We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience Once Again”
Review of Novi Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novi Oaks Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Novi
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clio, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Experience Once Again”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I have reviewed this place before as we now make this an annual trip for a one night family getaway. The price for this location is better than most places in the area and offers a pretty good value for your money. This is not as nice as you would hope/expect for the Crowne Plaza name, but it's not bad. It's an older facility that has been reasonable rennovated. Great pool and hut tub area. I always request a room away from the pool to reduce noise/chlorine odor. TV's are all brand new since my last visit, wifi, hot tub, exercise room, and showers are highlights of this place. All are exceptional. Great location for any shopping or food you could imagine! The only issue I had this trip was ice machines were all out of ice due to very busy night with girls soccer team in the facility. Staff was great!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool. Awy from elevator is helpful as they can be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBurchCpNovi, Front Office Manager at Novi Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
All smiles! :~) Thank you so much for always leaving us comments on our facility and our service. We most certainly welcome all comments whether good or bad and always welcome the feedback from a repeat guest. Your repeat stays let us know that our guest notice that we are most certainly listening to your responses and trying our very best to accommodate as best as possible.

Thank you again for choosing The Crowne Plaza for your hotel accommodations, we look forward to seeing you soon. :~)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    53
    55
    23
    29
See reviews for
46
30
7
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camby, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

When I travel to Michigan (Detroit area), I make it a point to stay here each and every tiime. The rooms are very nice and quiet, and they gave me an upgrade when I arrived. The Novi Chophouse is excellent, another good reason to stay there. The layout of the rooms are interesting, but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBurchCpNovi, Front Office Manager at Novi Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
"One of the Best" Thank you sooo much for the compliment! I was very pleased to review your posting of the service that we provide here at The Crowne Plaza of Novi, MI. We are one of the best, because we have THE BEST GUESTS EVER!

It is our pleasure to service you, Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Room was basic room. No major issues. Elevator was down one day. Had a bird in hall way due to open foyer layout. Received breakfast coupons which was nice each morning. Hotel could use a few updates.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snj1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBurchCpNovi, Front Office Manager at Novi Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you so much for responding regarding your experience with the Crowne Plaza Detroit-Novi,MI. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We apologize if the elevator issues caused you any inconvenience during your stay with us. The issue of the elevator has been addressed with our management staff and has most certainly been resolved.

We are very fortunate to be located in the Novi, MI area! Our guests love the fabulous shopping areas and tons of restaurant options. It was our pleasure to service you and very pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful breakfast in our Deli Unique.

We look forward to having you as a return guest. :~)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I had a wonderful stay here and I wanted to thank everyone for making my anniversary very special. The customer service was at such a high level. We were given an upgrade which was not expected by any means. I truly loved it here and I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBurchCpNovi, Front Office Manager at Novi Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
It was a honor for us to be apart of your anniversary celebration! Thank you so much for choosing The Crowne Plaza of Novi, MI to celebrate your special day. I am so pleased that everything went well and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Novi, Mi. Look no further and choose the Crowne Plaza. The staff greet you when you walk into the entrance door and are very helpful in making sure your accommodations are to your satisfaction. The Representative Sam checked my husband and I in and made sure our needs were meet. Thank you Sam for your excellent service you were thoughtful, helpful, and made our overall experience a great one. The hotel is near major express ways and area restaurants and shopping, therefore you have a lot of things to do to occupy your time. The Hotel rooms were clean and the indoor pool and hot tub was relaxing and clean.We had a great stay and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The Executive suites on the outer area are quieter and if you book your room in the summer months th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler42538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBurchCpNovi, Front Office Manager at Novi Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
What a wonderful review! How refreshing to hear that you not only had a wonderful stay, but also that one of our MVP's ( Sam ) gave you the royal treatment. LOl We will be certain to make sure that he is aware of the great feedback on the service that he is providing for our guest.

Again, Thank you for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel itself is re-branded from another company (meaning the property was either purchased or re-branded into a "Crowne Plaza"). When they did this, it was lightly remodeled, but not at the level it should have been.

When you walk in through the main entrance, the first thing that hits you is the heavy smell of chlorine. Unfortunately, with the design of the hotel, it is impossible to make this go away as the indoor pool is in the center of a very tall center area of the hotel.

At the main entrance, the check-in desk is to the immediate left and conference rooms are down the hall to the right. There is also a restaurant and bar. The food is OK, as are the drinks, but nothing to write home about.

The rooms run the gambit from borderline-decent to nice, but nothing spectacular. There are many rooms outside, which have a nice common courtyard area, but remember this is Michigan and much of the time the area is wasted. The rooms inside the hotel facing the pool area (in particular those on the first floor) are heavily used but need heavy maintenance as a result, but do not seem to get it.

The main positive of this hotel and others very close to it are the 12 Oaks Mall Novi (across the very busy Novi Rd), West Oaks (next to hotel), and the entertainment complex containing Emagine theaters, Bar Louie, etc, behind the hotel.

All in all, it is a decent enough hotel for certain purposes and price ranges. With a major room renovation, a higher class restaurant, top of the line bar, and tiered scheduled high use room maintenance/renovation - it could be better than average.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DetroitMITravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Novi Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear DetroitMITravel,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked the location. On the other hand, I apologize for the services/qualities that you have received is not up to par. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The level of service and quality this hotel provided blew expectations out of the water. Kelly and Christian engaged me on a professional yet personal level. Great location right off the highway and walking distance to local dining. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
0.4 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novi Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novi Oaks Hotel

Property: Novi Oaks Hotel
Address: 27000 S Karevich Dr, Novi, MI 48377-3310 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Detroit-Novi)
Region: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Novi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novi Oaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the northwest Detroit suburbs, our hotel in Novi, MI is surrounded by dining, local golf, museums, and shopping. If you're traveling for business, take advantage of our close location to top companies in the area such as Nissan, Magna, Metalsa, and Toyota. While our free Wi-Fi access and Business Center help you prepare for a big meeting, our complimentary area shuttle gets you there on time. Few Novi, Michigan hotels can compete with our meeting facilities. With 9,200 sq f of space, we have room for any size event. The Epicurean Group is our exclusive caterer. When it's time to play, we are surrounded by the Fountain Walk Entertainment District and minutes from area attractions like Links of Novi Golf Course, Twelve Oaks Mall and Kensington Metro Park, where you can enjoy the outdoors year-round in Novi, Michigan. Our hotel's location is just a short drive from popular Detroit attractions: Ford Field, Comerica Park and the Henry Ford Museum. Your comfort is a priority at our hotel in Novi, MI which is why we provide the best in services and amenities. We offer year-round swimming with both an indoor and outdoor pool. You can relax in the whirlpool after a workout in the Fitness Center. With two restaurants, Deli Unique and fine dining No.VI Chophouse, you're sure to find something delicious! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novi Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing