We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Omena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We were incredibly disapointed with our experience there. In spite of advertising themselves as a family establishment, these proprietors despise children. Based on their perception of "bad" behavior by children, they applied arbitrary additional charges to our bill. When a clearer explanation of the charges was demanded, they tried several bogus explanations before finally reimbursing us for half the cost and admitting that they had initially not intended to charge anything additional but did so after the fact.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ME37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2008

A beautiful B&B with delightful grounds and views. The hosts are incredibly kind and accommodating. The breakfast they served was truly unforgettable. One of the side dishes was a mango/blueberry salsa, and it was delectable! The Teddy Bear room is quite clean, comfortable, and cozy. The bathrooms were excellent and you will definitely enjoy your experience here. We took walks to the town from the Sunset Lodge. Excellent location and a perfect summer getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank petuniaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

During the weekend of our wedding my husband and I (as well as our closest friends and family) stayed at the Sunset Lodge, and had the most amazing time!

The rooms are beautiful and so comfortable, the grounds and the views are stunning, and Dave and Linda, the innkeepers, couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating- whether it was in providing something for our group or suggesting a great spot for lunch. We had such a great time we even decided to stay an extra night!

Everyone in our party was amazed by how wonderful everything was. I'm so excited that this is the spot we can go back to year after year to remember the weekend of our wedding!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MItraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Sunset Lodge is a wonderful Bed and Breakfast with three houses on the property. Game room/community dining room, beautiful living room/parlor area with baby grand piano. View of the bay. Rooms can accommodate more than 2-4 people. Several rooms have kitchenettes within or adjoining.
The location is near Traverse City, MI with in very close proximity to the rest of the area's attractions - Leland, Glen Arbor, Sleeping Bear National Lake Shore, at least 2 light houses, shopping...Great new restaurant right at the bottom of the hill - easy to walk to.
Breakfast is superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Revonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Omena Sunset Lodge is the best B&B we have ever visited. It is situated on a beautiful hillside overlooking Traverse Bay. The original buildings are nicely restored and comfortably furnished. Sunset Lodge is not the most beautiful or most luxurious B&B I have visited. But, it is so well run, so warm and inviting, so cozily comfortable, that I did not want to leave. The breakfasts are a wonderful mix of gourmet and homestyle with exotic touches sprinkled in. Each one is a work of art that is as nice to look at as it is satisfying to eat. The owners manage to make running the B&B seem effortless. They have a relaxed style and friendly manner. This B&B is a destination in itself and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelsw/dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

My husband and I stayed 2 wonderful nights at this historic home in the Leelanau Peninsula on July 11 and 12 in Omena, Michigan. There are 3 homes on the property, and we stayed in the main house which consists of 4 bedrooms. The grounds are beautiful and the house we stayed in was beautifully decorated. The owners, Dave and Linda Jacobs, make you feel right at home. There are even homemade cookes available in the afternoons, along with hot buttered popcorn. Their breakfasts were wonderful. If you want peace and quiet and love old homes, you'll enjoy staying here.

Thank Perky JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2005

What a lovely B&B, and in my own back yard! My sister won a package at a silent auction and we went for a girls' overnight out. We stayed in the Rose Room--very spacious (king bed and a full futon), extremely clean (but not so sterile that you felt uncomfortable), quiet and very cozy. The fireplace was nice. The owner, Dave, was very nice, showed us to our room and then we got to be on our own. Full breakfast was served in our room the next morning. The location can't be beat--Omena is a small as they come and such a pretty locale. Check out Leelanau Cellars right down the road--they were so friendly and we had a great time in the tasting room.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leebeemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omena
8.4 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
6 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Mill Pond Inn
Mill Pond Inn
#1 of 3 in Northport
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge B&B

Address: 12819 Tatch Rd, PO Box 242, Omena, MI 49674
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Omena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Omena
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Lodge has 12 guest rooms in three historic buildings. Rooms vary in size and configuration; all have private baths. Expansive grounds include pickleball court, social hall building for group activities, and many gardens and porches. Overlooks Lake Michigan's Omena Bay, in the heart of beautiful Leelanau Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing