We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Summer Getaway”
Review of Sunset Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Omena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Summer Getaway”
Reviewed 29 March 2008

A beautiful B&B with delightful grounds and views. The hosts are incredibly kind and accommodating. The breakfast they served was truly unforgettable. One of the side dishes was a mango/blueberry salsa, and it was delectable! The Teddy Bear room is quite clean, comfortable, and cozy. The bathrooms were excellent and you will definitely enjoy your experience here. We took walks to the town from the Sunset Lodge. Excellent location and a perfect summer getaway.

  • Liked — The beautiful Victorian architecture, lovely bathrooms, and delicious breakfast.
  • Disliked — They didn't accept credit cards and we had to drive into town to find an ATM.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petuniaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2007

During the weekend of our wedding my husband and I (as well as our closest friends and family) stayed at the Sunset Lodge, and had the most amazing time!

The rooms are beautiful and so comfortable, the grounds and the views are stunning, and Dave and Linda, the innkeepers, couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating- whether it was in providing something for our group or suggesting a great spot for lunch. We had such a great time we even decided to stay an extra night!

Everyone in our party was amazed by how wonderful everything was. I'm so excited that this is the spot we can go back to year after year to remember the weekend of our wedding!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MItraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Sunset Lodge is a wonderful Bed and Breakfast with three houses on the property. Game room/community dining room, beautiful living room/parlor area with baby grand piano. View of the bay. Rooms can accommodate more than 2-4 people. Several rooms have kitchenettes within or adjoining.
The location is near Traverse City, MI with in very close proximity to the rest of the area's attractions - Leland, Glen Arbor, Sleeping Bear National Lake Shore, at least 2 light houses, shopping...Great new restaurant right at the bottom of the hill - easy to walk to.
Breakfast is superb. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Comfortable, Clean, Good Food, Great Location, Personable Hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing, Everything was Great!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Revonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Omena Sunset Lodge is the best B&B we have ever visited. It is situated on a beautiful hillside overlooking Traverse Bay. The original buildings are nicely restored and comfortably furnished. Sunset Lodge is not the most beautiful or most luxurious B&B I have visited. But, it is so well run, so warm and inviting, so cozily comfortable, that I did not want to leave. The breakfasts are a wonderful mix of gourmet and homestyle with exotic touches sprinkled in. Each one is a work of art that is as nice to look at as it is satisfying to eat. The owners manage to make running the B&B seem effortless. They have a relaxed style and friendly manner. This B&B is a destination in itself and well worth visiting.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelsw/dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2006

My husband and I stayed 2 wonderful nights at this historic home in the Leelanau Peninsula on July 11 and 12 in Omena, Michigan. There are 3 homes on the property, and we stayed in the main house which consists of 4 bedrooms. The grounds are beautiful and the house we stayed in was beautifully decorated. The owners, Dave and Linda Jacobs, make you feel right at home. There are even homemade cookes available in the afternoons, along with hot buttered popcorn. Their breakfasts were wonderful. If you want peace and quiet and love old homes, you'll enjoy staying here.

Helpful?
Thank Perky JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2005

What a lovely B&B, and in my own back yard! My sister won a package at a silent auction and we went for a girls' overnight out. We stayed in the Rose Room--very spacious (king bed and a full futon), extremely clean (but not so sterile that you felt uncomfortable), quiet and very cozy. The fireplace was nice. The owner, Dave, was very nice, showed us to our room and then we got to be on our own. Full breakfast was served in our room the next morning. The location can't be beat--Omena is a small as they come and such a pretty locale. Check out Leelanau Cellars right down the road--they were so friendly and we had a great time in the tasting room.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leebeemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 August 2003

We stayed at the Sunset Lodge in Omena (Wildflower Room) for 2 nights in August. The room was immaculate, fresh, and tastefully decorated (but not cluttered). This was one of the few B&B rooms that had 2 queen beds in all of the NW Michigan area! (It was a friends-getaway). The owners were nicer than you could imagine, and the place was very well-maintained. Shared kitchenette was also a HUGE plus---. Continental breakfast was prepared ahead of time, to eat at leisure---nice for those who are not early risers or hungry at 8am!They offer in-room VCR with a large video selection. The B&B is close to excellent wineries and beautiful scenery! This place is one of the best on the Lelanau Peninsula---- highly recommended! I am a seasoned traveler and would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omena
8.4 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
20.1 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
20.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.0 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
22.5 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge B&B

Property: Sunset Lodge B&B
Address: 12819 Tatch Rd, PO Box 242, Omena, MI 49674
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Omena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Omena
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Lodge has 12 guest rooms in three historic buildings. Rooms vary in size and configuration; all have private baths. Expansive grounds include pickleball court, social hall building for group activities, and many gardens and porches. Overlooks Lake Michigan's Omena Bay, in the heart of beautiful Leelanau Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing