We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artisan Cuisine - Well Worth the Price”
Review of Tannin

Tannin
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Okemos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Artisan Cuisine - Well Worth the Price”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I went with a group of college students for a weeknight birthday dinner, and our experience was amazing. You can tell that they source their ingredients from high-quality suppliers, and the server, while a bit too hesitant to interrupt our conversation to ask for our order, was very nice and prompt.
The entrees were all between $20 and $40, and for the quality I would expect much higher prices. I had the cheese and charcuterie appetizer, the beet salad, the duck carbonara, and the chocolate cake for dessert, and by far the best element was the duck carbonara. Forget what comes to mind when you think of "carbonara" - this had egg-rich orechiette, a very cheesy (think parmesan) sauce, tender pieces of duck, cubes of melt-in-your-mouth bacon, and a creamy dill garnish.
I would definitely recommend if you're willing to shell out $20 for a dish worth $50!

Extra notes:
The atmosphere was kind of excessively loud; there were a few other parties there, but the music was turned up so loud that I couldn't hear a phone call. This is also not a "bar scene" like college students would typically frequent; there were a couple middle-aged women sitting at the bar, but the cocktails were not bargain-priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OrangeSodaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two wonderful meals”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Based on the reviews here, and the restaurant's closeness to my mother in laws assisted living unit we chose to try Tannin for dinner on the night we arrived from Colorado. We were most pleasantly pleased with our experience from the outstanding service by Zack to a couple of inventive and tasty pasta dishes. Anytime we are at an Italian eatery, we will always try the tiramisu for desert. At many places this is a boring choice, but not here. It might well have been the best ever!!!
After the great dinner, we decided to go back for lunch the next day. We again had a great experience, as we had the soup and half sandwich for only $8. It was tasty and filling.
I certainly recommend Tannin for both lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jhaef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a terrific meal at Tannin. It's great addition to the dining scene in the Lansing area. Interesting wine selection and our server allowed us to taste several before making our selection. All of our dishes were well prepared and delicious. I particularly recommend the salmon main course and the blood orange cake for dessert. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SElizabeth79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Innovative menu, delicious food”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We've been to Tannin twice now since it opened, once for lunch and once for dinner, and will likely be back again soon. The atmosphere is nice and the food is delicious. Service is also professional and friendly. The menu features a wide variety of contempory Italian food, prepared in new and interesting ways. I especially enjoyed the spaghetti sandwich at lunch and the Rabbit Sugo for dinner. Large wine selection. Plenty of parking. Can get a little pricey if you get carried away, but everything we've had has been great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fine dining, unique food”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We went to Tannin for a birthday celebration. It is a fine dining restaurant, probably not for families. The food was excellent. I had the tomato pasta soup. It is slightly Spicy. We also had the Prosciutto and pear appetizer and the ravioli. We also have the meatball and smoked mozzarella appetizer. They were very well prepared and were of appropriate size for an appetizer. They were also quite delicious. We had a party of six. All the entrées arrived at the same time and were hot. The presentation was excellent. I had the duck breast with risotto. It was excellent. My wife had the pasta carbonara which was also excellent. Many of the wines were European in origin. Our server, Ashley, gave us a taste of various wines and was very helpful selecting the appropriate wine for our meals. Overall, the food, wine and service were excellent. The only negative was that the restaurant is somewhat noisy and it is difficult to carry on a conversation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDuo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tannin also viewed

 
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Tannin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing