We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations for high-use business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Novi
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations for high-use business hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Selected this hotel for weekend break conveniently located midway between Detroit and Ann Arbor as well as value. Very surprised by the overall quality. Our room was well-equipped, modern and in very good condition. We travel quite a bit and this hotel offered probably the best accomodation for the money that we've had in a long while. Sleep sets are updated and very comfortable. Rooms are quiet even with apparent reasonable occupancy during our stay. Check in service was efficient with staff very helpful with printed directions and suggestions. The main presence during this weekend time seemed to be families on the move. As such pool and spa area was active but not rowdy. This hotel is also very convenient to a huge selection of restaurants and shopping. It is situated in arbuably Michigan's best shopping district.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancCabernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the compliments! We appreciate your business. Please come back soon to see our newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
15
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel is pretty terrible for business travel. The fitness center is a joke - very little and broken equipment. I sent this to Marriott and they were completely unfazed. They said they had all of the corporately required pieces...so that is precisely three: one bike, one elliptical, one treadmill. I also woke to the dumpster being emptied at 5.50 AM. Pretty awful experience. I won't be back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Novi Courtyard last year. Since then, we have completely renovated our hotel. We have all new guest rooms and public areas, including the fitness center. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just as it says in the title, overall I enjoyed the stay. The beds were very comfortable, and everyone had a good sleep. It is also rather quiet, meaning minimum noise from roads. The TV however, isn't exactly the latest model, and there was almost nothing to watch. The room itself is clean too. I also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. This hotel has a pool, but it's not very big. There is also a hot tub, and it's really hot. One of the main things is that the hotel has free Wi-fi and a printer on the first floor. It was very convenient because we were able to find and print out some maps. One of the downsides though, is that on the lower floors, you can hear it when somebody flushes a toilet on the floors above you.

Room Tip: It's better to ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, because you can hear it when somebody flu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverflower77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We recently finished renovating the hotel and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing the Novi Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed there for the asa girls softball nationals. It was an average hotel. Staff and pool was nice. Bed was comfortable. I usually have problems with my back in most hotel beds but not this one. It was ok for the first couple nights but I find it hard to stay for several nights in a hotel without a fridge and microwave and I've stayed in hotels for the same price that do offer both. TV was old and didn't work very well...took forever to change the channel. AC worked well. Didn't pay the $10 for the breakfast so don't know how it was. All in all I would stay there again for a night or two but not for the week.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We recently completed renovations of the whole hotel, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, MI
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a problem upon check in - a mix up with the reservation - and Ruthie the supervisor on staff did an excellent job of handling it and getting us a room.
Very nice location - good food close by.
Great for Business Travel in the area. Rooms are clean and staff was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on the Novi Courtyard, I apologize for the problem you experienced upon check-in. We have just finished renovations of the whole hotel, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We found the hotel to be average, nothing special. The room had a musty smell to it and an old tube TV. Also the bathroom towels could use to be upgraded they seemed like they could have been the same ones since the place opened. Other than that the room was great, I found the bed to be very comfy. I didnt get a chance to experience the breakfast because I caught the tail end of it, but from what I could tell it looked way better than any other hotel breakfest I've had. By far the best part was the check in process, Ruthy was over the top amazing! Normaly for a late evening check in I have found the front desk personal are normal half asleep and disinterested, Ruthy was amazing! She made us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RK2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Novi Courtyard. The hotel has just completd renovations, including all brand new flat screen TV's. Thank you for choosing the Novi Courtyard and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

When unpacking we realized my husband had forgotten his anti-snore mouth device. I thought I'd been in for 2 sleepless nights, but thanks to the excellence of the room I slept like a baby. The bed was great, as was the choice of pillows. The room was able to be made very dark
and the ac was quiet. Who could ask for more? The staff were pleasant and available. The breakfast room was superb. A totally enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so glad that it was such a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate all the feedback!!

Katherine Hostetter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novi hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Novi

Property: Courtyard Detroit Novi
Address: 42700 W 11 Mile Rd, Novi, MI 48375-1712
Region: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Novi
#6 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Novi Hotel Novi
Courtyard Novi
Novi Courtyard
Novi Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing