished when needed. Definetly a great place to stay.
......Greg T

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so very glad you had a good experience while staying here with us. Pleasing our guests is what we love to do. We appreciate your support. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here to do some shopping and found the place to fit the bill in many ways.

- it was clean, comfortable and convenient
- staff was friendly, helpful and happy to assist with any questions
- the continental breakfast was adequate, nothing fancy, but they had plenty of everything on hand.

We'd definitely come back if in the same area again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a third floor king suite and the roominess, fridge/microwave was nice (plus they had plates i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We're so glad you chose to stay here with us while doing shopping in the Novi area! We know there are many hotels around, and we're appreciate you choosing us. Customer service is our specialty and we work hard at what we do. Hope you check us out again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice and comfortable! I will be staying here again! The price is pretty good for Detroit and the staff was super nice. Great experience! Only thin forgotten was my check out that they typically slide under the door but the desk staff was so nice I didn't mind! The sounds travel was good because I couldn't hear much where I can in most places I stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chdcarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so glad that you chose our property to stay at while in the Novi area. We strive to be your number 1 choice while in Novi. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Just what I expect from HIEXP, parking was convenient, check in and check out were prompt, breakfast buffet was good as usual. Room was in good condition as well. When we visit 12 Oaks again, we will be staying here.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BeachLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Great guest experiences is what we're all about here at the Holiday Inn Express in Novi. Thank you for your feedback and support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Friendly and patient staff is the attraction of this hotel. Very clean facility although the caulking in the bathroom was starting to deteriorate.

Would stay again. Prices were a little high for a HI Express during holiday season. They appear to cater to business travelers.

Grandkids loved the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Being a great hotel that guests love is our priority here at the Holiday Inn Express in Novi. We enjoy hearing all about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The front desk was very courteous and helpful and even called to the room to make sure everything was in order. The WiFi connection worked fine though it took a few extra key strokes to make it happen. The room was clean and comfortable. Based on previous reviews, I did ask for a room away from the expressway (room 336). I did not notice noise from other rooms though any noise in the hallway was easy to pick up.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. It is easy to get to and close to restaurants and mall.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kburkhal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
You are our report card, thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novi hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
4.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Address: 39675 W 12 Mile Rd, Novi, MI 48377-3605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our brand new hotel in Novi, Michigan is located a half-hour outside Detroit, at M-5 & 12 Mile Rd., the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Detroit Novi provides comfortable accommodations near many of suburban Detroit s best businesses & leisure attractions. Business travelers lodging in Novi, Michigan can enjoy our Novi, MI hotel convenient access to several convention & sports arenas including the Rock Financial Showplace, CompuWare Arena & Novi Ice Arena. Nearby businesses include; Nissan, Ryder, ITC, Bosch, Hewlett Packard & MI CAT. Additionally, this Novi hotel has a 24-hour business center & two meeting rooms. Avid shoppers will find several shopping centers within one mile of our Novi hotel near Detroit. The Twelve Oaks Mall & Novi Towne Center are all just a short drive away. Other Detroit - Novi attractions include the Detroit Casinos, Ford Field, Comerica Park, the Holocaust Memorial Center & Second City Comedy Nightclub. While lodging in Novi, Michigan, you can stay connected with the free HSIA & you can enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar. Keep up your workout routines with the indoor pool & a well-equipped fitness center. On your next trip to the Detroit area, come Stay Smart at our new Novi, MI hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing