We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Leland Lodge(Leland)(Great Value!)
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellaire Inn(Bellaire)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Traverse Motel(Traverse City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
62
8
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
8
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bbed and breakfasttwo nightsamazing hostsleelenau peninsulagroup of friendsliving areayear anniversaryrose roomup northwrap around porchquichewonderful breakfastsuttons baysleeping bearlake michigan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perfect location, close to Sutton bay and Northport. Stayed in the Cottage Suite. The rooms were clean and the kitchenette is a plus. Shower was a bit small, but manageable. Owners were very helpful with suggestions for local restaurants, view points, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephmmses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As our 10th year Anniversary trip as a Group to the Sunset Lodge/Leelanau peninsula, it was fabulous as usual!
We have stayed with Dave and Linda Jacobs (Owners) with our group of 24 (taking over the entire property!) for 10 great years! We are never disappointed.
Dave and Linda have converted this 'turn of the Century' historic resort into a quaint, relaxing, authentic Bed and Breakfast. They live in the main house, and serve breakfasts! (As a regular B & B traveller, I can attest, NOT all B & B's are this way!).
Every room has it's own theme; and it's own charm. I have, personally, stayed in 9 out of 12 of the rooms over the 11 years my husband and I have visited there. Each room is unique; and is 'ensuite' (meaning has it's own bathroom/shower). We have enjoyed them all! As the 'ring leader' of the group, I have seen all the rooms each year. They are superbly maintained, with modern conveniences, but the 'feel' of 1900. Right up my alley! There is daily housecleaning.
The dining Hall/Social Hall is part of the old Dining Hall, converted to where we, as a group, use for our breakfasts. It is also used for socializing. There is a super fun Table shuffle board, foose ball; and kept very warm with a Franklin-type stove. (we always go in Fall; for the terrific Fall Michigan colors; so is sort of cold generally). There is NO TV in here! (yea!). It is a true 'retreat', where friends (family) can reconnect, play cards and games, and enjoy each other's company.
(Don't despair, they do have flat screen TV's in the rooms).
And, for you Pickle Ball fans, there's a Pickle ball court behind the Social Hall! We all eventually take a turn playing some Pickle ball, weather permitting. It's a silly game, that can become quite 'competitive'. Even for those of us with poor knees, it can be enjoyed physically, as the court is small and not too taxing! It would be a must; to have Dave (who LOVES the game!) to teach you if you go there!
The house has all sorts of historic glass windows (some stained glass); and alot of antiques. The parlor has all sorts of reading on the history of Sunset Lodge (named so for it's location on the Sunset side of Omena Bay; although it faces East; and we watch sunrise over the West Arm of the Grand Traverse Bay each morning!). The parlor also has facts, books, postcards, ledgers, and letters from the past visitors and owners. Very fasinating for us Michigan History 'buffs'!
Linda always has homemade cookies in the cookie jar in the hallway of the Main house (the Wheeler house); and Dave makes sure the old fashioned popcorn machine is always full! Such treats!
And, the owners have gardens, bird feeders, a short hiking trail on the property. And, it's next to Leelanau Cellars/and Knot Just a Bar restaurant (we walk to these!). Just a 1/2 block; and you're wine tasting at 10am at Leelanau Cellars! Or enjoying the 'All you can Eat' perch or pickeral at Knot Just a Bar on a Friday night. Delicious!
I cannot say enough about how much of a treat it is to visit this property. Clean, comfortable, even luxurious. With great food! Great owners! Great views!
There are refrigerators in 8 of the 12 rooms; and three large fridges for our personal use, so this makes it convenient to bring our own food.

And, there is so much to do up in the Leelanau.
We have an 'active' group; and take a group bicycle winery tour one day we're there. (I orchestrate a new route to different wineries each year; the biking's tough, but very rewarding!). Plus, we hike, visit the Lighthouses, bike to breweries in Traverse City, shop in TC, shop in the quaint fishing village of Leland; Fall Color tour the Leelanau (car or bike), visit Moomers for a homemade Ice cream, etc, etc, etc.
Why are you still reading this? Hopefully you will book your visit with Dave and Linda before they sell.(yes, the place has been on the market for a few years, but this hasn't changed our fabulous service from the owners!). They are big downhill skiers, golfers, and also very active; and wish to enjoy some 'away' time while they can! They won't own this forever! Go NOW! Sadly, they are only open May thru October.
And, if you're interested in B & B ownership, you certainly can't find a prettier place, meticulously maintained (they do alot of their own work; along with community friends), so inquire when you're there! (We want to keep going up!).

Room Tip: OMG! All the rooms are good. I have stayed in 9 of 12 of them! Just look on line for good descriptions. (omenasunsetlodge). The rooms are different priced; and many have kitchenettes (all the rooms in the 'seasonal' houses/not the Main/Wheeler house).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaMona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wish we could spend more time in this delightful location. We stayed in the main house, would love to be able to sit on the guest balcony to watch more of the bay. Our beds were comfortable, we had all the needed amenities, and the decor is charming. Breakfast included a variety of pancakes--pumpkin, apple, pear--plus sausage varieties and other baked treats. Excellent! Thanks, Linda.

Room Tip: Nice to have a two-bed option!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Omena was a treat! It is a sleepy town with one restaurant, one museum, one store and one winery. The Sunset Lodge is just up the hill overlooking the shore drive and the Lake. We stayed in one of the cottages and had the whole side to ourselves! The continental breakfast was great with tasty fruits breads and fresh fruit salad. We enjoyed the grounds and the hospitality of the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lga311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Wonderful B&B in the loveliest town. My husband and I really enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the weather especially, being from Texas. The owners are lovely, and will give great sight seeing advice. I think we saw everything he marked on our map, since the towns are minutes away from one another. We highly recommend this place and hope to visit again for another refreshing escape from the Texas heat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews