We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff/Thin Walls” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
“Friendly Staff/Thin Walls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a little over 2 weeks on assignment for work. My overall experience was positive, and every interaction with the staff was positive as they were all helpful and friendly. Unfortunately though the place seems to have been constructed a bit cheaply as I could hear the intimate details of the goings on in neighboring rooms throughout my stay. Though there is not much the staff could do about such a thing, it is advisable to fellow light sleepers to bring ear plugs as you will undoubtedly catch some of what's going on all around you. Perhaps I was unlucky and had inconsiderate neighbors throughout my stay, but the fact remains, even if they were just watching TV, I could hear it, and that was just the beginning.

I'd have no issues with staying here again if work assigned it to me, but I'd definitely bring the ear plugs back too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlipKid75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
18
15
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
N California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was our first experience with Extended Stay, and it's important to understand the tradeoffs. More like staying in a lower-end condo than a hotel, but that was ok with us for the reasonable price. No maid service for a week. Kitchen with full size refrigerator, dishes, etc. No pool, spa, or fitness room, etc. The location was not too bad for road noise, but my wife was bothered by the refrigerator humming in the room. You can ask at the desk for items such as shampoo, or individual size packets of dish detergent. Carpet was a little worn, but room was clean. Entrance sign is somewhat hard to see after dark. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are further from parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed the in-room kitchen and our hotel's location. Still, I am sorry that refrigerator made some noise. Please know, our maintenance staff is looking into this issue and will make repairs as needed. It pleases me to know that our staff provided you with friendly and helpful service.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was my first time staying at an Extended Stay America property. I was surprised at how nice the location, the room and the staff all were during my stay. I will have this location at the top of my list the next time I visit the Detroit Metro Area! - Jerome

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that our staff and the location put us on the top of your list when you next visit the area. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was admittedly worried about having to stay at a two-star hotel in a suburb of Detroit, but this property was a real delight for its two-star status.

The hotel clamors for Trip Advisor reviews immediately upon entrance.

The property had everything one needed for a stay, including a decent bed, flat screen with cable, hot water, etc. It also comes equipped with a full kitchen (minus oven) and sets of cookware and plates. A bonus was the "grab and go" breakfast, which is right by the front desk and consisted of coffee, fruit, oatmeal packets, and oatmeal bars. Because I eat oatmeal on a daily basis, this was perfect for me. Free internet too.

All staff members were exceedingly friendly and professional and it felt as though they were being genuine, which was a great change.

A little off-putting to have to be buzzed in upon our late arrival the first night, but I guess that goes with the territory nowadays. Another downside was placement in a handicapped room, despite the fact that we were not handicapped and had not requested it.

Guests are treated to a free "welcome basket" upon registering in which popcorn, toothbrushes, toothpaste, and shampoo appear (note: only hard soap is provided in the room).

All sorts of chain restaurants and stores within a mile, as well as a 20+ screen movie theater (south on Haggerty, right about at Six Mile).

As a runner, I was more than pleased to discover a multi-mile (as in 20+) bike trail paralleling I-275, although it is not signed at all. What you need to do if you want to take advantage is head to a major intersection on Haggerty (8 Mile, 7 Mile, 6 Mile, etc.) and look for the nondescript paved path by 275. The path parallels the freeway but does make you cross every one of the major streets with a stoplight and you'll need to watch out for motorists exiting from the off-ramps, as they seem to have little regard for users of the trail (I was almost hit three times during my three runs by cars turning right on reds without stopping or looking and none of the motorists seemed at all shocked or surprised at nearly hitting me).

All-in-all, this property is a great deal and highly recommended! Know that it isn't luxurious in any way, but it is clean, fresh, and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Mark - Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that the staff and I were able to meet and exceed your expectations. I am also so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's location, especially the trails nearby and other establishments in the area. As we strive to provide a "home away from home" to our guests, it's rewarding to read such comments about our property and staff.

Thank you again for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is special and what makes it special is the staffs who work here. Clean rooms, safe location and great people. Initially i moved here for just two months but I ended up staying much longer than that. I loved my stay here now I kind of miss it! Would like to Thank Don, Candice, Tonya, Izak, Andre and other staff members for making my hotel experience very memorable! - Ujjwal

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thakur_ujjwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such rewarding comments about all of us and our property. It was a great pleasure to have you with us for an extended period of time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here for one night. Our room was very large (it included a kitchen), clean, and comfortable. The only admittedly minor complaint I had was that the bed was queen sized - we prefer a king. The rate was extremely fair ($75-ish/night) as was the non-refundable pet fee ($25/night). The few other area hotels which accepted pets charged a non-refundable fee of at least $100/night which I think is exorbitant. I did not try the breakfast. The hotel is right off the highway and close to several restaurants. All in all, I would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoSarah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our pet policy and the room you stayed in. We tuly enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you again for choosing Extended Stay Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute because of no other vacancies pleasant surprise simple but clean and nice size rooms great coffee at breakfast claims of Michigans best coffee were made. I might not be qualified to judge that. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_T_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that we were a pleasant surprise, especially because of our spacious rooms and grab and go breakfast complete with some great coffee!

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novi hotels
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Orchard Hill Place
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Novi
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Novi
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Detroit-Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road
Address: 21555 Haggerty Rd, Novi, MI 48375-5309 (Formerly Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing