We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Sunset Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Omena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perfect location, close to Sutton bay and Northport. Stayed in the Cottage Suite. The rooms were clean and the kitchenette is a plus. Shower was a bit small, but manageable. Owners were very helpful with suggestions for local restaurants, view points, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephmmses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

As our 10th year Anniversary trip as a Group to the Sunset Lodge/Leelanau peninsula, it was fabulous as usual!
We have stayed with Dave and Linda Jacobs (Owners) with our group of 24 (taking over the entire property!) for 10 great years! We are never disappointed.
Dave and Linda have converted this 'turn of the Century' historic resort into a quaint, relaxing, authentic Bed and Breakfast. They live in the main house, and serve breakfasts! (As a regular B & B traveller, I can attest, NOT all B & B's are this way!).
Every room has it's own theme; and it's own charm. I have, personally, stayed in 9 out of 12 of the rooms over the 11 years my husband and I have visited there. Each room is unique; and is 'ensuite' (meaning has it's own bathroom/shower). We have enjoyed them all! As the 'ring leader' of the group, I have seen all the rooms each year. They are superbly maintained, with modern conveniences, but the 'feel' of 1900. Right up my alley! There is daily housecleaning.
The dining Hall/Social Hall is part of the old Dining Hall, converted to where we, as a group, use for our breakfasts. It is also used for socializing. There is a super fun Table shuffle board, foose ball; and kept very warm with a Franklin-type stove. (we always go in Fall; for the terrific Fall Michigan colors; so is sort of cold generally). There is NO TV in here! (yea!). It is a true 'retreat', where friends (family) can reconnect, play cards and games, and enjoy each other's company.
(Don't despair, they do have flat screen TV's in the rooms).
And, for you Pickle Ball fans, there's a Pickle ball court behind the Social Hall! We all eventually take a turn playing some Pickle ball, weather permitting. It's a silly game, that can become quite 'competitive'. Even for those of us with poor knees, it can be enjoyed physically, as the court is small and not too taxing! It would be a must; to have Dave (who LOVES the game!) to teach you if you go there!
The house has all sorts of historic glass windows (some stained glass); and alot of antiques. The parlor has all sorts of reading on the history of Sunset Lodge (named so for it's location on the Sunset side of Omena Bay; although it faces East; and we watch sunrise over the West Arm of the Grand Traverse Bay each morning!). The parlor also has facts, books, postcards, ledgers, and letters from the past visitors and owners. Very fasinating for us Michigan History 'buffs'!
Linda always has homemade cookies in the cookie jar in the hallway of the Main house (the Wheeler house); and Dave makes sure the old fashioned popcorn machine is always full! Such treats!
And, the owners have gardens, bird feeders, a short hiking trail on the property. And, it's next to Leelanau Cellars/and Knot Just a Bar restaurant (we walk to these!). Just a 1/2 block; and you're wine tasting at 10am at Leelanau Cellars! Or enjoying the 'All you can Eat' perch or pickeral at Knot Just a Bar on a Friday night. Delicious!
I cannot say enough about how much of a treat it is to visit this property. Clean, comfortable, even luxurious. With great food! Great owners! Great views!
There are refrigerators in 8 of the 12 rooms; and three large fridges for our personal use, so this makes it convenient to bring our own food.

And, there is so much to do up in the Leelanau.
We have an 'active' group; and take a group bicycle winery tour one day we're there. (I orchestrate a new route to different wineries each year; the biking's tough, but very rewarding!). Plus, we hike, visit the Lighthouses, bike to breweries in Traverse City, shop in TC, shop in the quaint fishing village of Leland; Fall Color tour the Leelanau (car or bike), visit Moomers for a homemade Ice cream, etc, etc, etc.
Why are you still reading this? Hopefully you will book your visit with Dave and Linda before they sell.(yes, the place has been on the market for a few years, but this hasn't changed our fabulous service from the owners!). They are big downhill skiers, golfers, and also very active; and wish to enjoy some 'away' time while they can! They won't own this forever! Go NOW! Sadly, they are only open May thru October.
And, if you're interested in B & B ownership, you certainly can't find a prettier place, meticulously maintained (they do alot of their own work; along with community friends), so inquire when you're there! (We want to keep going up!).

Room Tip: OMG! All the rooms are good. I have stayed in 9 of 12 of them! Just look on line for good descrip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaMona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wish we could spend more time in this delightful location. We stayed in the main house, would love to be able to sit on the guest balcony to watch more of the bay. Our beds were comfortable, we had all the needed amenities, and the decor is charming. Breakfast included a variety of pancakes--pumpkin, apple, pear--plus sausage varieties and other baked treats. Excellent! Thanks, Linda.

Room Tip: Nice to have a two-bed option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Omena was a treat! It is a sleepy town with one restaurant, one museum, one store and one winery. The Sunset Lodge is just up the hill overlooking the shore drive and the Lake. We stayed in one of the cottages and had the whole side to ourselves! The continental breakfast was great with tasty fruits breads and fresh fruit salad. We enjoyed the grounds and the hospitality of the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lga311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Wonderful B&B in the loveliest town. My husband and I really enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the weather especially, being from Texas. The owners are lovely, and will give great sight seeing advice. I think we saw everything he marked on our map, since the towns are minutes away from one another. We highly recommend this place and hope to visit again for another refreshing escape from the Texas heat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Having never stayed in a real B&B, my husband and I were very excited. We decided to skip the hotel scene in Traverse City, and stay at a quieter spot. Sunset Lodge was perfect!
We quickly settled-in and made ourselves at home. The owners made us feel comfortable from the start, inviting us in the kitchen while they were preparing food. It felt like home!
Our room was upstairs in the main house, and it was very quiet and comfortable. We had a balcony and a view of the water. Breakfast was served as a sit-down meal. The food was amazing, and the company was enjoyable! The location was perfect for our day-trips to the wineries and lakes. I would definitely recommend Sunset Lodge for anyone visiting the area!!

Room Tip: When you call for reservation, the owner is happy to recommend a room that suits your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jist55505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a thoroughly enjoyable stay we had. We fell in love with the area. The breakfasts were amazing, and we are still raving about the stuffed French Toast. I can't think of one way our stay could have been more enjoyable. We stayed in the house next to the main building on the first floor. The room was neat as a pin and wonderfully decorated. Although we generally run towards the "cold " side, we were plenty warm at night despite the cold overnight temperatures. We felt like royalty, and our host was such a nice guy. We just sent the info to our friends who are planning on going. AWESOME!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omena
8.4 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mill Pond Inn
Mill Pond Inn
#1 of 3 in Northport
8 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
The Vineyard Inn
The Vineyard Inn
#7 of 9 in Suttons Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge B&B

Address: 12819 Tatch Rd, PO Box 242, Omena, MI 49674
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Omena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Omena
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Lodge has 12 guest rooms in three historic buildings. Rooms vary in size and configuration; all have private baths. Expansive grounds include pickleball court, social hall building for group activities, and many gardens and porches. Overlooks Lake Michigan's Omena Bay, in the heart of beautiful Leelanau Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing