We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Sandwich”
Review of Backyard Bar Bq

Backyard Bar Bq
Ranked #56 of 116 Restaurants in Okemos
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cuban Sandwich”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Fast service, great barb-b-que. Try the Cuban sandwich, it is excellent. Pulled pork, ham, coleslaw and a tangy but not overwhelming sauce. Once you get one, I was back to order numerious more for the family just to keep in the fridge for last minute meals. Simply great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichM063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan PR
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pulled pork is delicious”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Super fast service, I tried the pulled pork combo with fries and coleslaw, and the Cuban sandwich, which also has pulled pork. My daughter and I loved both.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jalenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and fair prices”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This place has a great following and I can see why. I go there for impromtu lunch meetings and service is quick and food is tasty. Always go for the pulled port BBQ and slaw. Second favorite is the Cuban and potato salad. Great for MSU tailgaters too!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank MyDailyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best BarBQ on Flatbread”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

First of all they serve BarBQ pulled pork, beef and chicken. Meats smoked on site. They also have come up with some pretty good salads. I frequent this place for an informal lunch or a quick dinner. My teenage boys love the pulled pork. The BarBQ sauce is homemade and it is terriffic. We get Backyard Bar BQ every Firday for the office staff. They have two locations. One in Okemos and one downtown. The owners run them and they are the nicest people you would ever want to meet.
I couldnt give these guys a higher recommendation for food quality, you will not find any better.

Helpful?
1 Thank DesignGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckney, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ great price”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A very good place to go for lunch! Meat is smoked on site. Close to the highway. Great place to go after a Spartan game.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard Bar Bq also viewed

Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Backyard Bar Bq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing