We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very nice hotel! Check in was VERY fast and I got a very nice room. One minor complaint was how long the hot water for the shower to come. I waited probably 1-2 minutes for hot water for the shower on the first night.

Another minor point was the not free wi-fi. For how much they charge per night, they should be able to give their guests free wi-fi for at least one device.

Nice accomodations for the wedding I was attending. Good food and great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi John,

Thank you for your review of our hotel -- I hope you had a great time at the wedding! I apologize for the inconvenience of the hot water. We have more than one boiler for our property to ensure every guest has hot water, I am not sure why there was a delay in the water temperature.

With regard to the internet fees, we are currently working on establishing a tiered internet structure that will provide a complimentary option, as well as different fee options based on the amount of bandwidth each user would like to secure. Our hope is that within these options, you will find one that is best for you.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    91
    35
    8
    16
See reviews for
55
61
13
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here numerous times; this SHOULD be the #1 rated hotel in Novi given how modern and relatively well-appointed it is. The problem, as others have noted, is the below-average cleanliness before and during your stay. The housekeeping staff have no interest in doing a good job. Management should manage. Disappointing because the design of the rooms, the lobby and the restaurant are all top-notch. The front desk staff are good though.

Room Tip: The top floor is premium, ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Gregrmi,

Thank you for your loyalty to our property, and your very nice comments, particularly regarding our Reception Staff! It is disappointing to hear about your concerns with cleanliness. As you have noted, we spent a great deal of effort in the design of our property. However that effort is only as good as our cleanliness and maintenance. We have implemented several changes since this past summer to ensure consistent processes are in place for exceptionally clean rooms. I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you further to see where our process broke down and also to begin making amends to you. You can reach me directly at 248/277-2019 or by email kimberly.greene@thebaronette.com.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great get away, great location and everything right in a central location. Stayed there twice, once for my pre-honeymoon and once just for a getaway. Very quiet, rooms are comfortable and homely, bathrooms nice and modern, an A+ all the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaeCowins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear JaeCowins,

Thank you for your great comments! I am so glad that you have chosen to celebrate such important events in your life with us. Please let me know the next time you will be staying with us, I would love to meet you personally (248/277-2019 or kimberly.greene@thebaronette.com).

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Outstanding facility with a great on site restaurant. Courteous, professional staff who go the extra mile. Especially Tony on the front desk. Great Job! This is our new go to property. Hope you too have a chance to enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincardineOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Kincardine Ontario,

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to share such great comments about our hotel. We are very fortunate to have such a great restaurant located at the hotel, Toasted Oak. We also are very fortunate to have such an ambassador for our hotel in Tony, who delivers truly exceptional service! He is such a valuable team member, not only because of his great service to our guests, but also his genuine care for all of our team members.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I like staying at the Baronette because the Twelve Oaks Mall is just across the parking lot. In addition, there are several restaurants and other stores within a few miles.

If you prefer a hot bath, be aware that the guest rooms only have showers, no bath tubs.

The housekeeping needs a major upgrade. When I arrived, there was a dirty glass just outside my door. The glass stayed there for 3 days. I was surprised to find trash on the floor in the bathroom. When I returned to my room at the end of the first day of my stay, my room hadn't been cleaned. When I asked why, I was told that "conducting an investigation into that would take too much time." Apparently, cleaning rooms also takes too much time. I had to ask, explicitly, that someone clean my room. I thought that was implied when I asked why it hadn't been done. Overall, a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWorkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear TWorkTraveler,

Thank you for your frequent stays at our property, I am glad that you have found our location to be very convenient for your travel needs. While many of our rooms have showers only, we do also have rooms available with bathtubs. If this is an important feature for you, please make a request when you make your next reservation.

With regard to your comments regarding cleanliness, I apologize not only for the condition of your guest room, but also the response you received from our Reception team -- both were unacceptable. We have implemented several procedural changes to ensure that all rooms meet or exceed our standards of cleanliness. Clearly that was not the case in your room. During the weekend, we schedule our housekeeping team to start a bit later so as to not inconvenience guests in the morning and perhaps there was a scheduling error that resulted in your room not being cleaned until the end of the shift.

I would like to discuss this further with you to get more details and see where our process broke down, as well as to make amends. Please contact me directly at 248-277-2019 or kimberly.greene@thebaronette.com .

Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Baronette Renaissance offers excellent accommodation when visiting suburban Detroit. The rooms are well appointed and the front desk staff members are well trained and very helpful. The Toasted Oak Grill is GR8 too; the breakfast menu is varied and reasonable, somewhat unusual for hotels. The wine tasting offered on Saturday afternoons is outstanding and from the crowd obviously popular with travellers and locals alike. For shoppers, being adjacent to the large Twelve Oaks mall is ideal!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornhillite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I were in the area for an event and wanted to stay somewhere a little different than your standard chain. We found this to be a really nice hotel however it was lacking its attention to detail. The rooms were a nice size with a modern touch. The bathroom was your standard hotel bathroom but nicely upgraded with a walk in shower. However this is where the attention to detail lacked, there were stains all over the walls as if they havent been cleaned in a while, along with a few different types of hair on the floor, all things I can look past since it is a bathroom. AJ at the front desk was great, helpful and friendly, however I cant say the same for his counterpart who evertime I spoke with it seemed as if I was an incovinence to him. We didnt take the time to explore the restaurant in the lobby but it looked and smelled great. My only real complaint is the elevators, I feel like I lost a few hours off my life just waiting inside the elevator to move 2 floors. Without a doubt we would be willing to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Property: The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
Address: 27790 Novi Rd, Novi, MI 48377-3422
Region: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Novi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#4 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the most luxurious Detroit area hotels, the Baronette Renaissance Detroit Novi Hotel offers an exquisite atmosphere. Our superb service provides guests with the premium experience they deserve. Each of our rooms and suites feature upscale amenities, including luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and 37" HDTVs. Leisure guests and business travelers alike will enjoy our excellent on-site fitness & business centers. As one of the most convenient Detroit area hotels, we are located just 27 miles north of the Detroit International Airport and situated right next to the celebrated Twelve Oaks Mall, a world-class shopping destination. The Baronette is also conveniently close to the Suburban Collection Showplace, top attractions, and numerous Fortune 500 companies. Savor an unforgettable experience in an ideal locale at The Baronette Renaissance Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baronette Renaissance Hotel Novi
Baronette Hotel Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing